The Alabama Department of Human Resources (DHR) has been an integral part of assisting families with child care for many years. This commitment continues as the Child Care Services Division strives to remain responsive to the fluid demands related to the COVID-19 pandemic. To that end, we are providing child care assistance for the healthcare community as defined in the Alabama Department of Public Health Order dated April 3, 2020. The eligible population includes health care providers and caregivers with children through the age of 12 years. This population is considered a “protective services group” for the purpose of this child care assistance. In accordance with federal guidance, this assistance is not based on parents’ income and is funded by additional Child Care Development Block Grant funds.
In an effort to make this opportunity as seamless and timely as possible, DHR should receive the referral applications from an authorized designee of the employer. Parents must select a licensed child care provider (in accordance with state law) in either category of a licensed center or licensed family daycare home designation. The child care provider, if not currently a participant of the Child Care Subsidy Program, must register to become a participant of the program in order to receive payment for the child or children attending.
The duration for this temporary assistance opportunity shall expire either upon determination by DHR or upon final expiration of the Governor’s March 13, 2020 proclamation of a public health emergency to the 2019 novel coronavirus known as COVID-19 and any public health orders issued thereof by the State Health Officer. Participants will be given 20-day notice upon expiration of this child care subsidy.
For more information about this child care assistance opportunity to the healthcare community, please contact Child Care Services Division at (334) 242-1425.