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I. Legal Authority 
 
 
 
The legal authority for regulation of child care is based on: 
 

Child Care Act of 1971-Title 38, Chapter 7, Code of Alabama 1975, 38-7-1 et. seq. (Acts 
1971, 3rd Ex. Sess. No. 174, p. 4423, Sections 1-18). 

 
Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) 2014. 

 
Child Care Safety Act #2018-278. 

 
U. S. Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008. 

 
Title 41, Chapter 22, Section 19, 41-22-19, see also 41-22-1 et. seq. 

 
Title 26, Chapter 14, 26-14-1 et. seq. 

 
Administrative Code, Section 660-5-27 

 
Hearings and Appeals (See Section K, page 53.) 
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II. Regulations 
 
 
 

These regulations prescribe minimum standards for family day care homes. 
Additional regulations for family nighttime homes, group day care homes and group 
nighttime homes are prescribed in Sections G., H., and I. 
 
For purposes of these regulations, a license is required for persons: 
• Providing care for one or more children who are not related to the provider; 
• With or without compensation; 
• Away from the child’s home; 
• For more than four (4) hours in a 24 hour period. 
 
 
 
A. Definitions 
 
In the context of these regulations, the following definitions apply. 
 

1. ADULT. Any person 19 years of age or older. 
 

2. ASSISTANT CAREGIVER. A person providing care and guidance of the 
children in a group day care/nighttime home, under the supervision of the 
licensee. 

 
3. CAREGIVER. A person providing care and guidance of the children in the 

home. 
 

4. CHARACTER AND SUITABILITY. The person maintains 
business/professional, family, and community relationships that are characterized 
by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and concern for the well-being of others to the 
extent that the person is considered suitable to be entrusted with the care, 
guidance, and protection of children. 

 
5. CHILD. Any person under 19 years of age. 

 
6. CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT. According to the Code of Alabama 1975, 

Section 26-14-1, abuse is defined as harm or threatened harm to a child's health or 
welfare. Harm or threatened harm to a child's health or welfare can occur through 
nonaccidental physical or mental injury, sexual abuse or attempted sexual abuse 
or sexual exploitation or attempted sexual exploitation. "Sexual abuse" includes 
the employment, use, persuasion, inducement, enticement, or coercion of any 
child to engage in, or having a child assist any other person to engage in any 
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sexually explicit conduct or any simulation of the conduct for the purpose of 
producing any visual depiction of the conduct; or the rape, molestation, 
prostitution, or other form of sexual exploitation of children, or incest with 
children as those acts are defined by Alabama law. "Sexual exploitation" includes 
allowing, permitting, or encouraging a child to engage in prostitution and 
allowing, permitting, encouraging or engaging in the obscene or pornographic 
photographing, filming, or depicting of a child for commercial purposes. Neglect 
is defined as negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child, including the failure 
to provide adequate food, medical treatment, supervision, clothing or shelter. 

 
7. COMMISSIONER. The Commissioner of the State Department of Human 

Resources. 
 

8. DAY CARE HOME. A child care facility which is a family home and which 
receives not more than six (6) children for care during the day. 

 
9. DEPARTMENT. The State or County Department of Human Resources. 

 
10. DEPARTMENT'S REPRESENTATIVE. An employee or designee of the State 

or County Department of Human Resources, acting as the authorized agent of the 
Commissioner in carrying out the responsibilities and duties specified in Code of 
Alabama 1975. 

 
11. FACILITY FOR CHILD CARE OR CHILD CARE FACILITY. A facility 

established by any person, group of persons, agency, association or organization, 
whether established for gain or otherwise, who or which receives or arranges for 
care or placement of one or more children, unrelated to the operator of the facility, 
apart from the parents, with or without the transfer of the right of custody, in any 
facility as defined in this chapter, established and maintained for the care of the 
children. 

 
12. FAMILY HOME. A family home is the dwelling in which the applicant/licensee 

resides. (Residence is determined by address, mortgage payment or rent, voting 
district, property taxes, etc.) 

 
13. GROUP DAY CARE HOME. A child care facility which is a family home and 

which receives at least seven but no more than twelve children for care during 
part of the day where there are at least two adults present and supervising the 
activities. 

 
14. LAWFUL SCHOOL AGE. For purposes of these regulations, this term includes 

children who are five (5) years of age on or before September 1, (or the date on 
which school begins in the enrolling district pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, § 
16-28-4) of a given year. This definition corresponds with the minimum age at 
which a child is entitled to admission to public school kindergarten. 
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15. LICENSEE. Any person, group of persons, or corporation, to whom the license 
or permit is issued. 

 
16. NIGHT CARE FACILITY. A child-care facility which is a center or a family 

home receiving a child or children for care after 7:00 p.m. A "night care facility" 
is further defined as follows:  
a. NIGHTTIME HOME. A family home which receives no more than six 

children for care after 7 p.m.  
b. GROUP NIGHTTIME HOME. A child care facility which is a family 

home which receives at least seven but no more than twelve children for 
nighttime care, where there are at least two adults present and supervising 
the activities. 

 
17. PARENT(S)/GUARDIAN(S). The parent(s), legal guardian(s), or legal 

custodian of the child. 
 

18. RELATED. Any of the following relationships by blood, marriage, or adoption: 
parent, grandparent, brother, sister, stepparent, stepbrother, stepsister, half 
brother, half sister, uncle or aunt, and their spouses. 

 
19. SUBSTITUTE. A person, at least 19 years of age, who meets the qualifications 

and is on call if the licensee must be away from the home. 
 

20. SUPERVISION. Responsibility for each child and accountability for his/her care 
by giving direct and full attention to the children at all times. 
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B. Licensing Procedures 
 
 
1. Application for a License 
 

a. Day care or nighttime care shall not be provided or advertised prior to issuance of 
a license or a six-month permit. 

b. Any person, group of persons, or corporation may obtain an application for a license 
to operate a child care facility by contacting the Department of Human Resources. 

c. An application for a license to operate a child care home shall be made on the 
required form and shall include all requested information. (See Appendix A, page 
58, for required form.) 

d. Applications for a license shall not be transferred from one person to another or 
from one location to another. 

 
2. Prohibited Advertisement 
 

a. No person, unless licensed or holding a six-month permit, may cause to be 
published any advertisement which solicits a child or children for care. To solicit 
a child or children for care means, among other similar actions or terms, to invite, 
appeal, plead, lure, beg, request, offer, suggest, promote, or implore. Both free 
and paid advertisement is prohibited. 

b. Prohibited advertisement includes, but is not limited to, printed and published 
material; descriptive literature and aids; speeches, talks, and presentations; flyers; 
booklets and pamphlets; signs and posters; illustrations and depictions; 
newspaper, radio, television, magazine, Internet, and/or other media advertising; 
letters and direct mail advertising; and any materials used by agents. Prohibited 
advertisement also includes printed and illustrated material or descriptions on 
cups, mugs, pens, pencils, or other objects. 

c. The following activity does not constitute prohibited advertisement:  
(1) Advertisement using a name and address seeking employment applications 

for staff positions; provided that a license application has been filed with 
the Department and the advertisement includes the clearly visible phrase,  
“license application pending.”  

(2) “Under Construction,” “Renovation,” or “Remodeling” signs (with or 
without name and address) on the premises; provided that a license 
application has been filed with the Department and the sign includes the 
clearly visible phrase, “license application pending.”  

(3) A market survey to determine the need for child care in a locality. Using 
the name and address of the business or individual is permitted so long as 
it does not solicit a child or children for care or promote the business. 

 
3. Examination and Investigation of the Application 
 

a. After receipt of the completed application, an inspection of the home and grounds 
and an investigation of the applicant and the household members will be made by 
a Department representative. 
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b. The inspection and investigation will be based on minimum standards and 
regulations as prescribed and published by the Department. 

c. When minimum standards have been met, a license will be issued. 
 
4. Denial of an Application  

If the application is denied, the Department will notify the applicant in writing, indicating 
the reason(s) for the Department's decision. 

 
5. Withdrawal of an Application  

The applicant may withdraw the application either verbally or in writing, at any time 
during the licensing process. 

 
6. Six-Month Permit 

a. The Department may, at its discretion, issue one six-month permit to allow 
reasonable time for the applicant to become eligible for a full license. A new 
application is not required at the expiration of the six-month permit. The initial 
application remains pending during the six-month permit period. A two year 
license may be issued when the home meets minimum standards. 

b. The Department's decision to issue a six-month permit may be made after the 
applicant has met all Minimum Standards except for providing one-half of the 
required equipment for each age group for which the home is 
licensed/permitted. (See Section L., page 55, for equipment list.) 

c. The application shall be denied and the home shall close if Minimum Standards 
have not been met at the expiration of the six-month permit. 

 
7. Provisions of a License/Permit 
 

a. A license issued by the Department is valid for two years unless revoked or 
suspended by the Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee. 

b. A six-month permit issued by the Department is valid for six months unless revoked 
or suspended by the Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee. 

c. The number of children in the home or in the care of the licensee, including 
children on the premises or on field trips, at any given time, shall not exceed the 
number specified on the license/permit. Children shall be counted as follows:  
(1) Children younger than lawful school age (see definition, Section A., 14., 

page 9), who live in the home shall be counted when they are in the home 
or on the premises.  

(2) Children of lawful school age and older, who live in the home, shall not be 
counted.  

(3) Children younger than twelve (12) years of age, who are visiting in the 
home during the hours of child care, who are not accompanied and 
supervised by an adult, whether related to the licensee or not, shall be 
counted when they are in the home or on the premises. 

d. The age range of the children received for care shall conform to the specifications 
on the license/permit. 

e. No home shall be licensed for more than three (3) children younger than twelve 
(12) months of age. Exceptions may be granted by the Department to allow for 
multiple-birth sibling groups (such as triplets) to be received for care. 
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f. the Department and its authorized representatives shall have the right to inspect:  
(1) any child care facility seeking a license;  
(2) any child care facility seeking a renewal of a license;  
(3) any child care facility which is operating under a license or a six-month 

permit.  
Such inspection shall be made at any reasonable time, without prior notice, and 
may include the entire home and grounds. Prelicensing visits/inspections may be 
made by appointment. 

g. The Department shall have the right to immediately suspend, limit, or restrict the 
license/permit of a child care home when conditions hazardous to the health and 
safety of the children exist, including but not limited to:  
(1) The right to restrict, limit, or suspend specific activities provided by the 

child care home, such as but not limited to: away-from-the-home 
activities; transportation of the children; swimming.  

(2) The right to restrict or limit the use of specific areas of the home, such as but 
not limited to: outdoor play areas; bathrooms; rooms used by the children.  

(3) The right to reduce the number of children specified on the license/permit 
due to restricted use of required space or bathroom facilities or lack of 
qualified caregivers. 

h. The current license/permit shall be posted in a place in the home easily viewed by 
the parent(s)/guardian(s). 

i. The license/permit shall not be transferred to another person or to another location 
and is void if the licensee moves to another dwelling. 

j. Violators of provisions or standards prescribed by the Department shall be guilty 
of a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or be 
imprisoned in the county jail not longer than one year, or both. (Code of Alabama 
1975, § 38-7-16 (7).) 

 
8. Renewal of a License 
 

a. An application for renewal of a license shall be submitted to the Department at 
least thirty (30) calendar days prior to the expiration of the current license. The 
application for renewal shall be made on the Department's required form(s). (See 
Appendix A, page 58, for a copy of required form.) It is the sole responsibility of 
the licensee to obtain the required form(s) and submit the form(s) to the 
Department on time. 

b. The home's license continues in effect until a decision is made by the Department 
on the application for renewal, provided that:  
(1) the application for renewal is received by the Department at least thirty 

(30) calendar days prior to expiration of the license;  
(2) the application is complete and accurate. 

c. If the application for renewal is not received on time (not received at least thirty 
(30) calendar days prior to expiration of the license) or if the application is not 
complete and accurate, the license will expire on the expiration date shown on the 
license. If the licensee continues to operate after the expiration date, the licensee 
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will be reported to the District Attorney and the Attorney General for operating an 
unlicensed child care facility. 

d. If, upon inspection, minimum standards are not being met, corrective or adverse 
action shall be taken. (See Section J., page 49, for additional information.) 

 
9. Department Visits and Consultation 
 

a. Visits to the home are made by representatives of the Department to determine if 
minimum standards are being met, to investigate complaints and to provide 
consultation. 

b. Visits made for the purpose of determining if minimum standards are being met 
or to investigate a complaint shall be made without prior notice. Prelicensing 
visits may be made by appointment. 

c. The licensee shall be informed of complaints of alleged licensing violations made 
to the Department against the licensee. 

d. The licensee shall not be informed of the identity of the complainant by the 
Department. 
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C. The Home 
 
1. Location 
 

a. Each home licensed shall be the primary residence of the applicant/licensee. 
(Primary residence is determined by address, mortgage payment/rent, voting 
district, property taxes, etc.) 

b. Child care shall be provided within the family home, not in a separate building. 
c. If rental property is used, a written statement from the owner of the property granting 

permission for the applicant to operate a child care home, shall be obtained by the 
applicant and submitted to the Department at the time of initial application. 

d. At the time of initial application, a written statement of compliance with 
applicable zoning requirements shall be obtained and submitted to the 
Department. If no zoning laws or ordinances are applicable, the applicant shall 
submit a written statement verifying he/she has checked with the local governing 
authority and there are no applicable zoning laws or ordinances. 

e. At the time of initial application, a written inspection report, with no violations 
cited, shall be obtained from the fire department with jurisdiction or from the state 
fire marshal, and submitted to the Department. The home shall comply with the 
fire code, building and safety codes adopted by the State Fire Marshal’s Office.  
Volunteer fire department approvals and/or inspections will not be accepted. 

f. A written inspection report from the health department may be requested at the 
discretion of the Department at any time. 

g. Subsequent fire and health department inspection reports, after the initial 
inspection, may be requested by the Department and copies shall be submitted to 
the Department by the licensee. 

 
2. Indoor area  

The home and grounds shall be maintained in a clean and safe condition. 
 

a. Injury prevention  
(1) The home shall be free from apparent hazardous conditions.  
(2) The home shall have electricity, water, gas (if used for cooking/heating), 

and a waste disposal system (city sewage or septic tank).  
(3) The licensee shall have a working telephone in the home.  
(4) All poisons, cleaning supplies, flammable and other dangerous substances 

(including but not limited to anything that states, “Keep out of Reach of 
Children”) shall be kept under lock and key or combination lock when not 
in use.  

(5) Animals in the home  
(a) Animals or breeds of animals that have shown aggressive behavior, 

shall not be kept in the home or on the grounds.  
(b) Animals that are not aggressive but could pose a threat to the 

health and safety of the children shall be kept in an area away from 
the children. 
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(c) Animals shall not be allowed in areas of food storage, food 
preparation or food service during the hours of child care.  

(d) A current certificate of rabies vaccination shall be on file in the 
home for any animal required by law to be vaccinated.  

(6) If fans are used for ventilation, blades within reach of children shall be 
enclosed for safety.  

(7) All exposed electrical outlets shall have protective covers. The covers 
shall be large enough to prevent being swallowed.  

(8) During hours of operation, all guns/firearms shall be unloaded and stored 
under lock and key or combination lock. Ammunition shall be stored 
separately from guns/firearms, under lock and key or combination lock.  

(9) All stairs used by the children shall have handrails within child’s reach.  
(10) Smoking/tobacco use is prohibited on the premises during the hours of 

child care, including but not limited to cigarettes, cigars, electronic 
cigarettes, pipes, etc.  

(11) All medication shall be kept under lock and key or combination lock.  
(12) Clear glass doors, such as patio and storm doors, shall be plainly marked 

at child level, to prevent accidental impact.  
(13) Tools and machinery shall be kept in an area where the children cannot get 

to them.  
(14) Hot tubs shall be securely covered or drained during the hours of child care.  
(15) In the event of power failure or other emergency situations, the licensee 

shall have a flashlight in working condition, in a convenient location.  
(16) Consumption of alcohol is prohibited during hours of child care.  
(17) Non-prescription narcotic or illegal substances are prohibited in the home 

or on the grounds. 
  (18) Bio contaminants shall be: 
   (a) stored in locked areas; 
   (b) removed from the premises; 
   (c) inaccessible to children; 
   (d) disposed of in a covered, plastic lined receptacle. 
 

b. Cleanliness and health  
(1) The bathroom shall be clean.  
(2) Foot stools with non-skid legs shall be available for handwashing and 

toileting.   
                  (3) If potty chairs are used, they shall be promptly emptied into the toilet and 
 washed and disinfected after each use. 
                  (4)        The diapering area shall be a washable surface and shall be cleaned and 
 disinfected after each use.  
                  (5) Sufficient clean, dry diapers and clothing shall be provided for each 
 infant/toddler. 
                  (6)       Wet or soiled diapers and other clothing shall be changed promptly. 
                  (7)  Disposable diapers shall be placed in a covered, plastic-lined trash 
 container inaccessible to children. 
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                  (8) Reusable (cloth) diapers shall be rinsed in the toilet, placed in a plastic 
 bag, and stored out of reach of children. 
                  (9)  Staff shall use universal precautions when changing diapers or being 
 exposed to blood, fecal material, or urine. 
                 (10)  The licensee and each caregiver shall wash his/her hands with soap and 
 warm running water after diapering each child, after assisting with  
 toileting, and after contact with bodily fluids, including wet or soiled 
 diapers, runny noses, spit, vomit, etc.  Individual disposable paper towels 
 shall be used for hand drying. 
                 (11)  The licensee and each caregiver shall use single-use disposable gloves for 
 diapering. Clean gloves shall be used for diapering each child. Used 
 gloves shall be disposed of in a covered, plastic-lined container, 
 inaccessible to children, and shall be disposed of daily. 
                 (12)  Spills of body fluids, including blood, feces, nasal and eye discharges, 
 saliva, urine, and vomit shall be cleaned up immediately. Caregivers shall 
 wear gloves unless the fluid can be easily contained by the material (e.g., 
 paper towel or cloth) that is being used to clean up.  Caregivers shall be 
 careful not to get any of the fluid in your eyes, nose, mouth or any open 
 sores.  Caregivers shall clean and disinfect any surfaces, such as counter 
 tops and floors, on which body fluids have been spilled. Contaminated 
 materials shall be discarded in a plastic bag that has been securely sealed. 
 Mops used to clean up body fluids should be: 

 (a)  cleaned; 
 (b) rinsed with a disinfecting solution; 

 (c) wrung as dry as possible; 
 (d) hung to dry completely. 
 Be sure to wash your hands after cleaning up any spills. 

                 (13)  Each child’s hands shall be washed after diapering and toileting. 
           (14)  No child shall be left unattended while being diapered. 
           (15) The diapering area shall be separate from areas used for serving, 
 preparing, or storing food. 

                 (16)  The home shall be maintained so as to prevent and eliminate rodent and 
 insect infestation. 

           (17)  Garbage and trash shall be removed at intervals so as not to create a 
 nuisance or a menace to health. Garbage shall be stored in fly-proof and 
 watertight containers with tight fitting covers. 
           (18)  Bedding, toys, utensils, toilets, and sinks used by a sick child or household 
 member shall be cleaned and disinfected before being used by another 
 person. 
            (19)  All windows and doors used for ventilation shall be screened. 

 
c. Space  

(1) There shall be at least thirty-two (32) square feet of usable indoor floor 
space for each child the home is licensed or permitted to serve.  

(2) All rooms used for the care of children shall be well-lighted, adequately 
ventilated, and comfortably cooled or heated as appropriate to the season.  
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(3) The home shall have space for providing privacy to a child as needed, and 
to members of the licensee's household, whether for resting, studying, or 
other purposes.  

(4) Space shall be available for the temporary care and isolation of a sick 
child or members of the licensee's household.  

(5) The home shall have clean and appropriate facilities for the protection, 
storage, preparation, and serving of food.  

(6) Space shall be provided for storage of each child's personal belongings, 
such as, but not limited to boxes, plastic bins, milk crates, etc. 

d. Equipment and furnishings   
(1) The licensee shall provide a crib, playpen, bed, or cot for each child who 

requires rest or sleep during the hours while in care.  
(a) No child shall sleep with an adult.  
(b) Each child younger than twelve (12) months of age shall sleep 

alone in a crib or play pen. If cribs are used, cribs manufactured 
with slats no more than 2³/8 inches apart shall be provided. A 
waterproof mattress which fits snugly against all sides of the crib 
shall be provided. Mattresses shall be in good condition, with no 
tears or exposed foam rubber or other stuffing.  

(c) In accordance with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Act of 2008, 
any crib provided by a child care facility must meet federal safety 
standards.  

i. To verify compliance with federal standards, any crib 
manufactured prior to June 28, 2011, there shall be a 
Certificate of Compliance on file in the facility and the 
crib must have a label attached to show the date of 
manufacture.  

ii. Any crib manufactured after June 28, 2011, must have 
a label attached to show date of manufacture.  

(d) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy 
of Pediatrics, unless the infant has a note from a physician 
specifying otherwise, each infant shall be placed in a supine (on 
his/her back) position for sleeping to lower the risks of Sudden 
Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS).  

(e) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy  
of Pediatrics, when an infant can easily turn over from the supine 
(back) to the prone (front) position, he/she shall be put down to   
sleep on his/her back, but allowed to adopt whatever position 
he/she prefers for sleep. 

(f) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy 
of Pediatrics, each infant (younger than twelve (12) months) shall 
be placed in a prone (front) position part of the time he/she is 
awake and observed. “Tummy time” helps muscle development 
and reduces the tendency of back positioning to flatten the back of 
the infant’s head.  
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(g) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy 
of Pediatrics, unless a physician specifies the need for a 
positioning device that restricts movement within the child’s bed, 
such devices shall not be used.  

(h) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy  
of Pediatrics, soft materials are prohibited in the infant’s sleeping 
environment (younger than twelve (12) months).     
((1)) Soft materials or objects, such as pillows, quilts, comforters, 

or sheepskins, shall not be placed under a sleeping infant. 
((2)) Soft objects, such as pillows, quilts, comforters, bumper pads, 

sheepskins, stuffed toys, and other gas-trapping objects shall 
be kept out of the infant’s sleeping environment.  

(i) No infant shall be put to sleep on a sofa, soft mattress, or other soft 
surface.  

(j) Each child between 12 and 18 months of age shall sleep alone in a 
crib or play pen or on a low cot.  

(k) Two children older than 18 months of age, of the same sex, may share 
a double or larger size bed, or may sleep alone on a cot or bed.  

(l) The beds, cots, cribs or play pens shall be clean, sanitary and free 
of hazards. They shall be maintained in good condition.  

(m) Bedding shall be adequate and appropriate to the season. Sheets and 
covers shall be laundered weekly or more often when soiled. Clean 
sheets shall be provided for use by each child. Clean covers shall be 
provided for use by each child older than twelve (12) months of age.  

(n) Beds, when not in use by household members, may be used for 
children in care provided that they are completely covered with 
clean linens before being used by the children.  

(o) Waterbeds shall not be used by a child at any time.  
(p) Upper or top bunk beds shall not be used by a child at any time.  
(q) No child shall sleep or nap on the floor. 

  
(2) The licensee shall provide a variety of toys, games, and other play equipment 

appropriate to the ages of children specified on the license/permit and to the 
interests of the children. The licensee shall provide at least two  
(2) items from each category for each age group for which the home is 
licensed or permitted, as listed in Section L., page 57, the Equipment List. 
  

(3) Recorded or printed materials shall be viewed by the licensee for 
appropriateness before being shown to children. All materials with 
sexually explicit, frightening or violent content shall be kept in an area 
inaccessible to children. 
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3. Outdoor Area 
 

The home and grounds shall be maintained in a clean and safe condition. 
a. Outdoor play area  

(1) Children shall be supervised at all times.  
(2) The outdoor play area shall be free from apparent hazardous conditions.  
(3) There shall be at least one outdoor play area of at least 300 square feet on 

the grounds. The outdoor play area shall be enclosed by a fence or wall at 
least four (4) feet in height, free from sharp, protruding edges, except  
where prohibited by federal regulations. Written documentation shall be 
submitted to the Department.  

(4) The licensee shall provide at least two (2) different items of active/outside 
play equipment listed in Section L., page 57, Equipment List, for each age 
group specified on the license/permit.  

(5) Outdoor play equipment, which is not designed to be portable, shall be 
securely anchored so that it cannot be tipped over by an adult.  

(6) Concrete or asphalt shall not be used under outdoor play equipment, 
except wheel toys.  

(7) The outdoor play area shall be free of any stacked wood, construction 
materials, lumber, or firewood.  

(8) Stairs or steps used by the children shall have handrails within child’s reach. 
 

b. Injury prevention  
(1) The home and grounds shall be free from apparent hazards including, but 

not limited to:  
abandoned automobiles; unused 
household appliances; uncovered 
wells and cisterns; stacked 
lumber with exposed nails; and 
explosives.  

(2) Tools and machinery shall be inaccessible to the children in care.  
(3) All poisons shall be kept in a locked area (lock and key or combination 

lock).  
(4) Animals or breeds of animals that have shown aggressive behavior shall 

not be kept in the home or on the grounds.  
(5) Animals that are not aggressive but could pose a threat to the health and 

safety of the children shall be kept in an area away from the children.  
(6) A current certificate of rabies vaccination shall be on file in the home for 

any animal required by law to be vaccinated. 
     

(7) Water hazards on the grounds or adjacent to the grounds shall be 
inaccessible to the children, including but not limited to lakes, ponds, 
waterfalls, fountains and/or other standing water devices. 
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c. Swimming and wading 
 

NOTE: The Department of Human Resources does not inspect activities away 
from the home, including swimming and wading activities. The licensee shall 
assume full authority and responsibility for away from the home activities. 

 
If the licensee provides activities away from the home, a written statement, 
signed by each child's parent(s)/guardian(s), shall be on file in the home prior 
to the child's participation is such activities. The statement shall indicate that 
the parent(s)/guardian(s) has/have been informed the Department of Human 
Resources does not inspect activities provided away from the home and that the 
licensee assumes full responsibility for such activities. 

   
(1) When a swimming pool (above ground or in-ground), two (2) feet or more 

in depth is accessible to the area used for child care, the pool shall be 
enclosed by a fence or a solid wall which has no doors or windows. The 
sides of an above ground pool shall not be considered a fence or wall. The 
fence or wall shall be at least four (4) feet in height, with a locking gate. 
The gate and all areas of access shall remain locked at all times the pool is 
not in use.  
(a) If children are allowed in the pool area, additional supervision 

shall be required. The adult to child ratio shall be:  
(i) one adult caregiver for each child younger than 2½ years;  
(ii) one adult caregiver for every three (3) children 2½ years up 

to 6 years of age;  
(iii) one adult caregiver to every five (5) children 6 years of age 

and older.  
(b) A person with a current American Red Cross Lifeguard Training 

Certificate shall be in the pool area at all times when the pool is in 
use. A copy of the current American Red Cross Lifeguard Training 
Certificate shall be on file in the home.  

(c) The pool shall be maintained in a clean and safe condition.  
(2) When a wading structure less than two (2) feet in depth is available to the 

children, there shall be continuous supervision by an adult caregiver. The 
wading pool shall be filled with clean water prior to each day's usage. The 
wading pool shall be emptied when not in use.  

(3) The licensee shall be present during any swimming/wading activities.  
(4) Written permission for participation in swimming/wading activities from 

each child's parent(s)/guardian(s) shall be on file in the home if 
swimming/wading is provided. 
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4. Transportation 
 

NOTE: The Department of Human Resources does not inspect activities away from the 
home. The licensee shall assume full authority and responsibility for away from the 
home activities. 

 
 If the licensee provides activities away from the home, a written statement, signed by 
 each child's parent(s)/guardian(s), shall be on file in the home prior to the child's 
 participation is such activities. The statement shall indicate that the 
 parent(s)/guardian(s) has/have been informed the Department of Human Resources 
 does not inspect activities provided away from the home and that the licensee assumes 
 full responsibility for such activities. 
 

a. The licensee shall be responsible for children whom they transport during the 
hours of care.  

b. When the licensee provides transportation to and from the home or another 
designated location, the licensee shall be responsible for picking the child up at the 
designated location and delivering the child to the care of the designated person. 

c. A transportation checklist shall be used any time children are transported, walking  
or by vehicle, to account for each child at every location. (See Appendix L, page 
78, for required form.) 

d. The licensee shall not transport any child in a vehicle without the written consent 
of the child’s parent(s)/guardian(s). 

e. No child shall be left in a vehicle without adult supervision. 
f. The driver of the vehicle shall have a valid driver's license. 
g. Doors of the vehicle shall be locked at all times when the vehicle is moving. 
h. All passengers and the driver shall be secured in a seat belt or a child passenger 

restraint system:  
(1) Each child shall be properly secured using an aftermarket or integrated 

child passenger restraint system meeting applicable state and federal 
motor vehicle safety standards. Each child passenger restraint system shall 
be appropriate for the age and size of the child.  

(2) Each child younger than one (1) year of age or weighing less than twenty  
(20) pounds shall be secured in an infant only or a convertible seat used in 
a rear facing position which is properly anchored to the vehicle, installed 
and used according to the manufacturer's instructions and maintained in 
good condition.  

(3) Each child younger than five (5) years of age or weighing less than 40 
pounds shall be properly secured in a convertible seat in the forward  
facing position or in a forward facing seat which is properly anchored to 
the vehicle, installed and used according to the manufacturer's instructions 
and maintained in good condition.  

(4) Each child younger than six (6) years of age shall be properly secured in a 
booster seat which is properly anchored to the vehicle, installed and used 
according to the manufacturer's instructions and maintained in good 
condition.  
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(5) Each child six (6) years of age and older shall be secured in an individual 
seat belt, as prescribed by law, which is properly anchored to the vehicle. 

i. Children shall not be transported in the front seat of any vehicle with a passenger 
side air bag. 

 
5. Emergency Preparedness and Response Plans 
 

a. In the event of an emergency situation, the licensee shall maintain a list of names 
and telephone numbers pertaining to the children in care, assistant caregiver and 
substitutes. The list shall be readily known and accessible to all caregivers. The 
list shall include the name and telephone number of each child's 
parent(s)/guardian(s), each child's responsible relative and each child's doctor. 

b. The name and telephone numbers for law enforcement, fire department, hospital, 
poison control and the Department of Human Resources shall be posted by the 
telephone. 

c. A plan for the evacuation and care of the children in the event of a disaster shall 
be established and posted in a conspicuous place in the home. The licensee shall 
inform substitutes and all assistant caregiver(s) of his/her duties and 
responsibilities in case of emergency. A written statement, signed by each 
substitute and assistant caregiver, verifying that he/she has been informed of the 
Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan, shall be on file in the home. 
 

  1. The plan shall include procedures that will be used to prepare for and  
   respond to the following types of emergency or disaster situations: 
 
   (a) Weather emergencies and natural disasters which include severe  
    thunderstorms, tornadoes, flash flooding, major snowfall,   
    blizzards, ice storms or earthquakes; 
   (b) Emergency outdoor or indoor lockdown or evacuation due to  
    threats of violence which includes active shooter, bioterrorism or  
    terrorism; 
   (c)  Emergency or disaster evacuations due to hazardous materials and  
    spills, gas leaks or bomb threats; 
   (d)  Outbreaks, epidemics or other infectious disease emergencies;  
   (e) Loss of power, water or heat; 
   (f)  Other threatening situations that may pose a health or safety hazard 
    to the children in the center. 
 
  2. The disaster plan shall include details for: 

   (a) Shelter in place or evacuation, how the center will care for and  
    account for the children until they can be reunited with the parent; 
   (b) Assisting infants and children with special needs and/or health  
    conditions; 
   (c) Reunification with parents; 
    (1) Emergency contact information for the parents and the  
     center; 
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    (2) Procedures for notifying and communicating with parents  
     regarding the location of the children if evacuated; 
    (3) Procedures for communicating with parents during loss of  
     communications, (no phone or internet service available). 
   (d) The location of supplies and procedures for gathering necessary  
    supplies for staff and children if required to shelter in place; 
   (e) What to do if a disaster occurs during the transport of children or  
    when on a field trip or routine trip; 
   (f) Training of staff or reassignment of staff duties as appropriate; 
   (g) Updating the plan on a yearly basis; 
   (h) Contact with local emergency management officials. 
  
  3. The plan should also be inclusive of: 
 
   (a) Current emergency plans and procedures; 
   (b) Location and use of fire extinguishers; 
   (c) Location of the first aid and emergency supply kits; 
   (d) Phones for on-site and off-site use; 
   (e) Drills including but not limited to: fire, tornado, lock-down,  
    and relocation. 
 
  4. Emergency procedures shall be practiced at least once each quarter so that  
   children are familiar with the types of procedures and are able to be  
   engaged, and not overwhelmed by the fear of an event.  The recommended 
   schedule is to rotate only one type of drill each month so that all drills are  
   practiced each quarter or four (4) times per year.  
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D. Licensee and Members of the Household 
 
1. Health  

The health of the applicant/licensee and of the members of the household shall not be 
detrimental to the physical and mental well-being of the children in care. 

 
a. Initially, the applicant/licensee shall provide a medical report, on the required form, 

(see Appendix B, page 66, for required form) from a licensed practicing medical 
doctor, physician's assistant (as defined in Section 34-4-290 (4), Code of Alabama 
1975), or a certified nurse practitioner. The initial report shall be dated within six  
(6) months prior to the date of the initial application and shall document the date 
(shall also be within six (6) months) and result of a tuberculin skin test or chest x-ray. 
The medical report shall attest to the physical ability of the applicant/licensee to care 
for children and the person's freedom from infectious or contagious diseases. The 
statement shall be signed by a licensed practicing medical doctor, a physician's 
assistant, or a certified nurse practitioner and shall be on file with the Department. A 
copy of the medical statement shall be kept on file by the applicant/licensee. 

b. At least every two (2) years after the date of the initial medical report the licensee 
shall obtain a report (see Appendix B, page 66, for required form) from a licensed 
practicing medical doctor, physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner, 
which attests to the licensee's freedom from infectious or contagious diseases and 
to his/her physical ability to care for children. The report shall be submitted to the 
Department. A copy shall be kept on file in the home. 

c. A medical report (see Appendix B, page 66, for required form) from a licensed 
practicing medical doctor, physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner, 
dated within six (6) months prior to the date of the initial application, shall be 
submitted initially for each household member. The medical report shall 
document the date (shall also be within six (6) months) and result of a tuberculin  
skin test or chest x-ray. At least every four (4) years after the date of the initial 
medical report, each member of the household shall submit another medical 
report, signed by a licensed practicing medical doctor, physician's assistant, or 
certified nurse practitioner. Each report shall indicate the person's physical 
condition and freedom from infectious or contagious diseases. 

d. In addition to the medical report, for each child from two (2) months to five (5) 
years of age, living in the home, a valid State of Alabama Certificate of 
Immunization, a valid Alabama Certificate of Medical Exemption, or a valid 
Alabama Certificate of Religious Exemption shall be submitted to the 
Department. A copy shall be kept on file in the home. 

e. A medical report (see Appendix B, page 66, for required form) from a licensed 
practicing medical doctor, or physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner, shall 
be submitted initially (dated within six (6) months prior to the date of the initial  
application) and at least every two (2) years after the date of the initial report, on all 
substitutes, assistant caregivers, and household domestic workers who have contact 
with the children in care or with food served to the children in care. The medical 
report shall document the date (shall also be within six (6) months) and result of a 
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tuberculin skin test or chest x-ray. Each report shall indicate the person's physical 
condition and freedom from infectious or contagious diseases. 

f. An additional medical or psychological evaluation or a drug screening may be 
required at the discretion of the Department's representative, based on information 
that raises reasonable suspicion. A release to allow the department representative 
to confer directly with the doctor or professional performing the evaluation shall 
be provided by the applicant/licensee upon request. "Reasonable suspicion" is 
defined as follows: Belief based upon evidence of past or present behavior that 
reasonable grounds exist to review the employee, staff, or licensee, including 
board members, suitability and fitness to provide care for children. 

g. A licensee/caregiver who shows indications of a physical, emotional, or mental 
condition which could be detrimental to the children in care or which would prevent 
satisfactory performance of duties shall not continue giving care to the children until 
a written statement from the examining medical doctor, indicating that the 
licensee/caregiver is able to care for the children, is submitted to the Department.  
In such situations, the substitute may care for the children until the condition is 
cleared. 

 
2. Character and Suitability 
 

a. Applicants/licensees (see definition, Section A., 15., page 10), household members, 
caregivers (see definition, Section A., 3, page 8), substitutes, domestic workers, 
volunteers, or other persons who have contact with the children in care or 
unsupervised access to the children in care shall be of good moral character. 
Information regarding the character and suitability of applicants for a license and all 
adult household members shall be reviewed by the Department at the time of the 
initial application for a license. Subsequent character and suitability reviews shall  
be conducted at the discretion of the Department. Evidence that an 
applicant/licensee, household member, caregiver, substitute, domestic worker, 
volunteer, or other person who has contact with the children or unsupervised 
access to the children, is of unsuitable character may be the basis for the denial of 
an initial application, denial of an application for renewal of a license, suspension 
of a license/permit, or revocation of a license or six-month permit.  

b. The applicant/licensee shall conduct a character and suitability review, as set 
forth below, of substitutes, caregivers, domestic workers, volunteers, and other 
persons have contact with the children or unsupervised access to the children. 

c.  
 Factors to be considered in determining character and suitability shall include but 
 need not be limited to:  

(1) References  
(a) At the time of initial application, each applicant for a license and 

each adult household member shall provide the Department with 
the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of at least three 
persons who are unrelated to the applicant or household member 
by blood, marriage, or adoption. These persons shall be contacted 
by the Department to determine the applicant/household member's  
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character, community reputation, work history, and suitability to 
care for children or to have contact with children. The Department  
may, at its discretion, contact additional sources who can attest to 
the applicant/household member's character and suitability to care 
for children or to have contact with children.  

(b) The applicant/licensee shall obtain at least three written references for 
each current and prospective caregiver, substitute, domestic worker, 
volunteer, or other person who has contact with the children or 
unsupervised access to the children. References shall attest to the 
person's character, community reputation, work history, suitability to 
care for children or to have contact with the children. Reference 
contacts shall not be related to the person by blood, marriage, or 
adoption. Written references shall be kept on file in the home. (See 
Appendix E, page 71, for required reference form.) 
  

(2) Clearance of State Central Registry on Child Abuse/Neglect  
(a) At the time of initial application, a completed REQUEST FOR 

CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY ON CHILD 
ABUSE/NEGLECT shall be submitted by the applicant and each 
adult household member. Results shall be kept in the Department's 
files. 

(b) The applicant shall obtain a completed REQUEST FOR 
CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY ON CHILD 
ABUSE/NEGLECT for each assistant caregiver, substitute, 
volunteer, domestic worker, and any other person who has contact 
with the children or unsupervised access to the children. Results 
shall be kept on file in the home.  

(c) A REQUEST FOR CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL 
REGISTRY ON CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT shall be updated 
every five (5) years. Additional request may be required based on 
the discretion of the Department. 
 

(3) Criminal History Background Information Checks  
(a) In accordance with Alabama law, (Act 2000-775, Code of 

Alabama 1975, § 38-13-1 through 12, the criminal history of each 
applicant for a license, each licensee, each adult household 
member, substitute, assistant caregiver, volunteer, and domestic 
worker, as   
well as any other person who has contact with the children or 
unsupervised access to the children shall be submitted. This 
information must be updated every five (5) years.   

(b) Upon receipt of a determination of unsuitability, the affected 
individual shall be terminated from employment or volunteer work 
in the home.  
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(c) The Department shall suspend or revoke the license or deny the 
initial application or the application for renewal if the 
applicant/licensee, household member or another person in the 
home receives a determination of unsuitable character.  

(d) If a suitability determination letter is received by the licensee from 
the Department’s Criminal History Check Unit stating an 
individual is suitable for employment based on the absence of any 
disqualifying convictions, the licensee shall make his or her own 
determination regarding employment or volunteer work. No right 
to employment is created by the issuance of a letter stating an 
individual is suitable for employment.  

(e) The licensee shall inform the Department of any criminal 
convictions and current criminal charges involving the licensee, 
household members, substitutes, caregivers, domestic workers, and 
other persons who have contact with the children or unsupervised 
access to the children, which occur after a license/permit is 
obtained. Such reports shall be made within 24 hours and followed  
by a written report within five (5) days. (See Section F., 2. Page 
42, Reports to the Department for details.) This information shall 
be kept on file by the Department. 
  

(4) Evidence of Unsuitable Character  
(a) Examples of evidence which may make an applicant/licensee, 

household member, assistant caregiver, substitute, domestic 
worker, volunteer, or any other person, unsuitable to hold a 
license/permit or have contact with the children or unsupervised  
access to children, include but are not limited to the following: 
 
((1))   any felony conviction in this or any other state;  
((2))   theft and other financial crimes related to business activities;  
((3))   misdemeanor convictions in this or any other state;  
((4))  operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of or 

while impaired by the use of intoxicating liquor or drugs;  
((5))  offenses involving the reckless operation of a motor vehicle 

at an excessive speed;  
((6))   a crime involving the possession of a controlled substance; 

 
((7)) operating a child care facility without a 

license/permit/exemption;  
((8)) refusal to cease operations of an unlicensed child care 

facility;  
((9)) a history of consistent failure to maintain minimum 

standards while operating a child care facility;  
((10)) refusal or failure to cooperate in any Department 

investigation or inspection;  
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((11)) making false or misleading statements or reports to the 
Department;  

((12)) past history of the individual regarding his/her truthfulness;  
((13)) the individual’s ability to care for children;  

(b) Indicated (founded or substantiated) reports of adult or child 
abuse/neglect (with or without criminal convictions) in this or any 
other state.  

(c) Evidence in item (a) ((1)) through ((13)) and item (b) above, will 
be evaluated to determine whether or not it constitutes a danger to 
the children based on the seriousness of the crime, the existence of 
extenuating circumstances, the propensity to recommit the crime, 
and evidence of rehabilitation since the crime was committed.  

(d) An application for a license shall be denied or a license or permit 
shall be suspended or revoked if the applicant/licensee, a 
household member, substitute, assistant caregiver, domestic 
worker, volunteer, or any other person who has contact with the 
children or unsupervised access to the children, is determined to be 
of unsuitable character to work with children, to have contact with 
children or to have unsupervised access to children. 

 

  (5) Pending completion of all required background check components,  
   applicants/licensees, substitutes and assistant caregiver cannot be counted  
   in the staff/child ratio. 
 
3. Qualifications 
 

a. Applicants for an initial license shall have a high school diploma or G. E. D. 
(general education diploma). Homes licensed before January 22, 2001 are exempt 
from this requirement as long as the license remains current. 

b. The licensee shall be at least 19 years of age. 
d. Prior to initial licensing, the applicant/licensee shall submit to the Department a 

current Infant-Child (Pediatric) Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification 
(CPR) and a current First Aid Certificate. 

d. The licensee shall submit an updated Infant-Child (Pediatric) Cardiopulmonary 
Resuscitation Certification (CPR) and an updated First Aid Certificate to the 
Department when these certifications and/or certificates expire.  

e. Prior to initial licensing, the applicant/licensee shall have at least twenty-four (24) 
clock hours of training in child care and development through participation in 
workshops, meetings, recorded/printed materials or one to one consultation. 
Written documentation shall be submitted to the Department. Child care training 
shall include at least four (4) hours in each of these areas:  
(1) child development;  
(2) health, safety and universal precautions;  
(3) quality child care and licensing;  
(4) the child care professional and the family;  
(5) language development;  
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(6) positive discipline and guidance.  
Training in CPR and First Aid shall not be counted toward required training hours. 

f. Thereafter, the licensee shall have at least twenty (20) clock hours of training 
related to child care each year. Documentation of training shall be on file in the  
home. Child care training shall include hours in each of these areas:  
(1) child development;  
(2) health, safety and universal precautions;  
(3) quality child care and licensing;  
(4) the child care professional and the family;  
(5) language development;  
(6) positive discipline and guidance.  
Training in CPR and First Aid shall not be counted toward required training hours. 
 

 g.  Pursuant to new changes in the Child Care Development Block Grant (42   
  U.S.C.S. §§9857 et seq,) the Department is required to implement and enforce  
  additional training requirements of all childcare facilities that participate in the  
  Child Care Subsidy Program.   

 
  (1) Prior to receiving any childcare subsidy funds, the applicant/licensee shall  
  have at least one (1) hour of preservice training in each of the following  
  eleven (11) required topic areas: 
 

(a) Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including 
immunization); 

(b) Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) prevention and use of safe 
sleeping practices; 

(c) Medication administration; 
(d) Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic 

reactions; 
(e) Building and physical premises safety; 
(f) Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma; 
(g) Emergency preparedness and response planning; 
(h) Handling and storage of hazardous materials/correct disposal of 

bio contaminants; 
          (i) Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect; 
         (j)  First aid and CPR;       
         (k) If applicable, appropriate precautions in transporting children. 
 
 Pending completion of all required preservice training, applicants/licensees, 
 substitutes, and assistant caregivers cannot be counted in the staff/child ratio. 

  (2) Thereafter, the licensee shall have at least one (1) hour of annual training in  
  each of the following eleven (11) required topic areas: 

(a) Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including 
immunization); 
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(b) Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) prevention and use of safe 
sleeping practices; 

(c) Medication administration; 
(d) Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic 

reactions; 
(e) Building and physical premises safety; 
(f) Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma; 
(g) Emergency preparedness and response planning; 
(h) Handling and storage of hazardous materials/correct disposal of 

bio contaminants; 
(i) Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect; 
(j) First aid and CPR; 
(k) If applicable, appropriate precautions in transporting children. 

 
4. Financial Resources  

There shall be financial resources available for the satisfactory care of children served in 
regard to upkeep of the home and the provisions for nutritious meals, adequate and safe 
recreational equipment, educational materials and required arrangements for comfortable 
rest or sleep. 

 
5. Substitutes  

The licensee shall have at least one (1) substitute. Another licensed child care provider 
shall not be a substitute. Substitutes shall care for the children in the licensee's home. 

 
a. Substitutes shall be at least 19 years of age. 
b. Substitutes shall have a high school diploma or a general education diploma (G. 

E. D.). Substitutes designated before January 22, 2001 are exempt from this 
requirement. 

c. The licensee shall give the Department the name(s), age(s), address(es) and 
telephone number(s) of the substitute(s). 

d. For each substitute, the following information shall be on file in the home:  
(1) name;  
(2) age;  
(3) address;  
(4) telephone number;  
(5) required medical form, including TB test or chest x-ray;  
(6) reference data;  
(7) verification of education;  
(8) documentation of a current Infant-Child (Pediatric) Cardiopulmonary 

Resuscitation Certification (CPR) and a current First Aid Certificate;  
(9) character and suitability information (see Section D., 2., page 26);  
(10) written verification that he/she has been informed of Emergency Preparedness 

and Response Plan;  
(11) written verification that he/she has read the Minimum Standards. 
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 e. Pursuant to new changes in the Child Care Development Block Grant (42   
  U.S.C.S. §§9857 et seq,) the Department is required to implement and   
  enforce additional training requirements of all childcare facilities that   
  participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program.   
 
  (1) Within 90 days of employment, substitutes shall have at least one (1) hour of  
  preservice training in each of the following eleven (11) required topic areas: 
   (a) Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including    
   immunization); 
   (b) Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) prevention and use of safe  
   sleeping practices; 
   (c) Medication administration; 
   (d) Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic  
   reactions; 
   (e) Building and physical premises safety; 
   (f) Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma; 
   (g) Emergency preparedness and response planning; 
   (h) Handling and storage of hazardous materials/correct disposal of  
   bio contaminants; 
   (i) Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect; 
   (j) First aid and CPR; 
   (k) If applicable, appropriate precautions in transporting children. 
 
  Pending completion of all required preservice training, applicants/licensees,  
  substitutes, and assistant caregivers cannot be counted in the       
                        staff/child ratio. 
 
  (2) Thereafter, the substitute shall have at least one (1) hour of annual training in  
  each of the following eleven (11) required topic areas: 

(a) Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including 
immunization);     

(b) Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) prevention and use of safe 
sleeping practices;  

(c) Medication administration; 
(d) Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic 

reactions; 
(e) Building and physical premises safety; 
(f) Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma; 
(g) Emergency preparedness and response planning; 
(h) Handling and storage of hazardous materials/correct disposal of 

bio contaminants; 
(i) Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect; 
(j) First aid and CPR; 
(k) If applicable, appropriate precautions in transporting children. 
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6. No outside work or school  
During the hours of child care, the licensee shall not work outside the home or attend 
school. No other activities that take time and attention away from the children shall be 
performed in the home during the hours of child care, such as but not limited to home 
schooling, selling or providing products/services and/or educational requirements. 
Household duties related to the care of the children shall be performed as necessary. 
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E. Care of the Children 
 
1. Supervision of the Children  

The children shall be supervised at all times. The licensee shall be responsible for 
the care and supervision of the children at all times. 

 
2. Infants and children shall be handled gently.  

The licensee and each caregiver shall support each infant's head while lifting and 
holding the infant. Rough or harsh handling is prohibited, including but not limited 
to: shaking; lifting or jerking by one or both arms; pushing; pulling; forcing or 
restricting movement; lifting or moving by grasping clothing; covering an infant's 
or child's mouth, face or head, etc. 

 
3. Health 

a. Immunizations  
Each child two (2) months up to five (5) years of age and five (5) year olds who 
are not enrolled in public or private school kindergarten shall have a valid State of 
Alabama Certificate of Immunization on file in the home on the child's first day 
of attendance and the Certificate shall be kept current thereafter unless one of the 
following certificates is on file in the home:  
(1) A valid Alabama Certificate of Medical Exemption.  

OR:  
(2) A valid Alabama Certificate of Religious Exemption. 

b. Observations  
Each child shall be observed for illness and injuries upon his/her arrival at the 
child care home, and if possible, shall be observed in the presence of his/her 
parent(s)/guardian(s). 

c. Illness or injury  
(1) The licensee shall report promptly to the child's parent(s)/guardian(s):  

(a) Any injury, suspected illness or other changes observed in the 
health of their child;  

(b) Any exposure to a contagious disease, so that the child may be 
observed for symptoms of the disease.  

(2) No child who is ill shall be admitted to the home. This regulation is not 
intended to require the exclusion of children in violation of the Americans 
with Disabilities Act (ADA). The Department of Human Resources is not 
the enforcement agency for the ADA. Determinations of illness may be 
based on: the child's inability to participate in the home's activities; the 
need for additional care that cannot be provided without taking time and 
attention away from the other children; signs of serious or contagious 
disease or condition, such as but not limited to food and allergic reactions, 
fever, diarrhea, vomiting, unexplained rash, scabies, head lice; a 
physician's diagnosis requiring that the child be separated from other 
children.  

(3) Isolation and removal  
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(a) Any child in attendance who becomes ill, has a contagious disease 
or condition, or suffers an injury that requires professional medical  
attention shall be separated promptly from the group, but shall 
have continuous supervision. Toys, bedding, equipment and 
bathroom facilities used by an ill child or adult shall be cleaned 
and disinfected prior to use by another person.  

(b) The ill or injured child's parent(s)/guardian(s) shall be notified 
immediately and required to come for, or arrange for another 
designated person to come for the child.  

   (c) If the parent(s)/guardian(s) or person designated by the   
    parent(s)/guardian(s) cannot be reached or if the injury or illness is  
    severe, the licensee shall obtain emergency medical treatment.  

(4) Contagious diseases/conditions  
(a) When a contagious disease/condition (a disease/condition which 

can be transmitted or spread from person to person) has been 
introduced into the home, parent(s)/guardian(s) of each exposed 
child shall be notified.  

(b) The licensee shall urge parent(s)/guardian(s) to notify the licensee 
when their child is known to have been exposed to a contagious 
disease/condition outside the home. 
 

d. Medication/Medical Procedures  
(1) No medication or medical procedures (prescription or over-the-counter) shall 

be administered without a written, signed, authorization form from the child's 
parent(s)/guardian(s). Blanket authorization forms are prohibited. The 
authorization form shall include time(s) and date(s) to be administered, 
dosage, storage instructions, and specific directions for administering the 
medication/medical procedure, such as given by mouth, apply to skin (such as 
but not limited to sunscreen, bug spray, hand sanitizer), inhale, drops in eyes, 
etc. An authorization form shall be valid for no more than seven (7) days, 
unless accompanied by a written physician’s statement. (See 
Appendix H, page 76, for required form.)  

(2) Any prescription drug or over-the-counter drug sent to the home shall be 
in its original container. Prescription drugs shall have a pharmacy label or 
shall be accompanied by a physician’s written instructions. Over-the-
counter drugs shall be clearly labeled with the child's name and directions 
for administering the drug. A measuring device (if the medication requires 
measuring) shall be provided for each child's medication.  

(3) All medication (children's or household member's) shall be kept under 
lock and key or combination lock.  

(4) Medicines/drugs shall be returned to the child's parent(s)/guardian(s) or 
disposed of properly when no longer needed.  

(5) Time and date of all medication dosages or medical procedures administered  
by the licensee/caregiver shall be documented, in writing, signed by the 
person administering the medication or medical procedure (initials not 
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acceptable), and kept in the child's file in the home. (See Section F., 3., g., 
page 44, for children's records requirements.) Copies shall be made 
available to the child's parent(s)/guardian(s) on request. 

 
4. Care of Infants 
 

a. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 
unless the infant has a note from a physician specifying otherwise, each infant 
shall be placed in a supine (on his/her back) position for sleeping to lower the 
risks of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS). 

b. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 
when an infant can easily turn over from the supine (back) to the prone (front) 
position, he/she shall be put down to sleep on his/her back, but allowed to adopt 
whatever position he/she prefers for sleep. 

c. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 
each infant (younger than twelve (12) months) shall be placed in a prone (front) 
position part of the time he/she is awake and observed. “Tummy time” helps 
muscle development and reduces the tendency of back positioning to flatten the 
back of the infant’s head. 

d. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 
unless a physician specifies the need for a positioning device that restricts 
movement within the child’s bed, such devices shall not be used. 

e. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 
soft materials are prohibited in the infant’s sleeping environment (younger than 
twelve (12) months).  
(1) Soft materials or objects, such as pillows, quilts, comforters, or 

sheepskins, shall not be placed under a sleeping infant.  
(2) Soft objects, such as pillows, quilts, comforters, bumper pads, sheepskins, 

stuffed toys, and other gas-trapping objects shall be kept out of the infant’s 
sleeping environment.  

(3) No infant shall be put to sleep on a sofa, soft mattress, or other soft surface. 
f. The diapering area shall be a washable surface and shall be cleaned and 

disinfected after each use.  
g. Sufficient clean, dry diapers and clothing shall be provided for each infant/toddler. 
h. Wet or soiled diapers and other clothing shall be changed promptly. 
i. Disposable diapers shall be placed in a covered, plastic-lined trash container 

inaccessible to children. 
j. Reusable (cloth) diapers shall be rinsed in the toilet, placed in a plastic bag, and 

stored out of reach of children. 
k. Staff shall use universal precautions when changing diapers or being exposed to 

blood, fecal material, or urine. 
l. The licensee and each caregiver shall wash his/her hands with soap and warm 

running water after diapering each child, after assisting with toileting, and after 
contact with bodily fluids. Individual disposable paper towels shall be used for 
hand drying. 
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m. The licensee and each caregiver shall use single-use disposable gloves for 
diapering. Clean gloves shall be used for diapering each child. Used gloves shall 
be disposed of in a covered, plastic-lined container, inaccessible to children, and 
shall be disposed of daily. 

            n.   Spills of body fluids, including blood, feces, nasal and eye discharges, saliva,  
 urine, and vomit shall be cleaned up immediately. Caregivers shall wear gloves 
 unless the fluid can be easily contained by the material (e.g., paper towel or cloth) 
 that is being used to clean up. Caregivers shall be careful not to get any of the 
 fluid in your eyes, nose, mouth or any open sores. Caregivers shall clean and 
 disinfect any surfaces, such as counter tops and floors, on which body fluids 
 have been spilled. Contaminated materials shall be discarded in a plastic bag that 
 has been securely sealed. Mops used to clean up body fluids should be: 
 (a)  cleaned; 
 (b) rinsed with a disinfecting solution; 
 (c) wrung as dry as possible; 
 (d) hung to dry completely. 
                        Be sure to wash your hands after cleaning up any spills. 
           o.  Each child’s hands shall be washed after diapering and toileting. 
           p.          No child shall be left unattended while being diapered. 
           q.      The diapering area shall be separate from areas used for serving, preparing, or 
 storing food. 
           r.      Infants shall be handled gently. The licensee and each caregiver shall support 
 each infant's head while lifting and holding the infant. Rough or harsh handling is 
 prohibited, including but not limited to: shaking; lifting or jerking by one or both 
 arms; pushing; pulling; forcing or restricting movement; lifting or moving by 
 grasping clothing; covering an infant's mouth, face or head, etc. 
 
5. Child Abuse/Neglect Reporting 
 

a. The licensee and any other caregivers are required by law, (Code of Alabama 1975, § 
26-14-1 through 26-14-13), to report known or suspected child abuse or neglect to the 
County Department of Human Resources or the local chief of police, or county 
sheriff. The report shall be made immediately by telephone or direct oral 
communication, followed by a written report, containing all known information. 

b. Any person making a report in good faith is immune from any civil or criminal 
liability.  

c. The law further provides that all reports to the Department of Human Resources 
and certain other records of child abuse and neglect are considered confidential 
under penalty of law. 

d. The licensee, household members, and all caregivers shall cooperate with the 
Department personnel on any child abuse or neglect investigation, including 
providing information to workers and allowing access to children and records. 
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6. Meals and Snacks 
 

a. The licensee shall provide breakfast or a morning snack, a mid-day meal and at least 
one afternoon snack each day for the children in care. No child shall be deprived of a 
meal or snack if he/she is in attendance at the time the meal/snack is served. 
(1) Breakfast, if served, shall include at least the following:  

(a) fruit and/or vegetable;  
(b) whole grain rich or enriched bread or bread product;  
(c) fluid milk.  

(2) Snacks shall include at least two of the following four choices:  
(a) fluid milk;  
(b) meat or meat alternate;  
(c) fruits and/or vegetables;  
(d) whole grain rich or enriched bread or bread products.  

(3) Meals shall include at least the following:  
(a) meat or meat alternate;  
(b) vegetables/fruits (one vegetable and one fruit);  
(c) whole grain rich or enriched bread or bread product;  
(d) fluid milk. 

b. Formula or food for infants and other special diets recommended or prescribed by a 
physician shall be prepared as directed by the parent(s)/guardian(s). Special foods for 
any child shall be clearly labeled with the child's name and stored as directed. 

c. Formula, powdered or concentrated, shall be prepared by the parent(s)/guardian(s). 
            d. Fluid (liquid) milk shall be served. No powdered milk shall be used for drinking. 
            e. Small hard candies and nuts shall not be served to children younger than four 
 years of age. 

f. Foods with a shape and consistency that may cause choking shall be prepared 
 appropriately for the age and ability of the child. The following foods shall be 
 served only under close supervision: peanut butter; popcorn; small pieces of raw 
 vegetables; raisins; seeds; grapes (cut in half); foods with bones, meats (cut in 
 pieces small enough to prevent choking); and hot dogs (cut length-wise, then 
 chopped in small pieces, not cut in circular pieces). 
 
Food Service 
a. The licensee, each caregiver, and each child shall wash his/her hands with soap 

and warm running water before eating, preparing, or serving foods. Individual 
disposable paper towels shall be provided for drying hands. 

b. Feeding chairs shall be provided for infants. Feeding chairs and tables on which 
food is served shall be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected prior to and after 
snacks and meals. Each child's food shall be served from an individual dish or 
napkin and shall not be placed directly on tables. 

c. Each infant and toddler shall be encouraged to experiment with self-feeding with 
his/her hands or a spoon. Utensils shall be provided for each child who feeds 
himself/herself. Disposable utensils and cups shall be used only under close 
supervision. 
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d. All prepared formula and food brought from the child's home shall be labeled 
with the child's name and properly stored. Milk and prepared formula shall be 
placed immediately in the refrigerator. Previously opened baby food jars shall not 
be accepted by the licensee. All formula remaining in the bottle after a feeding 
shall be discarded. 

e. Each infant shall be held when fed from a bottle. Bottles shall not be propped. 
f. The size of servings shall be adequate to meet each child's needs. 
g. Food, including dessert or milk, shall not be forced on or withheld from a child. 
h. Each child shall be seated while eating. 

 
8. Food protection and preparation 
 

a. Food shall be in good condition. 
b. No home-canned/preserved foods shall be used. 
c. Food shall be protected from contamination during storage, preparation, and 

serving. 
d. All food preparation surfaces and utensils shall be thoroughly cleaned before use. 
e. Once food has been served to a child, portions of leftover food shall not be served 

again. 
f. Tableware, cooking utensils, and all food contact surfaces shall be thoroughly 

cleaned after each use. 
g. Animals shall not be allowed in food storage, food preparation, or food service 

areas during hours of child care. 
h. Floors in food preparation and service areas shall be swept or vacuumed daily and 

mopped as needed to maintain cleanliness. 
 
9. Personal Belongings 
 

a. The licensee shall require the parent(s)/guardian(s) to provide appropriate 
seasonal clothing for each child to permit a change when necessary. 

b. Sufficient clean, dry diapers and clothing shall be provided for each infant/toddler. 
Wet or soiled diapers and other clothing shall be changed promptly. 

c. Adequate space shall be available to each child for storing his/her personal 
belongings. 

 
10. Disciplinary Practices 
 

a. Discipline shall be appropriate to the age and developmental level of the children. 
b. The following disciplinary practices are prohibited:  

(1) Corporal or physical punishment is prohibited, including, but not limited to: 
spanking; shaking; slapping; kicking; pushing; biting; pinching; hitting; 
thumping; hair pulling; or ear pulling;  

(2) Verbal abuse is prohibited, including but not limited to: yelling; shouting; 
name calling; shaming; making derogatory remarks about a child or a 
child's family; using language that is inappropriate, offensive, threatens, 
humiliates, or frightens a child;  
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(3) Discipline associated with food, naps, or bathroom procedures is 
prohibited, including but not limited to: withholding food as punishment; 
use of food such as hot sauce, lemon juice, vinegar, etc., or soap, as 
punishment; punishment for lapses in toilet training; punishment for not 
sleeping during nap/rest time;  

(4) Physical restraint as punishment is prohibited; 
(5) Punishment administered by another child is prohibited;  
(6) Rough or harsh handling of children, whether associated with discipline or 

not, is prohibited, including but not limited to: shaking; lifting or jerking 
by one or both arms; pushing; pulling; forcing or restricting movement; 
lifting or moving by grasping clothing; covering a child's head, etc. 

 
11. Outdoor Play 
 

All children shall spend time outdoors each day, when weather permits. 
 
 

12. Sign in/Sign out Procedures 
 
a. The licensee shall require the parent(s)/guardian(s) or other person designated by 

the parent(s)/guardian(s) to sign (signature required, initials not acceptable) each 
child in at each arrival to the home, indicating the time of arrival. (See Appendix 
J, page 78, for required form.) 

b. The licensee shall require the parent(s)/guardian(s) or other person designated by 
the parent(s)/guardian(s) to sign (signature required, initials not acceptable) each 
child out at each departure from the home, indicating the time of departure. (See 
Appendix J, page 78, for required form.) 

c. If a child walks to the home from school or another designated location, or is 
transported to/from the home by school bus, the licensee/caregiver shall sign 
(signature required, initials not acceptable) each child in upon arrival and out 
upon departure, indicating time of arrival/departure. 

 
13. Release of the children 

 
a. The licensee/caregiver shall not release a child to anyone without written 

authorization from the child’s parent(s)/guardian(s). 
b. Authorized persons who are unfamiliar to the licensee/caregiver shall show 

photographic identification when picking up a child. 
 
14. Visits by parent(s)/guardian(s) 

 
Parent(s)/guardian(s) shall have the right to visit and observe their child in the home at 
any time during hours of operation. Parent(s)/guardian(s) shall be informed of this right. 
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F. Administration 
 
1. General administrative responsibilities of the applicant/licensee 

 
a. The applicant/licensee shall apply for a license to operate a child care home on the 

required form(s). (See Appendix A, page 60, for a copy of required form(s).) (See 
also Licensing Procedures, Section B., page 11, for additional information.) 

b. An application for renewal of the license shall be submitted to the Department at least 
thirty (30) calendar days prior to the expiration of the license on the required form(s). 
(See Appendix A, page 60.) It is the sole responsibility of the licensee to obtain the 
required form(s) and to submit the form(s) to the Department as required. 

c. The applicant/licensee shall read and be familiar with the Minimum Standards 
and assume final authority and responsibility for meeting and maintaining 
Minimum Standards. 

d. There shall be financial resources available to provide for the satisfactory care of the 
children in care in regard to upkeep of the home and the provision of nutritious meals, 
safe play equipment, and required arrangements for comfortable rest/sleep. 

e. The following documents shall be posted in a place in the home easily seen by 
parent(s)/guardian(s):  
(1) the home's current license or permit;  
(2) the most recent licensing evaluation form;  
(3) the most recent deficiency report form;  
(4) public notice form;  
(5) the name and telephone number for law enforcement, fire department, 

hospital, poison control and the Department of Human Resources;  
(6) Emergency Preparedness and Response Plans;  
(7) corrective/adverse action notices. 

f. Any information regarding children and facts learned about children and their 
relatives shall be kept confidential and shall not be shared except:  
(1) with the parent(s)/guardian(s) or person(s) authorized by  

parent(s)/guardian(s) to receive such information, or  
(2) with the Department. (See Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-13) 

g. The licensee shall provide the parent(s)/guardian(s) and the Department with a 
written statement of the rules and policies of the home. These rules and policies 
shall be given to parent(s)/guardian(s) when the child is enrolled and shall include 
at least the following:  
(1) A statement of child care services to be provided including days and hours 

of care and fees; 
(2) Information about the substitutes and how they will be used;  
(3) Information about any animals on the premises;  
(4) Information about pools on the premises and if the children will have 

access to the pool;  
(5) Parent(s)/guardian(s) shall be informed of their right to visit and observe 

their child in the home at any time during the hours of care;  
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(6) Statement regarding Minimum Standards requirements for illness and 
injury; (See Section E., 3., c., page 34, for details);  

(7) A daily schedule;  
(8) Disciplinary practices (See Section E., 10., page 39-40, for details);  
(9) An Emergency Preparedness and Response Plan that addresses situations 

covered on pages 23-24 of The Minimum Standards. 
h. The licensee shall provide parent(s)/guardian(s) and the Department in writing, of 

any changes in the home's rules and policies. 
i. The licensee's social security number or tax ID number shall be made available to 

the parent(s)/guardian(s) on request. 
 
2. Reports to the Department 
 

a. Enrollment reports, indicating the number and ages of children enrolled in the home, 
shall be submitted to the Department upon written request from the Department. 

b. The licensee shall report any known or suspected child abuse or neglect to the 
County Department of Human Resources, the local chief of police or the county 
sheriff. (See Section E., 5., page 37, for additional information.) 

c. The following shall be reported verbally within 24 hours, and followed by a 
written report within 5 days:  
(1) any injury/illness requiring professional medical treatment of any child;  
(2) any injury/illness requiring emergency medical treatment;  
(3) any death occurring in the home;  
(4) changes in caregivers or substitutes (new or additional caregivers or 

substitutes);  
(5) any change in the name of the licensee;  
(6) any change in the name or number of the street address of the licensed 

home made by a government agency (Note: any change in location 
requires a new license); 

(7) change in the telephone number of the licensee, caregiver, or substitute;  
(8) serious accidents or serious illness of the licensee or household members;  
(9) serious damage to the home or grounds;  
(10) changes in members of the household (new household members moving into 

the home, household members moving out of the home, birth of a child);  
(11) any arrest of the licensee, household members, caregivers, substitutes, 

domestic workers, volunteers, or any other persons who have contact with 
the children or unsupervised access to children;  

(12) final disposition of any child abuse/neglect investigation involving the 
licensee, household members, caregivers, substitutes, domestic workers, 
volunteers, or any other persons who have contact with the children or 
unsupervised access to children; 

(13) any disastrous event. 
d. Any physical or structural changes in the home or on the grounds such as but not 

limited to: remodeling; renovations; or installation of a swimming pool, shall be 
reported to the Department in advance. 
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e. Any change in location (move to another home) shall be reported to the 
Department in advance. (Note: A new license must be applied for and obtained 
before receiving children in the new location.) 

 
3. Records to be kept by the licensee 
 

a. Copies of initial and updated medical reports for the licensee. 
b. Written verification of education for the applicant/licensee. 
c. Written verification of training for the applicant/licensee, including:  

(1) written documentation of a current Infant-Child (Pediatric) 
Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification (CPR) and a current First 
Aid Certificate;  

(2) a current American Red Cross Lifeguard training certificate if the home 
has a pool and the children in care are allowed in the pool area;  

(3) written verification of training received through workshops, meetings, 
recorded/printed materials, or one to one consultation. 

d. The following information shall be kept in an individual file in the home for each 
assistant caregiver and each substitute:  
(1) three (3) references;  
(2) State Central Registry on Child Abuse/Neglect Clearance Form must be 

issued within the last five (5) years and updated every five (5) years 
thereafter (See Section D., 2., c., (2) page 27, for details). Forms can be 
obtained from the Department’s website;  

(3) Criminal history background information, (See Section D., 2., c., (3), page 
28 for details) including;  
(a) A Suitability Determination letter from the Department must be 

issued within the last five (5) years and updated every five (5) 
years thereafter.  

(b) Identification verification of name, date of birth, race and sex in 
the form of a photo identification from any governmental agency, 
such as a driver’s license, non-driver’s identification, or program 
participation card.  

(4) medical reports;  
(5) results of tuberculin skin tests or chest x-rays;  
(6) written verification regarding emergency procedures;  
(7) written verification of having read the Minimum Standards;  
(8) written verification of education;  
(9) written verification of training, including:  

(a) written documentation of a current Infant-Child (Pediatric) 
Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification (CPR) and a current 
First Aid Certificate;  

(b) a current American Red Cross Lifeguard training certificate if the 
home has a pool and the children in care are allowed in the pool 
area;  
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(c) written verification of training received through workshops, 
meetings, videotapes, or one to one consultation (not required for 
substitutes). 

e. Records on caregivers and substitutes shall be kept for at least two (2) years after 
the caregiver or substitute leaves. 

f. A current certificate of rabies vaccination for animals required by law to be 
vaccinated. 

g. Children's records shall be on file in the home on the child's first day of 
attendance and shall include at least:  
(1) Child's Pre-Admission Record, on the required form, including: child’s 

name; birthdate; home address; name, address, and telephone number of 
child’s parent(s)/guardian(s); name, address, and telephone number of 
mother’s and father’s employer; emergency contact information; name, 
address, and telephone number of child’s doctor; signed authorization for 
emergency medical treatment; special needs or instructions; list of persons 
child may be released to; signed statement that parent(s)/guardian(s) 
understands that the Department does not inspect activities away from the 
facility; permission signed by the child’s parent(s)/guardian(s) for the 
child to participate in activities away from the facility, transportation 
provided by the facility, and swimming/wading provided by the facility; 
child’s first day of attendance; child’s withdrawal date. (See Appendix G, 
page 74, for required form.);  

(2) written authorization, signed by the parent(s)/guardian(s) to administer 
medication or medical procedures, if applicable, and written record of 
medication administration (see Appendix H, page 76, for required form);  

(3) immunization certificates. (See Section E., 3., a., page 34, for details.) 
h. Children's records shall be kept for at least two (2) years after the child leaves care. 
i. Any other information about the children shall be kept in the children's records. 
j. Any information regarding children and facts learned about children and their 

relatives shall be kept confidential and shall not be shared except;  
(1) with the parent(s)/guardian(s) or person(s) authorized by 

parent(s)/guardian(s) to receive such information, or  
(2) with the Department. (See Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-13.) 

 
k. Confidentiality  

(1) Children's records and information about children and their families shall 
be kept confidential.  

(2) Confidential information about children and their families shall not be 
used or disclosed for any purpose not directly related to the well-being of 
the child.  

(3) Any discussion about children and their families shall be treated as 
confidential.  

(4) Confidential information including children’s records shall be accessible 
only to authorized persons.  

(5) The Department shall have the right to inspect records, including 
children’s records. 
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l. Transportation checklists (see Appendix L, page 80) and sign in/sign out sheets (see 
Appendix J, page 78) shall be kept on file in the home for the current year plus two 
(2) additional years. 
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G. Nighttime Care  
In addition to the preceding regulations, homes offering nighttime care 
after 7 p.m., shall meet the following regulations: 
 

1. The number and age of children in nighttime care shall not exceed the number and 
age range of children for which the nighttime home is licensed. 
 

2. Bathing  
a. If any child in care is bathed, clean water shall be provided for each child. 

Each child shall be bathed separately. Each child shall be supervised while 
bathing.  

b. Individual soap, individual towel, and an individual washcloth shall be 
provided for each child who is bathed at the home. 
 

3. In addition to requirements for sleeping (See Indoor Area, Equipment and 
Furnishings, Section C., 2., d., page 18): 
  
a. Each child younger than eighteen (18) months of age who receives his/her 

regular night's sleep in a nighttime home, shall sleep alone in a crib.  
b. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of 

Pediatrics, unless the infant has a note from a physician specifying 
otherwise, each infant shall be placed in a supine (on his/her back) 
position for sleeping to lower the risks of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome 
(SIDS).  

c. Each child who is eighteen (18) months of age or older, who receives 
his/her regular night's sleep in a nighttime home, shall sleep in a bed. 
 

4. Each child's toilet articles (such as combs, toothbrushes, etc.) shall be labeled with 
the child's name, kept separate, and kept in sanitary condition. 
 

5. Breakfast shall be served to each child who goes directly to school from nighttime 
care, unless breakfast is provided by the school or by the parent(s)/guardian(s). 
(See Section E., 6., a., (1), page 38, for breakfast requirements.) 

 
6. An evening meal shall be served for each child who is continuing in attendance 

from the day time program. (See Section E., 6., a., (3), page 38, for meal 
requirements.) 
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H. Group Day Care Homes 
 
For purposes of these regulations, a license is required for persons: 
• Providing care for one or more children who are not related to the provider; 
• With or without compensation; 
• Away from the child’s home; 
• For more than four (4) hours in a 24 hour period. 
 

In addition to the preceding regulations (except for Section G., Nighttime 
Care), homes offering group day care for at least seven (7) but no more 
than twelve (12) children, shall meet the following regulations: 
 

 
1. A separate license shall be applied for and obtained prior to offering group day 

care for seven (7) but no more than twelve (12) children. 
2. A group day care home shall have at least the following caregivers: the licensee, 

the assistant caregiver, and at least two (2) substitutes. 
3. Whenever seven (7) or more children are present, at least two (2) adult caregivers 

shall be present and supervising the children. This shall include the licensee and 
the assistant caregiver. If a substitute is used, either the licensee or the assistant 
caregiver shall be present and supervising the children. 

4. No group day care home shall be licensed for more than six (6) children younger 
than twelve (12) months of age. There shall be at least one (1) caregiver present 
and supervising each three (3) children younger than twelve (12) months of age. 

5. The assistant caregiver hired after January 22, 2001 shall meet the same 
educational, medical, age, and character and suitability requirements and 
qualifications as the licensee with the exception of living in the home. 

6. The assistant caregiver shall have at least twelve (12) clock hours of training in 
child care within the first 30 days of employment. Child care training shall 
include clock hours in each of these areas:  
a. child development;  
b. health, safety and universal precautions;  
c. quality child care and licensing;  
d. the child care professional and the family;  
e. language development;  
f. positive discipline and guidance. 

7. The assistant caregiver shall have at least twelve (12) clock hours of child care 
training each year thereafter. Child care training shall include clock hours in each 
of these areas:  
a. child development;  
b. health, safety and universal precautions;  
c. quality child care and licensing;  
d. the child care professional and the family;  
e. language development;  
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f. and positive discipline and guidance. 
 

 8. Pursuant to new changes in the Child Care Development Block Grant (42   
  U.S.C.S. §§9857 et seq,) the Department is required to implement and enforce  
  additional training requirements of all childcare facilities that participate in the  
  Child Care Subsidy Program.   
 
  (a) Within 90 days of employment, the Assistant Caregiver shall have at   
  least one (1) hour of preservice training in each of the following eleven (11)  
  required topic areas: 

(1)  Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including 
 immunization); 

(2)  Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) prevention and use of safe 
 sleeping practices; 

(3)  Medication administration ; 
(4)  Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic 

 reactions; 
(5)  Building and physical premises safety; 
(6)  Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma; 
(7)  Emergency preparedness and response planning; 
(8)  Handling and storage of hazardous materials/correct disposal of 

 bio contaminants; 
(9)  Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect; 
(10) First aid and CPR; 
(11) If applicable, appropriate precautions in transporting children. 

 
Pending completion of all required preservice training, applicants/licensees, 

 substitutes, and assistant caregivers cannot be counted in the   
 staff/child ratio. 

  (b) Thereafter, the Assistant Caregiver shall have at least one (1) hour of annual  
  training in each of the following eleven (11) required topic areas: 

(1)  Prevention and control of infectious diseases (including 
 immunization); 

(2)  Sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) prevention and use 
 of safe sleeping practices; 

(3)  Medication administration; 
(4)  Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and 

 allergic reactions; 
(5)  Building and physical premises safety; 
(6)  Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

 trauma; 
(7)  Emergency preparedness and response planning; 
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(8)  Handling and storage of hazardous materials/correct 
 disposal of bio contaminants; 

(9)  Recognition and reporting of child abuse and neglect; 
(10) First aid and CPR; 
(11) If applicable, appropriate precautions in transporting 

 children. 
  
 9. Required information for the assistant caregiver shall be kept on file in the home.  
  (See Section F., 3., d., page 43, for requirements of caregiver/substitute records.) 
 10. All caregivers shall read and be familiar with the Minimum Standards and written 
  verification of this shall be on file in the home.  
 11. An outdoor play area of at least 600 square feet shall be provided on the grounds.  
  The outdoor play area shall be enclosed by a fence or wall at least four (4) feet in  
  height. 
 12. The licensee shall provide at least four (4) items from each category of play  
  equipment for each age group listed in Section L., Equipment List, page 57. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

49 
Effective September 30, 2019 
 
 



 
I. Group Nighttime Homes 
 

In addition to the preceding regulations including Section G., Nighttime Care) 
homes offering group nighttime care for at least seven (7) but no more than 
twelve (12) children after 7 p.m., shall meet the following regulations: 
 

 
1. Anytime seven (7) or more children are present, at least two (2) adult caregivers 

shall be present and supervising the children. 
 

2. The number and age of children in nighttime care shall not exceed the number and 
age range of children for which the nighttime home is licensed. 

 
3. In addition to requirements for sleeping (See Indoor Area, Equipment and 

Furnishings, Section C., 2., d., page 18): 
  
a. Each child younger than eighteen (18) months of age who receives his/her 

regular night's sleep in a nighttime home shall sleep alone in a crib.  
b. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of 

Pediatrics, unless the infant has a note from a physician specifying 
otherwise, each infant shall be placed in a supine (on his/her back) 
position for sleeping to lower the risks of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome 
(SIDS).  

c. Each child who is eighteen (18) months of age or older, who receives 
his/her regular night's sleep in a nighttime home shall sleep in a bed. 
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J. Corrective and Adverse Actions 
 

Corrective or adverse actions may be imposed by the Department when the licensee 
fails to meet and maintain minimum standards prescribed by the Department. 
Corrective/adverse actions may include, but need not be limited to: deficiency 
reports; corrective action plans; probationary status; restrictions or modifications 
of the provisions of the license/permit, suspension of a license/permit, and 
revocation of a license/permit. 

 
Written notice of the corrective or adverse action shall be posted at each public 
entrance of the child care home. 

 
None of these regulations are to be interpreted to allow a home to operate in violation of 
the minimum standards or out of compliance with the minimum standards. 

 
 
1. Deficiency Report 
 

If an inspection, evaluation, or investigation indicates non-compliance with the minimum 
standards (deficiency), a deficiency report shall be prepared by the Department. A 
deficiency report is prepared in conjunction with or subsequent to a visit to the home, or 
after investigation of a substantiated complaint regarding the home. In any visit to the 
home in which deficiencies are observed or noted, the licensing representative shall 
complete a deficiency report, and discuss the deficiencies observed or noted with the 
licensee or facility representative. A copy of the completed deficiency report shall be 
provided to the licensee or facility representative. No deficiency report shall be completed 
in conjunction with a prelicensing visit. 

 
 
2. Corrective Action 
 

a. If an inspection, evaluation, or investigation indicates continued or repeated non-
compliance with the minimum standards, or if areas of non-compliance indicated 
previously on a deficiency report are not corrected, a corrective action plan may 
be developed to allow the licensee to achieve compliance with the minimum 
standards while continuing to care for children. The corrective action plan shall 
include: a statement of each deficiency; a description of how the deficiency shall 
be corrected; the date by which corrections shall be completed; and the signature 
of the Department's representative and the licensee or facility representative.  

b. During the corrective action period, the licensee shall correct each deficiency (area of 
noncompliance) and shall report the corrections to the Department. The length of 
time the corrective action plan remains in effect shall be determined based on the 
nature of the areas of noncompliance. If the licensee fails or refuses to comply with 
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the minimum standards and the terms of the corrective action plan, the Department 
may initiate adverse action such as probation or revocation of the license/permit.  

c. Requests for changes to the provisions of the license such as increases in licensed 
capacity or changes in the ages of the children received for care shall not be 
granted during the corrective action period. 

 
 
3. Probationary Status 
 

a. If an inspection, evaluation, or investigation indicates non-compliance with the 
minimum standards, or if conditions exist that could pose a hazard to the health 
and safety of the children in care, a period of probationary status may be instituted 
to allow the licensee to achieve compliance with the minimum standards while 
continuing to care for children. At the beginning of the probationary period the 
licensee shall be provided with: a statement of each deficiency; a description of 
how the deficiency shall be corrected; the date by which corrections shall be 
completed; and the signature of the Department's representative and the licensee 
or facility representative. 

 
b. During the probationary period, the licensee shall correct each deficiency (area of 

noncompliance) and shall report the corrections to the Department. The length of 
the period of probationary status shall be determined based on the nature of the 
areas of noncompliance. The maximum period shall be six months. At the end of 
the probationary period, the home’s license shall be returned to active status if the 
home is in compliance with the minimum standards. If the licensee fails or refuses 
to comply with the minimum standards during the probationary period, the 
Department may initiate revocation of the license/permit. 

 
c. Requests for changes to the provisions of the license such as increases in 

licensed capacity or changes in the ages of the children received for care shall 
not be granted during the period of probationary status. 

 
 
4. Restriction or Modification of the Provisions of the License/Permit 
 

a. The right to restrict, limit, or suspend specific activities provided by the child 
day/night care home, such as but not limited to: away-from-the-home activities; 
transportation of the children; swimming. 

 
b. The right to restrict or limit the use of specific areas of the home, such as but not 

limited to: outdoor play areas; bathrooms; rooms used by the children. 
 

c. The right to reduce the licensed capacity of the home or to amend the ages of 
children to be served, due to restricted use of required space or bathroom facilities 
or lack of qualified caregivers. 
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5. Revocation of a License  

(See Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-8). 
 

The Department may revoke or refuse to renew the license of the child care home or 
refuse to issue a full license to the holder of a six-month permit should the licensee: 

 
a. Consistently fail to maintain standards prescribed and published by the Department; 

 
b. Violate the provisions of the license issued; 

 
c. Furnish or make any misleading or any false statements or reports to the 

Department; 
 

d. Refuse to submit to the Department any reports or refuse to make available to the 
Department any records required by the Department in making an investigation of 
the child care facility for licensing purposes; provided, however, that the 
Department shall not revoke or refuse to renew a license in such case unless it has 
made written demand on the person, firm or corporation operating the facility 
requesting such report or reports and such person, firm or corporation fails or 
refuses to submit such records for a period of ten days. 

 
e. Fail or refuse to submit to an investigation by the Department; 

 
f. Fail or refuse to admit authorized representatives of the Department at any 

reasonable time for the purpose of investigation; 
 

g. Fail to provide, maintain, equip and keep in safe and sanitary condition the 
premises established or used for child care as required under standards prescribed 
by the Department, or as otherwise required by any law, regulation or ordinance 
applicable to such facility; 

 
h. Refuse to display its license or permit; 

 
i. Fail to maintain financial resources adequate for the satisfactory care of children 

served in regard to upkeep of premises and provisions for personal care, medical 
services, clothing, learning experience and other essentials in the proper care, 
rearing and training of children; 

 
or 

 
j. Fail to adhere to all terms of the Family/Group Day Care/Nighttime Home 

Agreement required on the Application for a License. 
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6. Suspension of a License  

In accordance with the Code of Alabama 1975, Sections 38-7-11 and 41-22-19(d), the 
Department has the authority to immediately suspend without notice the license/six-
month permit if an inspection by the Department of a licensed child care facility 
discloses any condition, deficiency, dereliction, or abuse, which is, or could be, 
hazardous to the health, safety, or physical, moral, or mental well-being of the children in 
the care of the child care facility being inspected. In this event, the child care facility 
shall not operate during the pendency of any proceeding for a fair hearing or judicial 
review, except under court order. The suspension may remain in effect for a period of no 
longer than 120 days and shall not be renewable. The license shall not be suspended for 
the same or a substantially similar emergency within one calendar year from its first 
suspension unless the emergency could not have been reasonably foreseen during the 
initial 120 day period that such emergency would continue or would likely reoccur 
during the next nine months. When such summary suspension is ordered, a formal 
suspension or revocation proceeding shall also be promptly instituted and acted upon. 

 
 
7. Penalty for Unlicensed Facilities 
 

If the Department representative determines, through investigation, that any person, 
group of persons, or corporation is, or has been, operating a child care facility without a 
license, approval or six-month permit, the results of the investigation shall be reported to 
the Attorney General and to the appropriate District Attorney for prosecution (See Code 
of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-10, 38-7-16, and 38-7-17). 

 
 
8. Refusal to Permit Inspections  

(Code of Alabama 1975, Section 13A-10-3.) 
 

a. A person commits the crime of refusing to permit inspection of property that is 
owned, possessed or otherwise subject to his/her control if a public servant is 
legally authorized to inspect such property and an attempt is being made to 
exercise that authority and he/she:  
(1) refuses to produce the property for a reasonable inspection; or  
(2) refuses to permit a reasonable inspection. 

 
b. For the purposes of this section, “legally authorized inspection” includes any lawful 

search, sampling, testing or other examination of property, in connection with the 
regulation of the defendant’s business or occupation that is authorized by law. 

 
c. Refusing to permit inspection is a Class C misdemeanor (fine of not more than 

$500.00 or imprisonment in county jail for not more than three months). 
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K. Hearings and Appeals 
 
 
 
1. Pre-revocation Hearings 
 

a. If the Department makes the decision to revoke or refuse to renew the license, six-
month permit, or approval, a pre-revocation hearing shall be held in order to 
discuss the intended action and give the licensee/permit holder an opportunity to 
show why the action should not be taken. Notice of the pre-revocation hearing 
and notice of action taken by the Department following the pre-revocation hearing 
shall be sent to the licensee/permit holder by certified mail unless waived. The 
pre-revocation hearing shall be held in accordance with the Administrative Code, 
Chapter 660-1-5, a copy of which may be obtained from the Department on 
request. The pre-revocation hearing does not alter the licensee/permit/approval 
holder’s right to a fair hearing. 

 
b. If the Department finds that danger to the health, safety or welfare of the children 

requires emergency suspension of a license, six-month permit, or approval, the 
licensee/permit/approval holder shall be notified in writing of the reason(s) for the 
decision. The Department may proceed without hearing or upon any abbreviated 
hearing it finds practicable to suspend the license, six-month permit, or approval. 
The suspension shall become effective immediately unless otherwise stated. In 
this event, the child care facility shall not operate during the pendency of any 
proceeding for a fair hearing or judicial review, except under court order. The 
suspension may remain in effect for a period of no longer than 120 days and shall 
not be renewable. The license/permit/approval shall not be suspended for the 
same or a substantially similar emergency within one calendar year from its first 
suspension unless the emergency could not have been reasonably foreseen during 
the initial 120 day period that such emergency would continue or would likely 
reoccur during the next nine months. When such summary suspension is ordered, 
a formal suspension or revocation proceeding shall also be promptly instituted 
and acted upon. 

 
c. No pre-denial hearing is required to be held prior to the denial of an initial 

application for a license. 
 
 
2. Request for a Fair Hearing 
 

a. An aggrieved person may request a fair hearing in the following situations:  
(1) If an application for an initial license is denied;  
(2) If an application for a renewal of a license is denied;  
(3) If any application for an initial license or renewal of a license is not acted 

upon with reasonable promptness, which is defined as sixty (60) days from 
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the date of the receipt by the Department of all information (including but not 
limited to: required forms received; investigations and inspections completed) 
needed to make a decision to grant or deny the license or permit; 
or  

(4) If a license, six-month permit, or approval is revoked. 
 

b. Notice of the opportunity to request a fair hearing shall be given by certified mail. 
 

c. When a pre-revocation hearing has been held, a request for a fair hearing shall be 
filed within fourteen (14) calendar days of the notice of the revocation. Any 
existing license or six-month permit shall remain in effect during the fourteen (14) 
day time period allowed for request of a fair hearing. If a fair hearing is requested, 
the existing license, six-month permit, or approval shall remain in effect until and 
including thirty (30) days after the final decision on the request for a fair hearing. 

 
d. If the Department finds that danger to the health, safety or welfare of the children 

requires emergency suspension of a license or six-month permit, the 
licensee/permit holder shall be notified in writing of the reasons for the decision. 
The existing license or six-month permit shall be suspended immediately or on 
the date specified in the notice of suspension. 

 
e. In all other situations where a pre-action hearing has not been held, a request for a 

fair hearing shall be filed within sixty (60) calendar days of the action (or 
inaction) with which the aggrieved person is dissatisfied. 

 
 
3. Conduct of a Fair Hearing 
 

a. When a pre-revocation hearing has been held, the fair hearing will be conducted 
on the record. No additional evidence or testimony will be admitted unless it can 
be shown that it is material to the issues of the case and could not have been 
presented at the prior hearing with reasonable diligence or that the additional 
evidence was not allowed at the prior hearing due to unlawful procedures. 

 
b. When a pre-action hearing has not been held, the fair hearing is to be conducted in 

accordance with the hearing procedures found in the Administrative Code, Chapter 
660-1-5, a copy of which may be obtained from the Department on request. 
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L. Equipment List 
 

The licensee shall provide a variety of toys, games, and other play equipment appropriate 
to the ages of children specified on the license/permit and to the interests of the children. The 
licensee shall provide at least two (2) items from each category for each age group for which the 
home is licensed or permitted. 
 
1. Equipment for Children Up to 2½ Years 
 

a. Toys For Active/Outdoor 
Play Small wheel toys  
Push and pull toys 
Boxes of assorted sizes  
Swings with safety seat, infant swing  
Sand or digging area, toys for digging, pouring, 
sifting Large Balls 

 
b. Quiet toys Simple 

puzzles Nesting and 
stacking toys Soft dolls 
and clothes Cars, trucks, 
trains  
Large beads or spools to 
string Picture books 

 
c. Art materials 

Paper Non-toxic 
crayons  
Non-toxic water color 
markers Non-toxic play dough 

 
d. Crib toys  

Crib mobiles (for infants younger than 5 
months) Washable teething rings  
Rattle toys 
Squeeze toys 
Soft cuddly toys 
Busy boxes 

 
e. Make-believe Play  

Dolls, and clothes and 
blankets Dress-up clothes  
Homeliving area-pretend kitchen appliances may be made from 
boxes Toys, dishes, pans, spoons, plastic containers with lids 
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Toy telephone  
Puppets 

 

 
2. Equipment for Children 2½ Years up to 6 Years 
 

a. Toys for Active/Outdoor Play  
Sand or digging area with items for digging, filling, sifting, and 
pouring Climbing structure with soft surface underneath  
Wheel 
toys Balls  
Buckets for water play, items for pouring, measuring, floating 

 
b. Toys for Quiet Play 

Puzzles  
Beads or spools and string for 
stringing Peg boards and pegs  
Matching games such as lotto, picture dominoes and other simple 
games Creative construction sets  
Blocks  
Small cars, trucks, boats, trains 

 
c. Make Believe Play  

Dolls, with clothes, blankets, storage area 
Doll stroller  
Doll bed or cradle 
Dress-up clothes  
Home living area-kitchen appliances may be purchased or made from cardboard 
boxes  
Play dishes, plastic baby bottles, pots and pans, measuring 
spoons Puppets  
Sheet or bedspread for making a 
tent Cardboard boxes in assorted 
sizes Mirror  
Toy telephone 

 
d. Water Play 

Dish pan 
Sponges 
Bubble mixture 
Strainers 
Funnels 
Egg beaters  
Small boats and other floating toys 
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e. Art, Books, Music  
Non-toxic art materials - large pencils and crayons, water color markers, paper, 
chalk, blunt-end scissors, paste, glue, playdough, paints (tempera or water color), 
long handled brushes, finger paints  
A variety of age-appropriate books accessible to the 
children A device that plays a variety of age-appropriate 
music Rhythm instruments 

 
f. Nature and Science Materials 

Collections of rocks, leaves, seeds, 
etc. Aquarium with fish (must be 
covered) Magnifying glass  
Magnets  
Measuring equipment 

 
3. Equipment for Children 6 Years and Older 
 

a. Storage  
Children shall have a separate area for storing their personal items and projects. 

 
b. Art, Music, Books  

Non-toxic art materials: a variety of kinds of paper, scissors, glue, crayons, 
markers, chalk, paints, clay, playdough,  
Books and magazines appropriate to the ages of the children A 
device that plays a variety of age-appropriate music. 

 
c. Dramatic Play Props 

Dress-up clothes Dolls 
and dolls clothes 
Costumes and masks 

 
d. Toys for quiet time  

Interlocking manipulative play 
sets Jigsaw puzzles  
Board games and playing cards 

 
e. Equipment for Active/Outdoor 

Play Balls  
Bats Tether 
ball Croquet 
set Badminton 
set 
Horseshoes 
Wheel toys 
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III. APPENDICES 
 
A. Application for a license to operate a family/group day care/nighttime home 
 

DHR-CDC-712  
Revised 10/18  

STATE OF ALABAMA  
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO OPERATE  
A DAY CARE/NIGHTTIME HOME  

 
First Application  Application for Renewal 

 
In accordance with Title 38, Chapter 7, Code of Alabama 1975, application is hereby made for a 
license to operate a: 
 

Family Day Care/Nighttime Home Group Day Care/Nighttime Home  
 
 
Name of Applicant: ___________________________________________________________  

First Middle Maiden Last 
 
List all names you have been known by: ___________________________________________ 
 
Applicant's Date of Birth: ______________________________________________________  

Month Day Year 
 
Social Security Number of Applicant: ____________________________________________  
(NOTE: Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 
Address of Applicant: _________________________________________________________  

Number and Street  City StateZip Code County 

Telephone Number of Applicant: _(_______)_______________________________________ 
    

Name of Home Day Care:_______________________________________________________ 

Name of Applicant's Spouse:_____________________________________________________ 
First  Middle  Last 

 
List all names your spouse has been known by: _____________________________________ 
 
Spouse's date of birth: _________________________________________________________  

Month Day Year 
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Do you own or rent your home? _________________________________________________  
If you rent, attach a written statement from the owner of the home giving permission for you to 
operate a day care/nighttime home. 
 
Will you provide transportation for children in your care? ____________________________ 
 
For what age children will you provide care? _______________________________________ 
 
What days of the week will you provide care? ______________________________________ 
 
What hours of the day will you provide care? _______________________________________ 
 

 
List addresses of all places you have lived in the past five years, if different from your 
present address:  

     

Number and Street City State Zip Code County 

     

     

     
     

 

 
List each person living in your home: 

     

Full Name Date of Relationship Occupation/school Social Security 
 Birth to you attending/attended Number 

     

     

     

     

     

     
     

(NOTE: Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 

 

REFERENCES:  
List at least three (3) persons you have known for at least two (2) years who are not related to 
you or any member of your household by blood, marriage, or adoption. Information must be 
complete and accurate. 
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(1)  Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________  

Last First Middle 
 
Address: _________________________________________________________________________________  

Street City 
 
__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________  

State Zip Code Area Code Telephone Number 
 
 
(2) Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________  

Last First Middle 
 
Address: _________________________________________________________________________________  

Street City 
 
__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________  

State Zip Code Area Code Telephone Number 
 
 
(3) Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________  

Last First Middle 
 
Address: _________________________________________________________________________________  

Street City 
 
__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________  

State Zip Code Area Code Telephone Number 
 

 
Name of Substitute: _________________________________________________________  

First Middle Maiden Last 
 
Substitute's Date of Birth: _____________________________________________________  

Month Day Year 
 
Social Security Number of Substitute: ____________________________________________  
(NOTE: Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 
Address of Substitute: ________________________________________________________  

(Number and Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) (County) 
 
Telephone Number of Substitute: _(_______)______________________________________ 
 

 
Name of Assistant Caregiver, if application is for a group day care/nighttime home: 
 
___________________________________________________________________________  

First Middle Maiden Last 
 

 
Assistant Caregiver's Date of Birth: ______________________________________________  

Month Day Year 
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Social Security Number of Assistant Caregiver: _____________________________________  
(NOTE: Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 
Address of Assistant Caregiver: _________________________________________________  

(Number and Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) (County) 
 
Telephone Number of Assistant Caregiver: _(_______)_______________________________ 
 

 
Name of Second Substitute, if application is for a group day care/nighttime home: 
 
____________________________________________________________________________  

First Middle Maiden Last 
 
Second Substitute's Date of Birth: ________________________________________________  

Month Day Year 
 
Social Security Number of Second Substitute: ______________________________________  
(NOTE: Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 
Address of Second Substitute: __________________________________________________  

(Number and Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) (County) 
 
Telephone Number of Second Substitute: _(_______)________________________________ 
 
 
BACKGROUND INFORMATION: 
 
Child Care:  
Have you ever applied for or held any license or approval or been registered or certified to operate a child care 
facility of any kind in any county, state, or country? ________________ If yes, give details. 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________  
_______________________________________________________________________________  
_______________________________________________________________________________  
______ 
 
Criminal History Background Information Checks:  
In accordance with Alabama law, (Act 2000-775, effective November 1, 2000, the criminal history background 
information check shall be completed on each applicant for a license, each licensee, each adult household member, 
substitute, caregiver, volunteer, and domestic worker, as well as any other person who has contact with the children 
or unsupervised access to the children shall be reviewed. 
 
Current Criminal Charges:  
Are there any current criminal charges against you or any member of your household?  ___________________  
If yes, give details. 
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______________________________________________________________________________  
______________________________________________________________________________  
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Clearance of State Central Registry on Child Abuse/Neglect:  
At the time of initial application, a completed REQUEST FOR CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY 
ON CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT shall be submitted by the applicant and each adult household member. Required 
forms are available from the Department.  
The applicant shall obtain a completed REQUEST FOR CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY ON 
CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT for each caregiver, substitute, volunteer, domestic worker, and any other person who 
has contact with the children or unsupervised access to the children. 
 
EDUCATION AND TRAINING  
If this is your first application:  
Attach a copy of your high school diploma or General Education Diploma (G. E. D.)  
Written documentation of completion of required training in child care and development is required before licensure. 
 

 

AGREEMENT  
I hereby agree that if I am issued a license/permit or renewal of a license to operate a 

family/group day care/nighttime home for children, I will:  
A. Maintain standards prescribed and published by the Department;  
B. Adhere to the provisions of the license or permit issued;  
C. Not furnish or make any misleading or any false statements or reports to the Department;  
D. Submit to the Department any reports or make available to the Department any records required 

by the Department in making an investigation for licensing purposes;  
E. Submit to investigation by the Department;  
F. Admit authorized representatives of the Department at any reasonable time for the purpose of 

investigation;  
G. Provide, maintain, equip and keep in safe and sanitary condition the premises established or used 

for child care as required under standards prescribed by the Department, or otherwise required by 
any law, regulation or ordinance applicable to such facility;  

H. Display the license or permit; and  
I. Maintain financial resources adequate for the satisfactory care of children served in regard to 

upkeep of premises and provisions for personal care, medical services, clothing, learning 
experience and other essentials in the proper care, rearing and training of children. 

 
____________________________________/________  

Signature of applicant date 
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NOTICE OF PENALTY FOR FALSE STATEMENTS 
 

In accordance with Title 38, Chapter 7, Section 16, Code of Alabama 1975, any person, group of persons, 
association or corporation who makes materially false statements in order to obtain a license or permit shall be guilty of a 
misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $100.00 nor more than $1,000.00 or be imprisoned in the county jail no 
longer that one year, or both, and, in case of an association or corporation, imprisonment may be imposed upon its officers 
who knowingly participated in the violation. Understanding the penalties for false statements, I attest that the statements in 
this application are true and correct, to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 
 
NOTE: The application for renewal of a license shall be submitted at least 30 calendar days 
prior to the expiration of the current license. 
 

 
By signing this form, I am affirming that the above statements I have made are true and 
factual to the best of my knowledge; and I am granting permission for all persons, 
organizations, or agencies listed above to be contacted for information regarding my 
background. 
 

___________________________________________________/____________  
Signature Date 

 

 
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
Return the completed application form and any attachments to the _____________________  
County Department of Human Resources at the address below: 
 

__________________________________________ 
 

__________________________________________ 
 

__________________________________________ 
 

__________________________________________ 
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C. Medical report for persons giving care to children  
DHR-CDC – 737 

 
MEDICAL REPORT FOR PERSONS GIVING CARE TO CHILDREN  

  

Name: Date of birth: 
  

Address: Position in child care facility: 
  

   
To the examining medical doctor, physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner:  

This examination is needed to determine my physical ability to care for children, to 
perform services in a child care facility, or to have contact with the children. I hereby 
authorize you to furnish a report of my examination to:  

_______________________________________________________________________  
Name of child care facility or Department of Human Resources 

 
______________________________________________/__________________  

Signature Date  
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
TESTS (to be completed if other verification is not attached):  

Date and result of Intradermal Tuberculin Test (Mantoux): ______________________  
(Required for initial examination only)  

Date and result of chest x-ray if Mantoux was positive: _________________________ 
 
HISTORY of any chronic disease or disability that may affect his/her ability to care for children 

or perform services in a child care facility: Yes 
 

; No  . 
 
PHYSICAL LIMITATIONS that may affect his/her ability to care for children or perform services in a  
child care facility: Yes  ; No    . 
 
If "YES", please explain: ______________________________________________________  
___________________________________________________________________________ 
 
In my opinion, the physical examination reveals that the above-named person is free of any 
infectious or contagious disease and is physically fit to care for children, to perform services in a 
child care facility or to have contact with the children.  
If not, please explain: ________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
____________________________________________________________________/_______  
Signature of medical doctor, physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner / Date 
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Child’s Medical Report  

(This form may be used for household members younger than 19 years of age) 
 
 
 
Child’s Name: ___________________________ Date of Birth: _________________ 
 
Name of Child’s Parent or Guardian: _______________________________________ 
 
Address: _______________________________ Telephone Number: ____________ 
 

 
In addition to a medical report or medical screening, a Certificate of Immunization 
(ADPH-F-IMM-50) is required for each child two months to five years of age and for five 
year olds who are not enrolled in public or private school. 
 

 
History of Allergies: _________________________________________________________ 
 

_______________________________________________________________________ 
 

_______________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
I examined this child on (date) _____________. I find him/her to be in good physical  
condition and free of contagious and infectious diseases, except as noted below. 
 

________________________________________________________________________ 
 

________________________________________________________________________ 
 

________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
__________________________________________________________  
Signature of Physician, Physician’s Assistant, Certified Nurse Practitioner 

 
______________________________________  

Date 
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D. Application form for staff  

DHR –CDC- 1947 
 

APPLICATION FORM FOR STAFF  
(including caregivers, employees, teachers, substitutes, volunteers, cooks, bus drivers, domestic workers)  

Date ____________________________  
Position __________________________  

 
          

Name:  
_____________________________________________________________ 

 
 

   
 

  Last First Middle Maiden (if applicable) 
 

        
 

Address:  Street:______________________________________________________ 
 

  City:_______________________________________________________ 
 

  State:_______________________  Zip Code_______________________ 
 

         
 

         

Telephone Number: ( ) Date of Birth:   
 

        
 

Driver's License Number:  Expiration Date of Driver's license: 
 

        
 

         

EDUCATION:        
 

EDUCATION   School/Institution  Dates Diploma/Degree/  
 

      Attended Certificate  
 

Elementary        
 

        
 

High School        
 

        
 

College        
 

        
 

Graduate        
 

        
 

Other        
 

         
 

           
 
CHILD CARE TRAINING:  
List all courses, workshops, and conferences related to child development and early childhood education. Attach 
additional pages if necessary. Attach copies of certificates received. 

     

Title of course/ Sponsor Location Date(s) Number of 
Workshop/conference    hours 

     

     

     

     
     

 

68 
Effective September 30, 2019 
 
 



 
EMPLOYMENT HISTORY:  
List in order beginning with your most recent employment.  Attach additional pages if necessary. 
         

    Date(s)   Reason for  
Employer Employer's Address Position/Job  Worked   leaving  

         

         

         

         
         

 
REFERENCES:  
List at least three persons who are not related to you by blood, marriage, or adoption. to be contacted as references.  
At least one must be a former employer.  Addresses must be complete and accurate. 
 

 
Name of Former Employer: _____________________________________________________________________  

Last First Middle 
 
Address: _________________________________________________________________________________  

Street City 
 
__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________  

State Zip Code Area Code Telephone Number 
 
 
Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________  

Last First Middle 
 
Address: _________________________________________________________________________________  

Street City 
 
__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________  

State Zip Code Area Code Telephone Number 
 
 
Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________  

Last First Middle 
 
Address: _________________________________________________________________________________  

Street City 
 
__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________  

State Zip Code Area Code Telephone Number 
 

 
Criminal History Background Information Checks:  
In accordance with Alabama law, (Act 2000-775, effective November 1, 2000), the criminal history background 
information check shall be completed on each substitute, caregiver, volunteer, and domestic worker, as well as any 
other person who has contact with the children or unsupervised access to the children shall be reviewed. 
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Current Criminal Charges:  
Are there any current criminal charges against you?  __________________________  
If yes, give details.  
______________________________________________________________________________  
______________________________________________________________________________  
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Clearance of State Central Registry on Child Abuse/Neglect:  
A completed REQUEST FOR CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY ON CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT 
(DHR-DFC-1598) shall be obtained for each caregiver, substitute, volunteer, domestic worker, and any other person 
who has contact with the children or unsupervised access to the children. 
 

 
By signing this form, I am affirming that the above statements I have made are true and 
factual to the best of my knowledge; and I am granting permission for all persons, 
organizations, or agencies listed above to be contacted for information regarding my 
background. 
 

 
_____________________________________________________________________  
Signature Date 
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E. Reference form  

DHR-CDC-1948  
REFERENCE FORM  

Date:_______________  
To: _________________________________  

(Reference Contact) 
 
Address:  _________________________________________________________________  

(Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) 
 

 
__________________________ has applied to work in a child care facility as a  

(Name of applicant)  
_________________________. He/she has given your name as a person to be contacted for  

(Position)  
information regarding his/her character, suitability to work with children and previous or 
prospective job performance. Please answer the following questions and provide any additional 
comments that could be helpful. Your response will be kept confidential. 
 
1. How long have you known this person?_____________________________________ 
 
2. What is/was your relationship with this person? (friend, employer, pastor, neighbor, etc.)  
_________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3. In your opinion, is this person:  Comments:____________________ 

 Dependable? Yes   No  _____________________________ 
 
 Honest? Yes   No  _____________________________ 

 Even-tempered? Yes   No  . _____________________________ 
 

4. To your knowledge, does this person:  Comments:______________ 

 Use drugs?  Yes  No    _______________________ 

 
 
Drink excessively?  Yes   No   _______________________ 

 Use abusive language? Yes   No   . _______________________ 
 
5. If you are/were an employer of this person, describe the type of work the person does/did and 
the quality of the work he/she performed. What was the reason for the person leaving your 
employment, if applicable?  
__________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 
6. If you have young children, would you leave your own child/children in the care of this 
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person?  Yes   No     If no, please explain.  
__________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 
7. To your knowledge, does this person have qualities, traits, or abilities that make him/her 
particularly suitable to care for children?  Yes  No  Please explain. 
__________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 
8. Do you know of any reason why this person might not be suitable to care for children? 
Yes  No  If yes, please explain. 
__________________________________________________________________________  
__________________________________________________________________________ 
 
9. If you have any additional comments about this person you feel would be useful when 
considering his/her application for employment in a child care facility, please state below.  
______________________________________________________________________________  
______________________________________________________________________________  
______________________________________________________________________________  
______________________________________________________________________________  
_______________________________________________________________ 
 

____________________________________________________________________  
Signature Date Telephone number 

 

 
Please return this form to:  

Name of person requesting information:  ___________________________________  
Name of day care/nighttime facility: ______________________________________  
Address of facility:  

Street:  _______________________________________________________  
City: ________________________________________________________  
State: ___________________________ Zip Code:__________________ 

 
Telephone Number: (_______)__________________________________ 

 
 
 
 
If you prefer not to provide a reference for this person, please sign here and return this form 
to the address above.  

___________________________________________________________  
Signature Date 
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F. Verification that staff persons/caregivers have read the Minimum Standards 
 
 
 

VERIFICATION THAT STAFF PERSONS/CAREGIVERS HAVE READ THE 
 

MINIMUM STANDARDS 
 
 
 
 
Written and signed verification stating that staff persons have read the Minimum 

Standards, must be in each staff person's file in the home. 

 

 
I have read the Minimum Standards for Family/Group Day Care and Nighttime 

 
Homes. I understand that I must comply with these regulations while I am employed by 
 
________________________________________________. Failure to do so could result in  

(Name of licensee) 
 
immediate termination of employment. 
 
 
 
 
 

_________________________________________________  
Signature of staff person/caregiver Date 

 

 
_________________________________________________  
Signature of Licensee Date 
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G. Child's preadmission record  

DHR-CDC-739  

CHILD' S PREADMISSION RECORD 
 

This section is to be completed by the child's parent or guardian. This form must be kept in the child's file in the 
Child Care Facility. 
Child’s Name:  Name child is known by:  

    
Child’s birthdate:  Child’s home address:  

    
Name(s) of parent(s)/guardian(s):  Home telephone number: ( ) 

    
Address of parent(s)/guardian(s):    

    
Mother’s employer:  Father’s employer:  

    
Employer’s address:  Employer’s address:  

    
Employer’s telephone number: ( ) Employer’s telephone number: ( ) 

  
List telephone numbers such as beeper, cellular phone, Instructions regarding how parent/guardian may be reached 
etc.  in an emergency:  

    
 

Person(s) to be contacted in an emergency if parent(s)/guardian(s) cannot be reached: 
Name Relationship to child Address  Telephone number 

      

      

      
     

Name of child’s doctor:  Address:  Telephone number: 
    ( )  
Emergency Authorization:  
I give permission for the child care facility to obtain emergency medical treatment, including emergency 
transportation, for my child if I cannot be reached immediately. I agree to be responsible for any emergency 
medical expenses incurred. (If parent/guardian refuses to sign, instructions must be attached stating what 
procedure the facility is to follow in an emergency.)  

____________________________/ _______________  
Signature Date 

 
Form not valid without signature of child’s parent/guardian 

Page one of two-form not valid without second page 
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Child’s Preadmission Record (continued) - page two of two - form not valid without first page 

 
Describe any special needs or instructions below:  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Person(s) the child may be released to:  
Name Relationship to child Address Telephone number 

    

    

    

    

     
 
I understand that the Department of Human Resources does not inspect activities away 
from the child care facility. The licensee of the child care facility assumes full 
responsibility for such activities.  

___________________________________/___________  
Signature of parent/guardian Date 

 
I give permission for my child to participate in:  

(Circle yes or no and sign each line) 
      

Activities away from the facility: yes no 
Signature of parent/guardian Date 

 

  
 

     
 

Transportation provided by the facility: yes no 
Signature of parent/guardian Date 

 

  
 

     
 

Swimming/wading activities provided by 
yes no 

Signature of parent/guardian Date 
 

the facility:   
 

    
 

     
 

      

 
Form not valid without signature of child’s parent/guardian in each space indicated above. 

 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________  
This section is to be completed by the facility's staff. 

 
Child’s first day of attendance: _________________ Child’s withdrawal date: _____________________ 

 
 

Additional information may be attached. 
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H. Authorization for administering medication  

DHR-CDC-1949  
AUTHORIZATION FOR ADMINISTERING MEDICATION/MEDICAL 
PROCEDURES Dear Parent/guardian,  

Your written permission is required to administer medication or medical procedures to your child. Any 
prescription drug or over-the-counter drug sent to the child care facility must be in its original container and must be 
clearly labeled with your child's name, the name of the drug, and directions for administering the drug. A new 
authorization form is needed each week. If it is absolutely necessary for your child to be given medication while at the 
child care facility, please complete the following information. 
 
Child's Name _________________________________________________________________ 
 
Prescription Number __________________________________________________________ 
 
Name of Medication ___________________________________________________________ 
 
Amount of medication to be given at each dosage ___________________________________ 
 
Instructions (how to give or apply, such as given by mouth, apply to skin, inhale, drops in eyes, 
etc.)  
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Time of last dosage given at home ________________________________________________ 
 
Time(s) of dosage(s) to be given at the child care facility ______________________________ 
 
Please give my child the above-named medication at the time(s) and in the amount(s) indicated. 
 

_________________________________________  
Signature of parent/guardian Date  

_______________________________________________________________________________   
To be completed by licensee/staff/caregiver 

   

Date medication given Time medication given Signature of person giving medication 
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I. Injury/illness report form  

DHR-CDC-1950  
INJURY/ILLNESS REPORT FORM  
Child Care Facilities (Homes/Centers)  

Any injury or illness requiring emergency medical treatment, of a child while in the care of the child care 
facility, must be reported to the Department of Human Resources within 24 hours after occurrence, 
followed by a written report within 5 days. This report must be made by the licensee or the person 
responsible for the child. A copy of the report must be kept in the child's file at the child care facility.  

   

Name of Licensee/Operator: Address of Child Care Facility: 
 

 Street: _______________________________ 
 

Family Day Care/Nighttime Home  
 

Group Day Care/Nighttime Home City: _________________ County: _______ 
 

  
 

Child's Name: Child's Date of Birth: 
 

  
 

Date injury/illness occurred: Time injury/illness occurred:  

 
 

  
 

Name of Child's Parent/guardian: Time Parent/guardian was contacted: 
 

  
 

    
Describe the injury/illness, including type, severity, location: (If reporting an injury, describe how it occurred)  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Give the name, address, and telephone number of the physician or emergency medical personnel contacted, 
the time and date contact was made, and the physician's comments and diagnosis regarding the injury/illness:  
 
 
 
 
 

 

Was the Department of Human Resources notified within 24 hours? Yes No 

Signature of Staff Person/Caregiver in Charge: Date:  
   

Signature of Licensee: Date:  
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J. Sign in/sign out form  

DHR-CDC-1951  
SIGN IN/SIGN OUT FORM  

Child Care Facilities (Homes/Centers) 
 
Each child must be signed in at each arrival and signed out at each departure. Time of arrival and departure must be 
indicated on the form. The signature of the parent, guardian, or other designated person is required. Initials are not 
acceptable. 
 
Name of Licensee/Facility: ____________________________ Date: ____________________  
 
     

 Time  Time  
Child's Name in Signature out Signature 
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K. Public notice form  
 
 
 
 
 

PUBLIC NOTICE 
 

 

A copy of the Minimum Standards for  

Family/Group Day Care Homes and Nighttime 
Homes-Regulations, and Procedures may be obtained 
by contacting the Department of Human Resources.  

Address: Department of Human Resources 

Child Care Services Division 

50 Ripley Street 

Montgomery, AL 36130 
 
 

Telephone number: 1-866-528-1694 
 
 
 
 

Complaints regarding known or suspected violations 
of the Minimum Standards, may be reported to the 
Department of Human Resources at the address and 
telephone number above. 

 
 

Information regarding substantiated licensing 
complaints and violations of the Minimum Standards 
may be obtained from the Department of Human 
Resources at the address and telephone number above.  
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L. Transportation checklists  

DHR-CDC-1952  
FIELD TRIP TRANSPORTATION CHECKLIST  

This form is to be used when children are transported, including walking or transportation by vehicle, to and 
from the child care home on field trips or other activities away from the child care facility (home or center).  
INSTRUCTIONS  
Use a check { 


 } to show the child is present at each location. A check { 


 } must be placed in the box for each child showing the child entered 

the vehicle at the facility or left the facility, arrived at the destination or left the vehicle at the destination, entered the vehicle at the destination or 
left the destination, and left the vehicle at facility upon return or returned to the home. Use the letter {A} in the appropriate box to show the child 
is absent.  
Use the comments section to explain any unusual situation, such as the parent picks the child up at the field trip location.  
The checklist must be completed at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist.  
The driver must check each seat in the vehicle at each location to verify that no child is left on the vehicle.  
A separate checklist must be used for each trip and for each vehicle. 
 Destination:   Date of trip:  

 

         
 

 Driver’s name:   Time of trip:  
 

      From:  To: 
 

 Name(s) of staff/adult riders:  Ages of children:  
 

         
 

          

  Child's Name  Depart Arrive at Depart Arrive at Comments 
 

  (first and last)  Facility Destination Destination Facility  
 

        
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

         
 

           
Signature: Signature: Driver’s signature: 

 
 
The checklist must be completed at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist. The 
driver must check each seat in the vehicle at each location to verify that no child is left on the vehicle. 
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DHR-CDC-1953  
BEFORE/AFTER SCHOOL TRANSPORTATION CHECKLIST  
This form is to be used when children are transported from the child care facility to school or from school to the child care facility.  
INSTRUCTIONS  
Use a check { 


 } to show the child is present at each location. A check { 


 } must be placed in the box for each child showing the child entered the vehicle at the child care facility and left the vehicle at the school, if child care 

facility to school transportation is provided. A check { 


 } must be placed in the box for each child, showing the child entered the vehicle at the school and left the vehicle at the child care facility.  
Use the letter {A} in the appropriate box to show the child is absent.  
Use the comments section to explain any unusual situation, such as the parent picks the child up at school or the facility only transports the child in the afternoon.  
A separate checklist must be used for each vehicle. 

 Destination (school):    Date (week of):     
 Driver’s name:    Time of trip:   From: To: 
 Name (s) of caregivers/adult riders:    Ages of children:     
  Monday Tuesday  Wednesday   Thursday  Friday 
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Fa
ci

lit
y  
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Child’s name 

 
rr iv e p a r t A rr iv e 

comments 

 
ri v e p a rt r ri v e 

comments 

 
ri v e p a rt r ri v e 

comments 

 
rr iv e p a r t A rr iv e 

comments  

  

                  

                     
 

 

   
a.m. signature 

 
a.m. signature 

 
a.m. signature 

 
a.m. signature  

 Signature of Person     
 

 completing checklist in a.m.         
 

  
 p.m. signature  p.m. signature  p.m. signature  p.m. signature  

 Signature of Person 
 

 completing checklist in p.m.         
 

   
Driver’s signature a.m. 

 
Driver’s signature a.m. 

 
Driver’s signature a.m. 

 
Driver’s signature a.m.  

      
 

   Driver’s Signature p.m.  Driver’s Signature p.m.  Driver’s Signature p.m.  Driver’s Signature p.m. 
 

 
The checklist must be completed 

       
 

 at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist. The driver must check each seat in the vehicle at each location to verify that no child is left on the vehicle. 
  

  
 

Fa
ci

lit
y 

Sc
ho

o
l Sc

ho
o

l Fa
ci

li
ty
 

 
 

 
 

    

comments  

    
 

     
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
a.m. signature 
 
p.m. signature 
 
Driver’s signature a.m. 
 
Driver’s Signature p.m. 
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DHR-CDC-1954 
 

WEEKLY TRANSPORTATION CHECKLIST  
This form is to be used when children are transported from their home to the child care facility and from the child care facility to their home.  
INSTRUCTIONS  
Use a check { 


 } to show the child is present at each location. A check { 


 } must be placed in the box for each child showing the child entered the vehicle at their home and left the vehicle at the child care facility, 

if transportation from home is provided. A check { 


 } must be placed in the box for each child, showing the child entered the vehicle at the child care facility and left the vehicle at their home.  
Use the letter {A} in the appropriate box to show the child is absent.  
Use the comments section to explain any unusual situation, such as the parent picks the child up at the child care home, or the child care facility only transports the child in the afternoon.  
The checklist must be completed at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist.  
A separate checklist must be used for each vehicle.   
Destination (school):  
Driver’s name:  
Name (s) of caregivers/adult riders:  

   Monday  
       

Child’s name  H
om

e 
Fa

ci
lit

y 
Fa

ci
lit

y 
H

om
e 

comments 
  D

ep
a

rt
 

A
rr

iv
e D

ep
a

rt
 

A
rr

iv
e 

 
       

        

 
 
 
 

Tuesday   

H
om

e 
Fa

ci
lit

y 
Fa

ci
lit

y 
H

om
e 

comments 
D

ep
a

rt
 

A
rr

i
ve

 
D

ep
a

rt
 A
rr

i
ve

  
     

     

  
Date (week of):  
Time of trip: From:  
Ages of children:  

Wednesday   

H
om

e 
Fa

ci
lit

y 
Fa

ci
lit

y 
H

om
e 

comments  H
om

e 

D
ep

a
rt
 

A
rr

i
ve

 
D
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a
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 A
rr

i
ve

   D
ep

a
rt
 

       

       

 
 

To: 
 

Thursday   

Fa
ci

lit
y 

Fa
ci

lit
y 

H
om

e 

comments 

A
rr

i
ve

 
D

ep
a
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A
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i
ve

  
    

    

 
 
 
 

Friday   

H
om

e 
Fa

ci
lit

y 
Fa

ci
lit

y 
H

om
e 

comments 

D
ep

ar
t 

A
rr

i
ve

 
D

ep
a

rt
 

A
rr

i
ve

  
     

      
Signature of Person  a.m. signature a.m. signature a.m. signature a.m. signature a.m. signature 
completing checklist in a.m.       

       
Signature of Person  p.m. signature p.m. signature p.m. signature p.m. signature p.m. signature 
completing checklist in p.m.       

       
  Driver’s signature a.m. Driver’s signature a.m. Driver’s signature a.m. Driver’s signature a.m. Driver’s signature a.m. 
       
  Driver’s Signature p.m. Driver’s Signature p.m. Driver’s Signature p.m. Driver’s Signature p.m. Driver’s Signature p.m.  
 

The checklist must be completed at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist. The driver must check each seat in the vehicle at each location to verify that no child is left on the vehicle.  
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