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I. Legal Authority 
 

 

The legal authority for regulation of child care is based on: 

 

Child Care Act of 1971-Title 38, Chapter 7, Code of Alabama 1975, 38-7-1 et. seq.  (Acts 

1971, 3rd Ex. Sess. No. 174, p. 4423, Sections 1-18). 

 

Child Care and Development Block Grant (CCDBG) 2014. 

 

Child Care Safety Act #2018-278. 

 

U. S. Consumer Product Safety Improvement Act of 2008. 

 

Title 41, Chapter 22, Section 19, 41-22-19, see also 41-22-1 et. seq.   

 

Title 26, Chapter 14, 26-14-1 et. seq.  

  

Administrative Code, Section 660-5-27 

 

Hearings and Appeals  (See Section K, page 53.) 
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II. Regulations 
 

 

 These regulations prescribe minimum standards for family day care homes.  

Additional regulations for family nighttime homes, group day care homes and group 

nighttime homes are prescribed in Sections G., H., and I. 

 

For purposes of these regulations, a license is required for persons: 

 Providing care for one or more children who are not related to the provider; 

 With or without compensation; 

 Away from the child’s home; 

 For more than four (4) hours in a 24 hour period. 

 

 

A. Definitions 

 

In the context of these regulations, the following definitions apply. 

 

 1. ADULT.  Any person 19 years of age or older. 

 

 2. ASSISTANT CAREGIVER.  A person providing care and guidance of the 

children in a group day care/nighttime home, under the supervision of the 

licensee. 

 

 3. CAREGIVER.  A person providing care and guidance of the children in the 

home. 

 

 4. CHARACTER AND SUITABILITY.  The person maintains 

business/professional, family, and community relationships that are characterized 

by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and concern for the well-being of others to the 

extent that the person is considered suitable to be entrusted with the care, 

guidance, and protection of children. 

 

 5. CHILD.  Any person under 19 years of age. 

 

 6. CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT.  According to the Code of Alabama 1975,  

Section 26-14-1, abuse is defined as harm or threatened harm to a child's health or 

welfare.  Harm or threatened harm to a child's health or welfare can occur through 

nonaccidental physical or mental injury, sexual abuse or attempted sexual abuse 

or sexual exploitation or attempted sexual exploitation.  "Sexual abuse" includes 

the employment, use, persuasion, inducement, enticement, or coercion of any 

child to engage in, or having a child assist any other person to engage in any 
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sexually explicit conduct or any simulation of the conduct for the purpose of 

producing any visual depiction of the conduct; or the rape, molestation, 

prostitution, or other form of sexual exploitation of children, or incest with 

children as those acts are defined by Alabama law.  "Sexual exploitation" includes 

allowing, permitting, or encouraging a child to engage in prostitution and 

allowing, permitting, encouraging or engaging in the obscene or pornographic 

photographing, filming, or depicting of a child for commercial purposes.  Neglect 

is defined as negligent treatment or maltreatment of a child, including the failure 

to provide adequate food, medical treatment, supervision, clothing or shelter. 

 

 7. COMMISSIONER.  The Commissioner of the State Department of Human 

Resources. 

 

 8. DAY CARE HOME.  A child care facility which is a family home and which 

receives not more than six (6) children for care during the day. 

 

 9. DEPARTMENT.  The State or County Department of Human Resources. 

 

 10. DEPARTMENT'S REPRESENTATIVE.  An employee or designee of the 

State or County Department of Human Resources, acting as the authorized agent 

of the Commissioner in carrying out the responsibilities and duties specified in 

Code of Alabama 1975. 

 

 11. FACILITY FOR CHILD CARE OR CHILD CARE FACILITY.  A facility 

established by any person, group of persons, agency, association or organization, 

whether established for gain or otherwise, who or which receives or arranges for 

care or placement of one or more children, unrelated to the operator of the facility, 

apart from the parents, with or without the transfer of the right of custody, in any 

facility as defined in this chapter, established and maintained for the care of the 

children. 

 

 12. FAMILY HOME.  A family home is the dwelling in which the applicant/licensee 

resides.  (Residence is determined by address, mortgage payment or rent, voting 

district, property taxes, etc.) 

 

 13. GROUP DAY CARE HOME.  A child care facility which is a family home and 

which receives at least seven but no more than twelve children for care during part 

of the day where there are at least two adults present and supervising the 

activities. 

 

 14. LAWFUL SCHOOL AGE.  For purposes of these regulations, this term includes 

children who are five (5) years of age on or before September 1, (or the date on 

which school begins in the enrolling district pursuant to Code of Alabama 1975, § 

16-28-4) of a given year.  This definition corresponds with the minimum age at 

which a child is entitled to admission to public school kindergarten. 
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 15. LICENSEE.  Any person, group of persons, or corporation, to whom the license 

or permit is issued. 

 

 16. NIGHT CARE FACILITY.  A child-care facility which is a center or a family 

home receiving a child or children for care after 7:00 p.m.  A "night care facility" 

is further defined as follows: 

  a. NIGHTTIME HOME.  A family home which receives no more than six 

children for care after 7 p.m. 

  b. GROUP NIGHTTIME HOME.  A child care facility which is a family 

home which receives at least seven but no more than twelve children for 

nighttime care, where there are at least two adults present and supervising 

the activities. 

 

 17. PARENT(S)/GUARDIAN(S).  The parent(s), legal guardian(s), or legal 

custodian of the child. 

 

 18. RELATED.  Any of the following relationships by blood, marriage, or adoption: 

parent, grandparent, brother, sister, stepparent, stepbrother, stepsister, half brother, 

half sister, uncle or aunt, and their spouses. 

 

 19. SUBSTITUTE.  A person, at least 19 years of age, who meets the qualifications 

and is on call if the licensee must be away from the home. 

 

 20. SUPERVISION.  Responsibility for each child and accountability for his/her care 

by giving direct and full attention to the children at all times. 
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B. Licensing Procedures 

 

1. Application for a License 

 

 a. Day care or nighttime care shall not be provided or advertised prior to issuance of a 

license or a six-month permit. 

 

 b. Any person, group of persons, or corporation may obtain an application for a license 

to operate a child care facility by contacting the Department of Human Resources. 

 

 c. An application for a license to operate a child care home shall be made on the 

required form and shall include all requested information.  (See Appendix A, page 

58, for required form.) 

 

 d. Applications for a license shall not be transferred from one person to another or 

from one location to another. 

 

 

2. Prohibited Advertisement 

 

a. No person, unless licensed or holding a six-month permit, may cause to be 

published any advertisement which solicits a child or children for care.  To solicit a 

child or children for care means, among other similar actions or terms, to invite, 

appeal, plead, lure, beg, request, offer, suggest, promote, or implore.  Both free and 

paid advertisement is prohibited. 

 

b. Prohibited advertisement includes, but is not limited to, printed and published 

material; descriptive literature and aids; speeches, talks, and presentations; flyers; 

booklets and pamphlets; signs and posters; illustrations and depictions; 

newspaper, radio, television, magazine, Internet, and/or other media advertising; 

letters and direct mail advertising; and any materials used by agents.  Prohibited 

advertisement also includes printed and illustrated material or descriptions on 

cups, mugs, pens, pencils, or other objects. 

 

c. The following activity does not constitute prohibited advertisement: 

(1) Advertisement using a name and address seeking employment applications 

for staff positions; provided that a license application has been filed with 

the Department and the advertisement includes the clearly visible phrase, 

“license application pending.” 

(2) “Under Construction,” “Renovation,” or “Remodeling” signs (with or 

without name and address) on the premises; provided that a license 

application has been filed with the Department and the sign includes the 

clearly visible phrase, “license application pending.” 
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(3)  A market survey to determine the need for child care in a locality.  Using 

the name and address of the business or individual is permitted so long as 

it does not solicit a child or children for care or promote the business. 

 

 

3. Examination and Investigation of the Application 

 

 a. After receipt of the completed application, an inspection of the home and grounds 

and an investigation of the applicant and the household members will be made by a 

Department representative. 

 

 b. The inspection and investigation will be based on minimum standards and 

regulations as prescribed and published by the Department. 

 

 c. When minimum standards have been met, a license will be issued. 

 

 

4. Denial of an Application 

 If the application is denied, the Department will notify the applicant in writing, indicating 

the reason(s) for the Department's decision. 

 

 

5. Withdrawal of an Application 

 The applicant may withdraw the application either verbally or in writing, at any time during 

the licensing process. 

 

 

6. Six-Month Permit 

 

 a. The Department may, at its discretion, issue one six-month permit to allow 

reasonable time for the applicant to become eligible for a full license.  A new 

application is not required at the expiration of the six-month permit.  The initial 

application remains pending during the six-month permit period.  A two year license 

may be issued when the home meets minimum standards. 

 

 b. The Department's decision to issue a six-month permit may be made after the 

applicant has met all Minimum Standards except for providing one-half of the 

required equipment for each age group for which the home is 

licensed/permitted.  (See Section L., page 55, for equipment list.) 

 

 c. The application shall be denied and the home shall close if Minimum Standards 

have not been met at the expiration of the six-month permit. 

 

 

7. Provisions of a License/Permit 
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 a. A license issued by the Department is valid for two years unless revoked or 

suspended by the Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee. 

 

 b. A six-month permit issued by the Department is valid for six months unless revoked 

or suspended by the Department or voluntarily surrendered by the licensee. 

 

 c. The number of children in the home or in the care of the licensee, including children 

on the premises or on field trips, at any given time, shall not exceed the number 

specified on the license/permit.  Children shall be counted as follows: 

 (1) Children younger than lawful school age (see definition, Section A., 14., 

page 9), who live in the home shall be counted when they are in the home or 

on the premises.   

 (2) Children of lawful school age and older, who live in the home, shall not be 

counted. 

 (3) Children younger than twelve (12) years of age, who are visiting in the home 

during the hours of child care, who are not accompanied and supervised by 

an adult, whether related to the licensee or not, shall be counted when they 

are in the home or on the premises. 

 

 d. The age range of the children received for care shall conform to the specifications 

on the license/permit. 

 

 e. No home shall be licensed for more than three (3) children younger than twelve (12) 

months of age.  Exceptions may be granted by the Department to allow for multiple-

birth sibling groups (such as triplets) to be received for care. 

 

 f. The Department and its authorized representatives shall have the right to inspect:  

  (1) any child care facility seeking a license; 

  (2) any child care facility seeking a renewal of a license;  

  (3) any child care facility which is operating under a license or a six-month 

permit. 

  Such inspection shall be made at any reasonable time, without prior notice, and 

may include the entire home and grounds.  Prelicensing visits/inspections may be 

made by appointment. 

 

 g. The Department shall have the right to immediately suspend, limit, or restrict the 

license/permit of a child care home when conditions hazardous to the health and 

safety of the children exist, including but not limited to: 

  (1) The right to restrict, limit, or suspend specific activities provided by the 

child care home, such as but not limited to:  away-from-the-home activities; 

transportation of the children; swimming. 

  (2) The right to restrict or limit the use of specific areas of the home, such as but 

not limited to:  outdoor play areas; bathrooms; rooms used by the children. 
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  (3) The right to reduce the number of children specified on the license/permit 

due to restricted use of required space or bathroom facilities or lack of 

qualified caregivers. 

 

 h. The current license/permit shall be posted in a place in the home easily viewed by 

the parent(s)/guardian(s). 

 

 i. The license/permit shall not be transferred to another person or to another location 

and is void if the licensee moves to another dwelling. 

 

 j. Violators of provisions or standards prescribed by the Department shall be guilty of 

a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or be 

imprisoned in the county jail not longer than one year, or both.  (Code of Alabama 

1975, § 38-7-16 (7).)  

 

8. Renewal of a License 

 

 a. An application for renewal of a license shall be submitted to the Department at least 

thirty (30) calendar days prior to the expiration of the current license.  The 

application for renewal shall be made on the Department's required form(s).  (See 

Appendix A, page 58, for a copy of required form.)  It is the sole responsibility of 

the licensee to obtain the required form(s) and submit the form(s) to the Department 

on time. 

 

 b. The home's license continues in effect until a decision is made by the Department on 

the application for renewal, provided that: 

  (1) the application for renewal is received by the Department at least thirty (30) 

calendar days prior to expiration of the license; 

  (2) the application is complete and accurate. 

 

 c. If the application for renewal is not received on time (not received at least thirty (30) 

calendar days prior to expiration of the license) or if the application is not complete 

and accurate, the license will expire on the expiration date shown on the license.  If 

the licensee continues to operate after the expiration date, the licensee will be 

reported to the District Attorney and the Attorney General for operating an 

unlicensed child care facility. 

 

 d. If, upon inspection, minimum standards are not being met, corrective or adverse 

action shall be taken. (See Section J., page 49, for additional information.) 

 

9. Department Visits and Consultation 

 

 a. Visits to the home are made by representatives of the Department to determine if 

minimum standards are being met, to investigate complaints and to provide 

consultation. 
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 b. Visits made for the purpose of determining if minimum standards are being met or 

to investigate a complaint shall be made without prior notice.  Prelicensing visits 

may be made by appointment. 

 

 c. The licensee shall be informed of complaints of alleged licensing violations made to 

the Department against the licensee. 

 

 d. The licensee shall not be informed of the identity of the complainant by the 

Department. 
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C. The Home 

 

 

1. Location 

 

 a. Each home licensed shall be the primary residence of the applicant/licensee.  

(Primary residence is determined by address, mortgage payment/rent, voting district, 

property taxes, etc.) 

 

 b. Child care shall be provided within the family home, not in a separate building. 

 

 c. If rental property is used, a written statement from the owner of the property 

granting permission for the applicant to operate a child care home, shall be obtained 

by the applicant and submitted to the Department at the time of initial application. 

 

 d. At the time of initial application, a written statement of compliance with applicable 

zoning requirements shall be obtained and submitted to the Department.  If no 

zoning laws or ordinances are applicable, the applicant shall submit a written 

statement verifying he/she has checked with the local governing authority and there 

are no applicable zoning laws or ordinances. 

 

 e. At the time of initial application, a written inspection report, with no violations 

cited, shall be obtained from the fire department with jurisdiction or from the state 

fire marshal, and submitted to the Department.  The home shall comply with the fire 

code, building and safety codes adopted by the State Fire Marshal’s Office. 

Volunteer fire department approvals and/or inspections will not be accepted. 

 

 f. A written inspection report from the health department may be requested at the 

discretion of the Department at any time. 

 

 g. Subsequent fire and health department inspection reports, after the initial inspection, 

may be requested by the Department and copies shall be submitted to the 

Department by the licensee. 

 

  

2. Indoor area 

 The home and grounds shall be maintained in a clean and safe condition. 

 

 a. Injury prevention 

  (1) The home shall be free from apparent hazardous conditions. 

  (2) The home shall have electricity, water, gas (if used for cooking/heating), and 

a waste disposal system (city sewage or septic tank). 

  (3) The licensee shall have a working telephone in the home.  
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  (4) All poisons, cleaning supplies, flammable and other dangerous substances 

(including but not limited to anything that states, “Keep out of Reach of 

Children”) shall be kept under lock and key or combination lock when not in 

use. 

  (5) Animals in the home 

   (a) Animals or breeds of animals that have shown aggressive behavior, 

shall not be kept in the home or on the grounds. 

   (b) Animals that are not aggressive but could pose a threat to the health 

and safety of the children shall be kept in an area away from the 

children. 

   (c) Animals shall not be allowed in areas of food storage, food 

preparation or food service during the hours of child care. 

   (d) A current certificate of rabies vaccination shall be on file in the home 

for any animal required by law to be vaccinated. 

  (6) If fans are used for ventilation, blades within reach of children shall be 

enclosed for safety. 

  (7) All exposed electrical outlets shall have protective covers.  The covers shall 

be large enough to prevent being swallowed. 

  (8) During hours of operation, all guns/firearms shall be unloaded and stored 

under lock and key or combination lock.  Ammunition shall be stored 

separately from guns/firearms, under lock and key or combination lock. 

  (9) All stairs used by the children shall have handrails within child’s reach. 

  (10) Smoking/tobacco use is prohibited on the premises during the hours of child 

care, including but not limited to cigarettes, cigars, electronic cigarettes, 

pipes, etc. 

  (11) All medication shall be kept under lock and key or combination lock. 

  (12) Clear glass doors, such as patio and storm doors, shall be plainly marked at 

child level, to prevent accidental impact. 

  (13) Tools and machinery shall be kept in an area where the children cannot get 

to them. 

  (14) Hot tubs shall be securely covered or drained during the hours of child care. 

  (15) In the event of power failure or other emergency situations, the licensee shall 

have a flashlight in working condition, in a convenient location. 

  (16) Consumption of alcohol is prohibited during hours of child care. 

  (17) Non-prescription narcotic or illegal substances are prohibited in the home or 

on the grounds. 

 

 b. Cleanliness and health 

  (1) The bathroom shall be clean. 

  (2) Foot stools with non-skid legs shall be available for handwashing and 

toileting. 

  (3) If potty chairs are used, they shall be promptly emptied into the toilet and 

washed and disinfected after each use. 

(4) The diapering area shall be a washable surface and shall be cleaned and 

disinfected after each use. 
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  (5) Sufficient clean, dry diapers and clothing shall be provided for each 

infant/toddler. 

  (6) Wet or soiled diapers and other clothing shall be changed promptly. 

  (7) Disposable diapers shall be placed in a covered, plastic-lined trash container 

inaccessible to children. 

  (8) Reusable (cloth) diapers shall be rinsed in the toilet, placed in a plastic bag, 

and stored out of reach of children. 

(9) The licensee and each caregiver shall wash his/her hands with soap and 

warm running water after diapering each child, after assisting with toileting, 

and after contact with bodily fluids.  Individual disposable paper towels shall 

be used for hand drying. 

(10) The licensee and each caregiver shall use single-use disposable gloves for 

diapering.  Clean gloves shall be used for diapering each child.  Used gloves 

shall be disposed of in a covered, plastic-lined container, inaccessible to 

children, and shall be disposed of daily. 

  (11) Each child’s hands shall be washed after diapering and toileting.  

  (12) No child shall be left unattended while being diapered. 

  (13) The diapering area shall be separate from areas used for serving, preparing, 

or storing food. 

  (14) The home shall be maintained so as to prevent and eliminate rodent and 

insect infestation. 

  (15) Garbage and trash shall be removed at intervals so as not to create a 

nuisance or a menace to health.  Garbage shall be stored in fly-proof and 

watertight containers with tight fitting covers. 

  (16) Bedding, toys, utensils, toilets, and sinks used by a sick child or household 

member shall be cleaned and disinfected before being used by another 

person. 

  (17) All windows and doors used for ventilation shall be screened.  

 

 c. Space 

  (1) There shall be at least thirty-two (32) square feet of usable indoor floor 

space for each child the home is licensed or permitted to serve. 

  (2) All rooms used for the care of children shall be well-lighted, adequately 

ventilated, and comfortably cooled or heated as appropriate to the season. 

  (3) The home shall have space for providing privacy to a child as needed, and to 

members of the licensee's household, whether for resting, studying, or other 

purposes. 

  (4) Space shall be available for the temporary care and isolation of a sick child 

or members of the licensee's household. 

  (5) The home shall have clean and appropriate facilities for the protection, 

storage, preparation, and serving of food. 

  (6) Space shall be provided for storage of each child's personal belongings, such 

as, but not limited to boxes, plastic bins, milk crates, etc. 

 

 d. Equipment and furnishings 
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  (1) The licensee shall provide a crib, playpen, bed, or cot for each child who 

requires rest or sleep during the hours while in care. 

   (a) No child shall sleep with an adult. 

   (b) Each child younger than twelve (12) months of age shall sleep alone 

in a crib or play pen.  If cribs are used, cribs manufactured with slats 

no more than 2³/8 inches apart shall be provided.  A waterproof 

mattress which fits snugly against all sides of the crib shall be 

provided.  Mattresses shall be in good condition, with no tears or 

exposed foam rubber or other stuffing. 

                                    (c)       In accordance with the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Act of 2008, 

any crib provided by a child care facility must meet federal safety 

standards. 

                                                  i.  To verify compliance with federal standards, any crib     

manufactured prior to June 28, 2011, there shall be a 

Certificate of Compliance on file in the facility and the 

crib must have a label attached to show the date of 

manufacture. 

    ii.   Any crib manufactured after June 28, 2011, must have a 

label attached to show date of manufacture. 

   (d) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy 

of Pediatrics, unless the infant has a note from a physician 

specifying otherwise, each infant shall be placed in a supine (on 

his/her back) position for sleeping to lower the risks of Sudden 

Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS). 

 (e) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy 

of Pediatrics, when an infant can easily turn over from the supine 

(back) to the prone (front) position, he/she shall be put down to 

sleep on his/her back, but allowed to adopt whatever position 

he/she prefers for sleep 

 (f) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy 

of Pediatrics, each infant (younger than twelve (12) months) shall be 

placed in a prone (front) position part of the time he/she is awake 

and observed.  “Tummy time” helps muscle development and 

reduces the tendency of back positioning to flatten the back of the 

infant’s head. 

(g) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy 

of Pediatrics, unless a physician specifies the need for a positioning 

device that restricts movement within the child’s bed, such devices 

shall not be used. 

 (h) In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy 

of Pediatrics, soft materials are prohibited in the infant’s sleeping 

environment (younger than twelve (12) months). 

 ((1)) Soft materials or objects, such as pillows, quilts, comforters, 

or sheepskins, shall not be placed under a sleeping infant. 
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 ((2)) Soft objects, such as pillows, quilts, comforters, bumper 

pads, sheepskins, stuffed toys, and other gas-trapping objects 

shall be kept out of the infant’s sleeping environment. 

   (i) No infant shall be put to sleep on a sofa, soft mattress, or other soft 

surface. 

   (j) Each child between 12 and 18 months of age shall sleep alone in a 

crib or play pen or on a low cot. 

   (k) Two children older than 18 months of age, of the same sex, may 

share a double or larger size bed, or may sleep alone on a cot or bed. 

   (l) The beds, cots, cribs or play pens shall be clean, sanitary and free of 

hazards.  They shall be maintained in good condition. 

   (m) Bedding shall be adequate and appropriate to the season.  Sheets and 

covers shall be laundered weekly or more often when soiled.  Clean 

sheets shall be provided for use by each child.  Clean covers shall be 

provided for use by each child older than twelve (12) months of age. 

   (n) Beds, when not in use by household members, may be used for 

children in care provided that they are completely covered with clean 

linens before being used by the children. 

   (o) Waterbeds shall not be used by a child at any time. 

   (p) Upper or top bunk beds shall not be used by a child at any time. 

   (q) No child shall sleep or nap on the floor. 

  (2) The licensee shall provide a variety of toys, games, and other play 

equipment appropriate to the ages of children specified on the license/permit 

and to the interests of the children.  The licensee shall provide at least two 

(2) items from each category for each age group for which the home is 

licensed or permitted, as listed in Section L., page 55, the Equipment List.   

  (3) Recorded or printed materials shall be viewed by the licensee for 

appropriateness before being shown to children.  All materials with sexually 

explicit, frightening or violent content shall be kept in an area inaccessible to 

children. 

   

 

3. Outdoor Area 

 

 The home and grounds shall be maintained in a clean and safe condition. 

 

 a. Outdoor play area 

  (1) Children shall be supervised at all times. 

  (2) The outdoor play area shall be free from apparent hazardous conditions. 

  (3) There shall be at least one outdoor play area of at least 300 square feet on the 

grounds.  The outdoor play area shall be enclosed by a fence or wall at least 

four (4) feet in height, free from sharp, protruding edges, except where 

prohibited by federal regulations.  Written documentation shall be submitted 

to the Department.   
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  (4) The licensee shall provide at least two (2) different items of active/outside 

play equipment listed in Section L., page 55, Equipment List, for each age 

group specified on the license/permit.   

  (5) Outdoor play equipment, which is not designed to be portable, shall be 

securely anchored so that it cannot be tipped over by an adult. 

  (6) Concrete or asphalt shall not be used under outdoor play equipment, except 

wheel toys. 

  (7) The outdoor play area shall be free of any stacked wood, construction 

materials, lumber, or firewood. 

  (8) Stairs or steps used by the children shall have handrails within child’s reach. 

 

 b. Injury prevention 

  (1) The home and grounds shall be free from apparent hazards including, but 

not limited to: 

    abandoned automobiles; 

    unused household appliances; 

    uncovered wells and cisterns; 

    stacked lumber with exposed nails; 

    and explosives. 

  (2) Tools and machinery shall be inaccessible to the children in care. 

  (3) All poisons shall be kept in a locked area (lock and key or combination 

lock). 

  (4) Animals or breeds of animals that have shown aggressive behavior shall not 

be kept in the home or on the grounds. 

  (5) Animals that are not aggressive but could pose a threat to the health and 

safety of the children shall be kept in an area away from the children. 

  (6) A current certificate of rabies vaccination shall be on file in the home for any 

animal required by law to be vaccinated. 

  (7) Water hazards on the grounds or adjacent to the grounds shall be 

inaccessible to the children, including but not limited to lakes, ponds, 

waterfalls, fountains and/or other standing water devices. 

 

 c. Swimming and wading 

 

 NOTE:  The Department of Human Resources does not inspect activities away 

from the home, including swimming and wading activities. The licensee shall 

assume full authority and responsibility for away from the home activities. 

 

 If the licensee provides activities away from the home, a written statement, signed 

by each child's parent(s)/guardian(s), shall be on file in the home prior to the 

child's participation is such activities.  The statement shall indicate that the 

parent(s)/guardian(s) has/have been informed the Department of Human 

Resources does not inspect activities provided away from the home and that the 

licensee assumes full responsibility for such activities. 
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  (1) When a swimming pool (above ground or in-ground), two (2) feet or more 

in depth is accessible to the area used for child care, the pool shall be 

enclosed by a fence or a solid wall which has no doors or windows.  The 

sides of an above ground pool shall not be considered a fence or wall.  The 

fence or wall shall be at least four (4) feet in height, with a locking gate.  The 

gate and all areas of access shall remain locked at all times the pool is not in 

use. 

   (a) If children are allowed in the pool area, additional supervision shall 

be required.  The adult to child ratio shall be: 

    (i) one adult caregiver for each child younger than 2½ years; 

    (ii) one adult caregiver for every three (3) children 2½ years up 

to 6 years of age; 

    (iii) one adult caregiver to every five (5) children 6 years of age 

and older. 

   (b) A person with a current American Red Cross Lifeguard Training 

Certificate shall be in the pool area at all times when the pool is in 

use.  A copy of the current American Red Cross Lifeguard Training 

Certificate shall be on file in the home.  

   (c) The pool shall be maintained in a clean and safe condition. 

  (2) When a wading structure less than two (2) feet in depth is available to the 

children, there shall be continuous supervision by an adult caregiver.  The 

wading pool shall be filled with clean water prior to each day's usage.  The 

wading pool shall be emptied when not in use. 

  (3) The licensee shall be present during any swimming/wading activities. 

  (4) Written permission for participation in swimming/wading activities from 

each child's parent(s)/guardian(s) shall be on file in the home if 

swimming/wading is provided. 

 

 

4. Transportation 

 

 NOTE:  The Department of Human Resources does not inspect activities away from the 

home.  The licensee shall assume full authority and responsibility for away from the 

home activities. 

 

 If the licensee provides activities away from the home, a written statement, signed by 

each child's parent(s)/guardian(s), shall be on file in the home prior to the child's 

participation is such activities.  The statement shall indicate that the 

parent(s)/guardian(s) has/have been informed the Department of Human Resources does 

not inspect activities provided away from the home and that the licensee assumes full 

responsibility for such activities. 

 

 a. The licensee shall be responsible for children whom they transport during the hours 

of care. 
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 b. When the licensee provides transportation to and from the home or another 

designated location, the licensee shall be responsible for picking the child up at the 

designated location and delivering the child to the care of the designated person. 

 

c. A transportation checklist shall be used any time children are transported, walking 

or by vehicle, to account for each child at every location.  (See Appendix L, page 78, 

for required form.) 

 

 d. The licensee shall not transport any child in a vehicle without the written consent of 

the child’s parent(s)/guardian(s). 

 

 e. No child shall be left in a vehicle without adult supervision. 

 

 f. The driver of the vehicle shall have a valid driver's license. 

 

 g. Doors of the vehicle shall be locked at all times when the vehicle is moving. 

 

 h. All passengers and the driver shall be secured in a seat belt or a child passenger 

restraint system: 

  (1) Each child shall be properly secured using an aftermarket or integrated child 

passenger restraint system meeting applicable state and federal motor 

vehicle safety standards.  Each child passenger restraint system shall be 

appropriate for the age and size of the child.   

  (2) Each child younger than one (1) year of age or weighing less than twenty 

(20) pounds shall be secured in an infant only or a convertible seat used in a 

rear facing position which is properly anchored to the vehicle, installed and 

used according to the manufacturer's instructions and maintained in good 

condition.     

(3) Each child younger than five (5) years of age or weighing less than 40 

pounds shall be properly secured in a convertible seat in the forward facing 

position or in a forward facing seat which is properly anchored to the 

vehicle, installed and used according to the manufacturer's instructions and 

maintained in good condition.   

(4) Each child younger than six (6) years of age shall be properly secured in a 

booster seat which is properly anchored to the vehicle, installed and used 

according to the manufacturer's instructions and maintained in good 

condition. 

 (5) Each child six (6) years of age and older shall be secured in an individual      

            seat belt, as prescribed by law, which is properly anchored to the vehicle.  

  

i. Children shall not be transported in the front seat of any vehicle with a passenger 

side air bag. 

 

 

5. Emergency procedures 
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a. In the event of an emergency situation, the licensee shall maintain a list of names 

and telephone numbers pertaining to the children in care, assistant caregiver and 

substitutes. The list shall be readily known and accessible to all caregivers.  The list 

shall include the name and telephone number of each child's parent(s)/guardian(s), 

each child's responsible relative and each child's doctor. 

 

b. The name and telephone numbers for law enforcement, fire department, hospital, 

poison control and the Department of Human Resources shall be posted. 

 

c. A plan for the evacuation and care of the children including but not limited to fire, 

tornado, serious accident or injury, or power failure shall be established and posted 

in a conspicuous place in the home.  The licensee shall inform substitutes and all 

assistant caregiver(s) of his/her duties and responsibilities in case of emergency.  A 

written statement, signed by each substitute and assistant caregiver, verifying that 

he/she has been informed of emergency procedures, shall be on file in the home. 

 

d. The licensee, substitute and each assistant caregiver shall have current Infant-Child 

(Pediatric) Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification (CPR) and a current First 

Aid Certificate.  Copies of the certification and/or certificates shall be on file in the 

home. 
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D. Licensee and Members of the Household 

 

 

1. Health 

 The health of the applicant/licensee and of the members of the household shall not be 

detrimental to the physical and mental well-being of the children in care. 

 

 a. Initially, the applicant/licensee shall provide a medical report, on the required form, 

(see Appendix B, page 64, for required form) from a licensed practicing medical 

doctor, physician's assistant (as defined in Section 34-4-290 (4), Code of Alabama 

1975), or a certified nurse practitioner.  The initial report shall be dated within six 

(6) months prior to the date of the initial application and shall document the date 

(shall also be within six (6) months) and result of a tuberculin skin test or chest x-

ray.  The medical report shall attest to the physical ability of the applicant/licensee to 

care for children and the person's freedom from infectious or contagious diseases.  

The statement shall be signed by a licensed practicing medical doctor, a physician's 

assistant, or a certified nurse practitioner and shall be on file with the Department.  

A copy of the medical statement shall be kept on file by the applicant/licensee. 

 

 b. At least every two (2) years after the date of the initial medical report the licensee 

shall obtain a report (see Appendix B, page 64, for required form) from a licensed 

practicing medical doctor, physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner, which 

attests to the licensee's freedom from infectious or contagious diseases and to his/her 

physical ability to care for children.  The report shall be submitted to the 

Department.  A copy shall be kept on file in the home. 

 

 c. A medical report (see Appendix B, page 64, for required form) from a licensed 

practicing medical doctor, physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner, dated 

within six (6) months prior to the date of the initial application, shall be submitted 

initially for each household member.  The medical report shall document the date 

(shall also be within six (6) months) and result of a tuberculin skin test or chest x-

ray.  At least every four (4) years after the date of the initial medical report, each 

member of the household shall submit another medical report, signed by a licensed 

practicing medical doctor, physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner.  Each 

report shall indicate the person's physical condition and freedom from infectious or 

contagious diseases. 

 

 d. In addition to the medical report, for each child from two (2) months to five (5) 

years of age, living in the home, a valid State of Alabama Certificate of 

Immunization, a valid Alabama Certificate of Medical Exemption, or a valid 

Alabama Certificate of Religious Exemption shall be submitted to the Department.  

A copy shall be kept on file in the home. 
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 e. A medical report (see Appendix B, page 64, for required form) from a licensed 

practicing medical doctor, or physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner, 

shall be submitted initially (dated within six (6) months prior to the date of the 

initial application) and at least every two (2) years after the date of the initial report, 

on all substitutes, assistant caregivers, and household domestic workers who have 

contact with the children in care or with food served to the children in care.  The 

medical report shall document the date (shall also be within six (6) months) and 

result of a tuberculin skin test or chest x-ray.  Each report shall indicate the person's 

physical condition and freedom from infectious or contagious diseases. 

 

f. An additional medical or psychological evaluation or a drug screening may be 

required at the discretion of the Department's representative, based on information 

that raises reasonable suspicion.  A release to allow the department representative to 

confer directly with the doctor or professional performing the evaluation shall be 

provided by the applicant/licensee upon request.  "Reasonable suspicion" is defined 

as follows:  Belief based upon evidence of past or present behavior that reasonable 

grounds exist to review the employee, staff, or licensee, including board members, 

suitability and fitness to provide care for children.   

 

 g. A licensee/caregiver who shows indications of a physical, emotional, or mental 

condition which could be detrimental to the children in care or which would prevent 

satisfactory performance of duties shall not continue giving care to the children until 

a written statement from the examining medical doctor, indicating that the 

licensee/caregiver is able to care for the children, is submitted to the Department.  In 

such situations, the substitute may care for the children until the condition is cleared. 

 

 

2. Character and Suitability 

 

 a. Applicants/licensees (see definition, Section A., 15., page 10), household members, 

caregivers (see definition, Section A., 3, page 8), substitutes, domestic workers, 

volunteers, or other persons who have contact with the children in care or 

unsupervised access to the children in care shall be of good moral character.  

Information regarding the character and suitability of applicants for a license and all 

adult household members shall be reviewed by the Department at the time of the 

initial application for a license.  Subsequent character and suitability reviews shall 

be conducted at the discretion of the Department.  Evidence that an 

applicant/licensee, household member, caregiver, substitute, domestic worker, 

volunteer, or other person who has contact with the children or unsupervised access 

to the children, is of unsuitable character may be the basis for the denial of an initial 

application, denial of an application for renewal of a license, suspension of a 

license/permit, or revocation of a license or six-month permit. 
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 b. The applicant/licensee shall conduct a character and suitability review, as set forth 

below, of substitutes, caregivers, domestic workers, volunteers, and other persons 

have contact with the children or unsupervised access to the children. 

 

 c. Factors to be considered in determining character and suitability shall include 

but need not be limited to: 

  (1) References 

   (a) At the time of initial application, each applicant for a license and 

each adult household member shall provide the Department with the 

names, addresses, and telephone numbers of at least three persons 

who are unrelated to the applicant or household member by blood, 

marriage, or adoption.  These persons shall be contacted by the 

Department to determine the applicant/household member's 

character, community reputation, work history, and suitability to care 

for children or to have contact with children.  The Department may, 

at its discretion, contact additional sources who can attest to the 

applicant/household member's character and suitability to care for 

children or to have contact with children. 

   (b) The applicant/licensee shall obtain at least three written references 

for each current and prospective caregiver, substitute, domestic 

worker, volunteer, or other person who has contact with the children 

or unsupervised access to the children.  References shall attest to the 

person's character, community reputation, work history, suitability to 

care for children or to have contact with the children.  Reference 

contacts shall not be related to the person by blood, marriage, or 

adoption.  Written references shall be kept on file in the home.  (See 

Appendix E, page 69, for required reference form.) 

  (2) Clearance of State Central Registry on Child Abuse/Neglect 

   (a) At the time of initial application, a completed REQUEST FOR 

CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY ON CHILD 

ABUSE/NEGLECT shall be submitted by the applicant and each 

adult household member.  Results shall be kept in the Department's 

files. 

   (b) The applicant shall obtain a completed REQUEST FOR 

CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY ON CHILD 

ABUSE/NEGLECT for each assistant caregiver, substitute, 

volunteer, domestic worker, and any other person who has contact 

with the children or unsupervised access to the children.  Results 

shall be kept on file in the home.    

          (c) A REQUEST FOR CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL 

REGISTRY ON CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT shall be updated every 

five (5) years.  Additional request may be required based on the 

discretion of the Department.  



 

 

Effective Date November 30, 2018 

  

28 

  (3) Criminal History Background Information Checks 

   (a) In accordance with Alabama law, (Act 2000-775, Code of Alabama 

1975, § 38-13-1 through 12, the criminal history of each applicant 

for a license, each licensee, each adult household member, substitute, 

assistant caregiver, volunteer, and domestic worker, as well as any 

other person who has contact with the children or unsupervised 

access to the children shall be submitted. This information must be 

updated every five (5) years. 

   (b) Upon receipt of a determination of unsuitability, the affected 

individual shall be terminated from employment or volunteer work 

in the home. 

 (c) The Department shall suspend or revoke the license or deny the 

initial application or the application for renewal if the 

applicant/licensee, household member or another person in the home 

receives a determination of unsuitable character. 

(d) If a suitability determination letter is received by the licensee from 

the Department’s Criminal History Check Unit stating an individual 

is suitable for employment based on the absence of any disqualifying 

convictions, the licensee shall make his or her own determination 

regarding employment or volunteer work.  No right to employment 

is created by the issuance of a letter stating an individual is suitable 

for employment. 

   (e) The licensee shall inform the Department of any criminal 

convictions and current criminal charges involving the licensee, 

household members, substitutes, caregivers, domestic workers, and 

other persons who have contact with the children or unsupervised 

access to the children, which occur after a license/permit is obtained. 

Such reports shall be made within 24 hours and followed by a 

written report within five (5) days.  (See Section F., 2. Page 41, 

Reports to the Department for details.)  This information shall be 

kept on file by the Department. 

  (4) Evidence of Unsuitable Character 

   (a) Examples of evidence which may make an applicant/licensee, 

household member, assistant caregiver, substitute, domestic worker, 

volunteer, or any other person, unsuitable to hold a license/permit or 

have contact with the children or unsupervised access to children, 

include but are not limited to the following: 

    ((1)) any felony conviction in this or any other state; 

    ((2)) theft and other financial crimes related to business activities; 

    ((3)) misdemeanor convictions in this or any other state; 

    ((4)) operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of or 

while impaired by the use of intoxicating liquor or drugs; 

    ((5)) offenses involving the reckless operation of a motor vehicle 

at an excessive speed; 

    ((6)) a crime involving the possession of a controlled substance; 
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    ((7)) operating a child care facility without a 

license/permit/exemption; 

    ((8)) refusal to cease operations of an unlicensed child care 

facility;  

    ((9)) a history of consistent failure to maintain minimum standards 

while operating a child care facility; 

    ((10)) refusal or failure to cooperate in any Department 

investigation or inspection; 

    ((11)) making false or misleading statements or reports to the 

Department; 

    ((12)) past history of the individual regarding his/her truthfulness; 

    ((13)) the individual’s ability to care for children; 

   (b) Indicated (founded or substantiated) reports of adult or child 

abuse/neglect (with or without criminal convictions) in this or any 

other state.   

   (c) Evidence in item (a) ((1)) through ((13)) and item (b) above, will be 

evaluated to determine whether or not it constitutes a danger to the 

children based on the seriousness of the crime, the existence of 

extenuating circumstances, the propensity to recommit the crime, 

and evidence of rehabilitation since the crime was committed. 

   (d) An application for a license shall be denied or a license or permit 

shall be suspended or revoked if the applicant/licensee, a household 

member, substitute, assistant caregiver, domestic worker, volunteer, 

or any other person who has contact with the children or 

unsupervised access to the children, is determined to be of unsuitable 

character to work with children, to have contact with children or to 

have unsupervised access to children. 

 

3. Qualifications 

 

 a. Applicants for an initial license shall have a high school diploma or G. E. D. 

(general education diploma).  Homes licensed before January 22, 2001 are exempt 

from this requirement as long as the license remains current. 

 

 b. The licensee shall be at least 19 years of age. 

 

d. Prior to initial licensing, the applicant/licensee shall submit to the Department a 

current Infant-Child (Pediatric) Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification (CPR) 

and a current First Aid Certificate. 

 

d. The licensee shall submit an updated Infant-Child (Pediatric) Cardiopulmonary 

Resuscitation Certification (CPR) and an updated First Aid Certificate to the 

Department when these certifications and/or certificates expire. 
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e. Prior to initial licensing, the applicant/licensee shall have at least twenty-four (24) 

clock hours of training in child care and development through participation in 

workshops, meetings, recorded/printed materials or one to one consultation.  

Written documentation shall be submitted to the Department.  Child care training 

shall include at least four (4) hours in each of these areas: 

(1) child development; 

(2) health, safety and universal precautions; 

(3) quality child care and licensing; 

(4) the child care professional and the family; 

(5) language development; 

  (6) positive discipline and guidance. 

Training in CPR and First Aid shall not be counted toward required training hours. 

 

f. Thereafter, the licensee shall have at least twenty (20) clock hours of training related 

to child care each year.  Documentation of training shall be on file in the home.  

Child care training shall include hours in each of these areas: 

(1) child development; 

(2) health, safety and universal precautions; 

(3) quality child care and licensing; 

(4) the child care professional and the family; 

(5) language development; 

  (6) positive discipline and guidance. 

Training in CPR and First Aid shall not be counted toward required training hours.   

 

 

4. Financial Resources 

There shall be financial resources available for the satisfactory care of children served in 

regard to upkeep of the home and the provisions for nutritious meals, adequate and safe 

recreational equipment, educational materials and required arrangements for comfortable 

rest or sleep. 

 

 

5. Substitutes 

 The licensee shall have at least one (1) substitute.  Another licensed child care provider 

shall not be a substitute.  Substitutes shall care for the children in the licensee's home. 

 

 a. Substitutes shall be at least 19 years of age. 

 

 b. Substitutes shall have a high school diploma or a general education diploma         

(G. E. D.).  Substitutes designated before January 22, 2001 are exempt from this 

requirement. 

 

 c. The licensee shall give the Department the name(s), age(s), address(es) and 

telephone number(s) of the substitute(s). 
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 d. For each substitute, the following information shall be on file in the home: 

  (1) name; 

  (2) age; 

  (3) address; 

  (4) telephone number; 

  (5) required medical form, including TB test or chest x-ray; 

  (6) reference data; 

  (7) verification of education; 

  (8) documentation of a current Infant-Child (Pediatric) Cardiopulmonary 

Resuscitation Certification (CPR) and a current First Aid Certificate; 

  (9) character and suitability information (see Section D., 2., page 26); 

  (10) written verification that he/she has been informed of emergency procedures; 

  (11) written verification that he/she has read the Minimum Standards. 

 

 

6. No outside work or school 

 During the hours of child care, the licensee shall not work outside the home or attend 

school.  No other activities that take time and attention away from the children shall be 

performed in the home during the hours of child care, such as but not limited to home 

schooling, selling or providing products/services and/or educational requirements.  

Household duties related to the care of the children shall be performed as necessary. 
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E. Care of the Children 
 

 

1. Supervision of the Children 

 The children shall be supervised at all times.  The licensee shall be responsible for the 

care and supervision of the children at all times. 

 

 

2. Infants and children shall be handled gently. 

The licensee and each caregiver shall support each infant's head while lifting and 

holding the infant.  Rough or harsh handling is prohibited, including but not limited 

to:  shaking; lifting or jerking by one or both arms; pushing; pulling; forcing or 

restricting movement; lifting or moving by grasping clothing; covering an infant's 

or child's mouth, face or head, etc.   

 

 

3. Health 

 

 a. Immunizations 

  Each child two (2) months up to five (5) years of age and five (5) year olds who are 

not enrolled in public or private school kindergarten shall have a valid State of 

Alabama Certificate of Immunization on file in the home on the child's first day of 

attendance and the Certificate shall be kept current thereafter unless one of the 

following certificates is on file in the home: 

  (1) A valid Alabama Certificate of Medical Exemption.  

   OR: 

  (2) A valid Alabama Certificate of Religious Exemption.  

 

 b. Observations 

  Each child shall be observed for illness and injuries upon his/her arrival at the child 

care home, and if possible, shall be observed in the presence of his/her 

parent(s)/guardian(s). 

 

 c. Illness or injury 

  (1) The licensee shall report promptly to the child's parent(s)/guardian(s): 

   (a) Any injury, suspected illness or other changes observed in the health 

of their child; 

   (b) Any exposure to a contagious disease, so that the child may be 

observed for symptoms of the disease. 

  (2) No child who is ill shall be admitted to the home.  This regulation is not 

intended to require the exclusion of children in violation of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (ADA).  The Department of Human Resources is not 

the enforcement agency for the ADA.  Determinations of illness may be 

based on:  the child's inability to participate in the home's activities; the 

need for additional care that cannot be provided without taking time and 
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attention away from the other children; signs of serious or contagious 

disease or condition, such as but not limited to fever, diarrhea, vomiting, 

unexplained rash, scabies, head lice; a physician's diagnosis requiring that 

the child be separated from other children. 

  (3) Isolation and removal 

   (a) Any child in attendance who becomes ill, has a contagious disease 

or condition, or suffers an injury that requires professional medical 

attention shall be separated promptly from the group, but shall 

have continuous supervision.  Toys, bedding, equipment and 

bathroom facilities used by an ill child or adult shall be cleaned and 

disinfected prior to use by another person. 

   (b) The ill or injured child's parent(s)/guardian(s) shall be notified 

immediately and required to come for, or arrange for another 

designated person to come for the child. 

   (c) If the parent(s)/guardian(s) or person designated by the 

parent(s)/guardian(s) cannot be reached or if the injury or illness is 

severe, the licensee shall obtain emergency medical treatment. 

  (4) Contagious diseases/conditions 

   (a) When a contagious disease/condition (a disease/condition which 

can be transmitted or spread from person to person) has been 

introduced into the home, parent(s)/guardian(s) of each exposed 

child shall be notified. 

   (b) The licensee shall urge parent(s)/guardian(s) to notify the licensee 

when their child is known to have been exposed to a contagious 

disease/condition outside the home. 

 

 d. Medication/Medical Procedures 

  (1) No medication or medical procedures (prescription or over-the-counter) 

shall be administered without a written, signed, authorization form from the 

child's parent(s)/guardian(s).  Blanket authorization forms are prohibited. 

The authorization form shall include time(s) and date(s) to be administered, 

dosage, storage instructions, and specific directions for administering the 

medication/medical procedure, such as give by mouth, apply to skin (such as 

but not limited to sunscreen, bug spray, hand sanitizer), inhale, drops in 

eyes, etc.  An authorization form shall be valid for no more than seven (7) 

days, unless accompanied by a written physician’s statement.  (See 

Appendix H, page 74, for required form.)  

  (2) Any prescription drug or over-the-counter drug sent to the home shall be in 

its original container.  Prescription drugs shall have a pharmacy label or 

shall be accompanied by a physician’s written instructions.  Over-the-

counter drugs shall be clearly labeled with the child's name and directions 

for administering the drug.  A measuring device (if the medication requires 

measuring) shall be provided for each child's medication. 

  (3) All medication (children's or household member's) shall be kept under lock 

and key or combination lock. 
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  (4) Medicines/drugs shall be returned to the child's parent(s)/guardian(s) or 

disposed of properly when no longer needed. 

  (5) Time and date of all medication dosages or medical procedures administered 

by the licensee/caregiver shall be documented, in writing, signed by the 

person administering the medication or medical procedure (initials not 

acceptable), and kept in the child's file in the home. (See Section F., 3., g., 

page 43, for children's records requirements.)  Copies shall be made 

available to the child's parent(s)/guardian(s) on request. 

 

 

4. Care of Infants 

 

 a. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 

unless the infant has a note from a physician specifying otherwise, each infant 

shall be placed in a supine (on his/her back) position for sleeping to lower the 

risks of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS). 

 

 b. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 

when an infant can easily turn over from the supine (back) to the prone (front) 

position, he/she shall be put down to sleep on his/her back, but allowed to adopt 

whatever position he/she prefers for sleep. 

 

 c. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 

each infant (younger than twelve (12) months) shall be placed in a prone (front) 

position part of the time he/she is awake and observed.  “Tummy time” helps 

muscle development and reduces the tendency of back positioning to flatten the 

back of the infant’s head. 

 

d. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 

unless a physician specifies the need for a positioning device that restricts 

movement within the child’s bed, such devices shall not be used. 

 

 e. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatrics, 

soft materials are prohibited in the infant’s sleeping environment (younger than 

twelve (12) months). 

  (1) Soft materials or objects, such as pillows, quilts, comforters, or sheepskins, 

shall not be placed under a sleeping infant. 

 (2) Soft objects, such as pillows, quilts, comforters, bumper pads, sheepskins, 

stuffed toys, and other gas-trapping objects shall be kept out of the infant’s 

sleeping environment. 

 (3) No infant shall be put to sleep on a sofa, soft mattress, or other soft surface. 

 

f. The diapering area shall be a washable surface and shall be cleaned and disinfected 

after each use. 

 



 

 

Effective Date November 30, 2018 

  

35 

 g. Sufficient clean, dry diapers and clothing shall be provided for each infant/toddler. 

 

 h. Wet or soiled diapers and other clothing shall be changed promptly. 

 

 i. Disposable diapers shall be placed in a covered, plastic-lined trash container 

inaccessible to children. 

 

j. Reusable (cloth) diapers shall be rinsed in the toilet, placed in a plastic bag, and 

stored out of reach of children. 

 

k. The licensee and each caregiver shall wash his/her hands with soap and warm 

running water after diapering each child, after assisting with toileting, and after 

contact with bodily fluids.  Individual disposable paper towels shall be used for hand 

drying. 

 

l. The licensee and each caregiver shall use single-use disposable gloves for diapering. 

Clean gloves shall be used for diapering each child.  Used gloves shall be disposed 

of in a covered, plastic-lined container, inaccessible to children, and shall be 

disposed of daily. 

 

 m. Each child’s hands shall be washed after diapering and toileting.  

 

 n. No child shall be left unattended while being diapered. 

 

 o. The diapering area shall be separate from areas used for serving, preparing, or 

storing food. 

 

 p. Infants shall be handled gently.  The licensee and each caregiver shall support 

each infant's head while lifting and holding the infant.  Rough or harsh handling is 

prohibited, including but not limited to:  shaking; lifting or jerking by one or both 

arms; pushing; pulling; forcing or restricting movement; lifting or moving by 

grasping clothing; covering an infant's mouth, face or head, etc.   

 

 

5. Child Abuse/Neglect Reporting 

 

 a. The licensee and any other caregivers are required by law, (Code of Alabama 1975, 

§ 26-14-1 through 26-14-13), to report known or suspected child abuse or neglect to 

the County Department of Human Resources or the local chief of police, or county 

sheriff.  The report shall be made immediately by telephone or direct oral 

communication, followed by a written report, containing all known information. 

 

 b. Any person making a report in good faith is immune from any civil or criminal 

liability. 

 



 

 

Effective Date November 30, 2018 

  

36 

 c. The law further provides that all reports to the Department of Human Resources and 

certain other records of child abuse and neglect are considered confidential under 

penalty of law. 

 

 d. The licensee, household members, and all caregivers shall cooperate with the 

Department personnel on any child abuse or neglect investigation, including 

providing information to workers and allowing access to children and records. 

 

 

6. Meals and Snacks  

 

 a. The licensee shall provide breakfast or a morning snack, a mid-day meal and at least 

one afternoon snack each day for the children in care. No child shall be deprived of 

a meal or snack if he/she is in attendance at the time the meal/snack is served. 

  (1) Breakfast, if served, shall include at least the following: 

   (a) fruit and/or vegetable; 

   (b) whole grain rich or enriched bread or bread product; 

   (c) fluid milk. 

  (2) Snacks shall include at least two of the following four choices: 

   (a) fluid milk; 

   (b) meat or meat alternate; 

   (c) fruits and/or vegetables; 

   (d) whole grain rich or enriched bread or bread products. 

  (3) Meals shall include at least the following: 

   (a) meat or meat alternate; 

   (b) vegetables/fruits (one vegetable and one fruit); 

   (c) whole grain rich or enriched bread or bread product; 

   (d) fluid milk. 

 

 b. Formula or food for infants and other special diets recommended or prescribed by a 

physician shall be prepared as directed by the parent(s)/guardian(s).  Special foods 

for any child shall be clearly labeled with the child's name and stored as directed. 

 

 c. Formula, powdered or concentrated, shall be prepared by the parent(s)/guardian(s). 

 

 d Fluid (liquid) milk shall be served.  No powdered milk shall be used for drinking. 

 

e. Small hard candies and nuts shall not be served to children younger than four 

years of age. 

 

f. Foods with a shape and consistency that may cause choking shall be prepared 

appropriately for the age and ability of the child.  The following foods shall be 

served only under close supervision:  peanut butter; popcorn; small pieces of raw 

vegetables; raisins; seeds; grapes (cut in half); foods with bones, meats (cut in 
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pieces small enough to prevent choking); and hot dogs (cut length-wise, then 

chopped in small pieces, not cut in circular pieces). 

 

 

7. Food Service 

 

 a. The licensee, each caregiver, and each child shall wash his/her hands with soap and 

warm running water before eating, preparing, or serving foods.  Individual 

disposable paper towels shall be provided for drying hands. 

 

 b. Feeding chairs shall be provided for infants.  Feeding chairs and tables on which 

food is served shall be thoroughly cleaned and disinfected prior to and after snacks 

and meals.  Each child's food shall be served from an individual dish or napkin and 

shall not be placed directly on tables. 

 

 c. Each infant and toddler shall be encouraged to experiment with self-feeding with 

his/her hands or a spoon.  Utensils shall be provided for each child who feeds 

himself/herself.  Disposable utensils and cups shall be used only under close 

supervision. 

 

 d. All prepared formula and food brought from the child's home shall be labeled with 

the child's name and properly stored.  Milk and prepared formula shall be placed 

immediately in the refrigerator.  Previously opened baby food jars shall not be 

accepted by the licensee.  All formula remaining in the bottle after a feeding shall be 

discarded. 

 

 e. Each infant shall be held when fed from a bottle.  Bottles shall not be propped. 

 

 f. The size of servings shall be adequate to meet each child's needs.   

 

 g. Food, including dessert or milk, shall not be forced on or withheld from a child. 

 

 h. Each child shall be seated while eating. 

 

 

8. Food protection and preparation 

 

a. Food shall be in good condition. 

 

b. No home-canned/preserved foods shall be used. 

 

 c. Food shall be protected from contamination during storage, preparation, and 

serving. 
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 d. All food preparation surfaces and utensils shall be thoroughly cleaned before use. 

 

 e. Once food has been served to a child, portions of leftover food shall not be served 

again. 

 

 f. Tableware, cooking utensils, and all food contact surfaces shall be thoroughly 

cleaned after each use. 

 

 g. Animals shall not be allowed in food storage, food preparation, or food service areas 

during hours of child care. 

 

 h. Floors in food preparation and service areas shall be swept or vacuumed daily and 

mopped as needed to maintain cleanliness. 

 

 

9. Personal Belongings 

 

a. The licensee shall require the parent(s)/guardian(s) to provide appropriate seasonal 

clothing for each child to permit a change when necessary. 

 

b. Sufficient clean, dry diapers and clothing shall be provided for each infant/toddler.  

Wet or soiled diapers and other clothing shall be changed promptly. 

 

 c. Adequate space shall be available to each child for storing his/her personal 

belongings. 

 

 

10. Disciplinary Practices 

 

 a. Discipline shall be appropriate to the age and developmental level of the children. 

 

 b. The following disciplinary practices are prohibited: 

  (1) Corporal or physical punishment is prohibited, including, but not limited to: 

 spanking; shaking; slapping; kicking; pushing; biting; pinching; hitting; 

thumping; hair pulling; or ear pulling; 

  (2) Verbal abuse is prohibited, including but not limited to:  yelling; shouting; 

name calling; shaming; making derogatory remarks about a child or a child's 

family; using language that is inappropriate, offensive, threatens, humiliates, 

or frightens a child; 

  (3) Discipline associated with food, naps, or bathroom procedures is prohibited, 

including but not limited to:  withholding food as punishment; use of food 

such as hot sauce, lemon juice, vinegar, etc., or soap, as punishment; 

punishment for lapses in toilet training;  punishment for not sleeping during 

nap/rest time; 

  (4) Physical restraint as punishment is prohibited; 
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  (5) Punishment administered by another child is prohibited; 

  (6) Rough or harsh handling of children, whether associated with discipline or 

not, is prohibited, including but not limited to:  shaking; lifting or jerking 

by one or both arms; pushing; pulling; forcing or restricting movement; 

lifting or moving by grasping clothing; covering a child's head, etc.   

 

11. Outdoor Play 

 

 All children shall spend time outdoors each day, when weather permits. 

 

 

12. Sign in/Sign out Procedures 

 

 a. The licensee shall require the parent(s)/guardian(s) or other person designated by the 

parent(s)/guardian(s) to sign (signature required, initials not acceptable) each child 

in at each arrival to the home, indicating the time of arrival.  (See Appendix J, page 

76, for required form.) 

 

 b. The licensee shall require the parent(s)/guardian(s) or other person designated by the 

parent(s)/guardian(s) to sign (signature required, initials not acceptable) each child 

out at each departure from the home, indicating the time of departure.  (See 

Appendix J, page 76, for required form.) 

 

 c. If a child walks to the home from school or another designated location, or is 

transported to/from the home by school bus, the licensee/caregiver shall sign 

(signature required, initials not acceptable) each child in upon arrival and out upon 

departure, indicating time of arrival/departure. 

 

 

13. Release of the children 

 

 a. The licensee/caregiver shall not release a child to anyone without written 

authorization from the child’s parent(s)/guardian(s). 

 

 b. Authorized persons who are unfamiliar to the licensee/caregiver shall show 

photographic identification when picking up a child. 

 

 

14. Visits by parent(s)/guardian(s) 

 

 Parent(s)/guardian(s) shall have the right to visit and observe their child in the home at any 

time during hours of operation.  Parent(s)/guardian(s) shall be informed of this right. 



 

 

Effective Date November 30, 2018 

  

40 

F. Administration 
 

 

1. General administrative responsibilities of the applicant/licensee 

 

 a. The applicant/licensee shall apply for a license to operate a child care home on the 

required form(s). (See Appendix A, page 58, for a copy of required form(s).)  (See 

also Licensing Procedures, Section B., page 11, for additional information.) 

 

 b. An application for renewal of the license shall be submitted to the Department at 

least thirty (30) calendar days prior to the expiration of the license on the required 

form(s).  (See Appendix A, page 58.)  It is the sole responsibility of the licensee to 

obtain the required form(s) and to submit the form(s) to the Department as required. 

 

 c. The applicant/licensee shall read and be familiar with the Minimum Standards and 

assume final authority and responsibility for meeting and maintaining Minimum 

Standards. 

 

 d. There shall be financial resources available to provide for the satisfactory care of the 

children in care in regard to upkeep of the home and the provision of nutritious 

meals, safe play equipment, and required arrangements for comfortable rest/sleep. 

 

 e. The following documents shall be posted in a place in the home easily seen by 

parent(s)/guardian(s): 

  (1) the home's current license or permit; 

  (2) the most recent licensing evaluation form; 

  (3) the most recent deficiency report form; 

  (4) public notice form; 

  (5) the name and telephone number for law enforcement, fire department, 

hospital, poison control and the Department of Human Resources; 

  (6) evacuation plan; 

  (7) corrective/adverse action notices. 

 

 f. Any information regarding children and facts learned about children and their 

relatives shall be kept confidential and shall not be shared except: 

  (1) with the parent(s)/guardian(s) or person(s) authorized by 

parent(s)/guardian(s) to receive such information, or 

  (2) with the Department.  (See Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-13)  

 

 g. The licensee shall provide the parent(s)/guardian(s) and the Department with a 

written statement of the rules and policies of the home.  These rules and policies 

shall be given to parent(s)/guardian(s) when the child is enrolled and shall include at 

least the following: 

  (1) A statement of child care services to be provided including days and hours 

of care and fees; 
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  (2) Information about the substitutes and how they will be used; 

  (3) Information about any animals on the premises; 

  (4) Information about pools on the premises and if the children will have access 

to the pool; 

  (5) Parent(s)/guardian(s) shall be informed of their right to visit and observe 

their child in the home at any time during the hours of care; 

  (6) Statement regarding Minimum Standards requirements for illness and 

injury; (See Section E., 3., c., page 32, for details); 

  (7) A daily schedule; 

  (8) Disciplinary practices (See Section E., 10., page 38, for details); 

  (9) An emergency plan for evacuation and care of the children, including but not 

limited to fire, tornado, serious accident or injury, or power failure. 

 

 h. The licensee shall provide parent(s)/guardian(s) and the Department in writing, of 

any changes in the home's rules and policies. 

 

 i. The licensee's social security number or tax ID number shall be made available to 

the parent(s)/guardian(s) on request. 

 

 

2. Reports to the Department 

 

 a. Enrollment reports, indicating the number and ages of children enrolled in the home, 

shall be submitted to the Department upon written request from the Department. 

 

 b. The licensee shall report any known or suspected child abuse or neglect to the 

County Department of Human Resources, the local chief of police or the county 

sheriff.  (See Section E., 5., page 35, for additional information.) 

 

 c. The following shall be reported verbally within 24 hours, and followed by a written 

report within 5 days: 

  (1) any injury/illness requiring professional medical treatment of any child; 

  (2) any injury/illness requiring emergency medical treatment; 

  (3) any death occurring in the home; 

  (4) changes in caregivers or substitutes (new or additional caregivers or 

substitutes); 

  (5) any change in the name of the licensee; 

  (6) any change in the name or number of the street address of the licensed home 

made by a government agency  (Note:  any change in location requires a 

new license); 

  (7) change in the telephone number of the licensee, caregiver, or substitute; 

  (8) serious accidents or serious illness of the licensee or household members; 

  (9) serious damage to the home or grounds; 

  (10) changes in members of the household (new household members moving into 

the home, household members moving out of the home, birth of a child); 
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  (11) any arrest of the licensee, household members, caregivers, substitutes, 

domestic workers, volunteers, or any other persons who have contact with 

the children or unsupervised access to children; 

  (12) final disposition of any child abuse/neglect investigation involving the 

licensee, household members, caregivers, substitutes, domestic workers, 

volunteers, or any other persons who have contact with the children or 

unsupervised access to children. 

 

 d. Any physical or structural changes in the home or on the grounds such as but not 

limited to:  remodeling; renovations; or installation of a swimming pool, shall be 

reported to the Department in advance. 

 

 e. Any change in location (move to another home) shall be reported to the Department 

in advance.  (Note:  A new license must be applied for and obtained before 

receiving children in the new location.) 

 

 

3. Records to be kept by the licensee 

 

 a. Copies of initial and updated medical reports for the licensee. 

 

 b. Written verification of education for the applicant/licensee. 

 

 c. Written verification of training for the applicant/licensee, including: 

(1) written documentation of a current Infant-Child (Pediatric) 

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification (CPR) and a current First Aid 

Certificate;  

(2) a current American Red Cross Lifeguard training certificate if the home has 

a pool and the children in care are allowed in the pool area; 

  (3) written verification of training received through workshops, meetings, 

recorded/printed materials, or one to one consultation. 

 

 d. The following information shall be kept in an individual file in the home for each 

assistant caregiver and each substitute: 

  (1) three (3) references; 

  (2) State Central Registry on Child Abuse/Neglect Clearance Form must be 

issued within the last five (5) years and updated every five (5) years 

thereafter (See Section D., 2., c., (2)  page 27, for details). Forms can be 

obtained from the Department’s website; 

  (3) Criminal history background information, (See Section D., 2., c., (3), page 

28 for details) including; 

   (a) A Suitability Determination letter from the Department must be 

issued within the last five (5) years and updated every five (5) years 

thereafter. 
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 (b) Identification verification of name, date of birth, race and sex in the 

form of a photo identification from any governmental agency, such 

as a driver’s license, non-driver’s identification, or program 

participation card. 

  (4) medical reports; 

  (5) results of tuberculin skin tests or chest x-rays; 

  (6) written verification regarding emergency procedures; 

  (7) written verification of having read the Minimum Standards; 

  (8) written verification of education; 

  (9) written verification of training, including: 

   (a) written documentation of a current Infant-Child (Pediatric) 

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification (CPR) and a current 

First Aid Certificate; 

   (b) a current American Red Cross Lifeguard training certificate if the 

home has a pool and the children in care are allowed in the pool 

area; 

   (c) written verification of training received through workshops, 

meetings, videotapes, or one to one consultation (not required for 

substitutes). 

 

 e. Records on caregivers and substitutes shall be kept for at least two (2) years after the 

caregiver or substitute leaves. 

 

 f. A current certificate of rabies vaccination for animals required by law to be 

vaccinated. 

 

 g. Children's records shall be on file in the home on the child's first day of attendance 

and shall include at least: 

  (1) Child's Pre-Admission Record, on the required form, including:  child’s 

name; birthdate; home address; name, address, and telephone number of 

child’s parent(s)/guardian(s); name, address, and telephone number of 

mother’s and father’s employer; emergency contact information; name, 

address, and telephone number of child’s doctor; signed authorization for 

emergency medical treatment; special needs or instructions; list of persons 

child may be released to; signed statement that parent(s)/guardian(s) 

understands that the Department does not inspect activities away from the 

facility; permission signed by the child’s parent(s)/guardian(s) for the child 

to participate in activities away from the facility, transportation provided by 

the facility, and swimming/wading provided by the facility; child’s first day 

of attendance; child’s withdrawal date.  (See Appendix G, page 72, for 

required form.); 

  (2) written authorization, signed by the parent(s)/guardian(s) to administer 

medication or medical procedures, if applicable, and written record of 

medication administration (see Appendix H, page 74, for required form); 

  (3) immunization certificates.  (See Section E., 3., a., page 32, for details.) 
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 h. Children's records shall be kept for at least two (2) years after the child leaves care. 

 

 i. Any other information about the children shall be kept in the children's records. 

 

 j. Any information regarding children and facts learned about children and their 

relatives shall be kept confidential and shall not be shared except; 

  (1) with the parent(s)/guardian(s) or person(s) authorized by 

parent(s)/guardian(s) to receive such information, or 

  (2) with the Department.  (See Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-13.)  

 

 k. Confidentiality 

  (1) Children's records and information about children and their families shall be 

kept confidential. 

  (2) Confidential information about children and their families shall not be used 

or disclosed for any purpose not directly related to the well being of the 

child. 

  (3) Any discussion about children and their families shall be treated as 

confidential. 

  (4) Confidential information including children’s records shall be accessible 

only to authorized persons. 

  (5) The Department shall have the right to inspect records, including children’s 

records. 

 

 l. Transportation checklists (see Appendix L, page 78) and sign in/sign out sheets (see 

Appendix J, page 76) shall be kept on file in the home for the current year plus two 

(2) additional years. 
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G. Nighttime Care 

In addition to the preceding regulations, homes offering nighttime care after 

7 p.m., shall meet the following regulations: 

 

 

 1. The number and age of children in nighttime care shall not exceed the number and 

age range of children for which the nighttime home is licensed. 

 

 2. Bathing 

a. If any child in care is bathed, clean water shall be provided for each child.  

Each child shall be bathed separately.  Each child shall be supervised while 

bathing. 

b. Individual soap, individual towel, and an individual washcloth shall be 

provided for each child who is bathed at the home. 

 

 3. In addition to requirements for sleeping  (See Indoor Area, Equipment and 

Furnishings, Section C., 2., d., page 18): 

  a. Each child younger than eighteen (18) months of age who receives his/her 

regular night's sleep in a nighttime home, shall sleep alone in a crib. 

  b. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of 

Pediatrics, unless the infant has a note from a physician specifying 

otherwise, each infant shall be placed in a supine (on his/her back) 

position for sleeping to lower the risks of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome 

(SIDS). 

  c. Each child who is eighteen (18) months of age or older, who receives his/her 

regular night's sleep in a nighttime home, shall sleep in a bed. 

 

 4. Each child's toilet articles (such as combs, toothbrushes, etc.) shall be labeled with 

the child's name, kept separate, and kept in sanitary condition. 

 

 5. Breakfast shall be served to each child who goes directly to school from nighttime 

care, unless breakfast is provided by the school or by the parent(s)/guardian(s).  (See 

Section E., 6., a., (1), page 36, for breakfast requirements.) 

 

 6. An evening meal shall be served for each child who is continuing in attendance 

from the day time program.  (See Section E., 6., a., (3), page 36, for meal 

requirements.) 
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H. Group Day Care Homes 

 
For purposes of these regulations, a license is required for persons: 

 Providing care for one or more children who are not related to the provider; 

 With or without compensation; 

 Away from the child’s home; 

 For more than four (4) hours in a 24 hour period. 

 

In addition to the preceding regulations (except for Section G., Nighttime 

Care), homes offering group day care for at least seven (7) but no more than 

twelve (12) children, shall meet the following regulations: 

 

 

 1. A separate license shall be applied for and obtained prior to offering group day care 

for seven (7) but no more than twelve (12) children. 

 

 2. A group day care home shall have at least the following caregivers:  the licensee, the 

assistant caregiver, and at least two (2) substitutes. 

 

 3. Whenever seven (7) or more children are present, at least two (2) adult caregivers 

shall be present and supervising the children.  This shall include the licensee and the 

assistant caregiver.  If a substitute is used, either the licensee or the assistant 

caregiver shall be present and supervising the children. 

 

4. No group day care home shall be licensed for more than six (6) children younger 

than twelve (12) months of age.  There shall be at least one (1) caregiver present and 

supervising each three (3) children younger than twelve (12) months of age.   

 

5. The assistant caregiver hired after January 22, 2001 shall meet the same educational, 

medical, age, and character and suitability requirements and qualifications as the 

licensee with the exception of living in the home. 

 

6. The assistant caregiver shall have at least twelve (12) clock hours of training in child 

care within the first 30 days of employment.  Child care training shall include clock 

hours in each of these areas: 

a. child development; 

b. health, safety and universal precautions; 

c. quality child care and licensing; 

d. the child care professional and the family; 

e. language development; 

  f. positive discipline and guidance.  
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7. The assistant caregiver shall have at least twelve (12) clock hours of child care 

training each year thereafter.  Child care training shall include clock hours in each of 

these areas: 

a. child development; 

b. health, safety and universal precautions; 

c. quality child care and licensing; 

d. the child care professional and the family; 

e. language development; 

  f. positive discipline and guidance. 

 

 8. Required information for the assistant caregiver shall be kept on file in the home.  

(See Section F., 3., d., page 42, for requirements of caregiver/substitute records.) 

 

 9. All caregivers shall read and be familiar with the Minimum Standards and written 

verification of this shall be on file in the home. 

 

 10. An outdoor play area of at least 600 square feet shall be provided on the grounds.  

The outdoor play area shall be enclosed by a fence or wall at least four (4) feet in 

height. 

 

 11. The licensee shall provide at least four (4) items from each category of play 

equipment for each age group listed in Section L., Equipment List, page 55.  
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I. Group Nighttime Homes 

 

In addition to the preceding regulations including Section G., Nighttime 

Care) homes offering group nighttime care for at least seven (7) but no more 

than twelve (12) children after 7 p.m., shall meet the following regulations: 

 

 

 1. Anytime seven (7) or more children are present, at least two (2) adult caregivers 

shall be present and supervising the children. 

 

 2. The number and age of children in nighttime care shall not exceed the number and 

age range of children for which the nighttime home is licensed. 

 

 3. In addition to requirements for sleeping  (See Indoor Area, Equipment and 

Furnishings, Section C., 2., d., page 18): 

  a. Each child younger than eighteen (18) months of age who receives his/her 

regular night's sleep in a nighttime home shall sleep alone in a crib. 

  b. In accordance with recommendations from the American Academy of 

Pediatrics, unless the infant has a note from a physician specifying 

otherwise, each infant shall be placed in a supine (on his/her back) 

position for sleeping to lower the risks of Sudden Infant Death Syndrome 

(SIDS). 

  c. Each child who is eighteen (18) months of age or older, who receives his/her 

regular night's sleep in a nighttime home shall sleep in a bed. 
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J. Corrective and Adverse Actions  

 

 Corrective or adverse actions may be imposed by the Department when the licensee 

fails to meet and maintain minimum standards prescribed by the Department.  

Corrective/adverse actions may include, but need not be limited to:  deficiency 

reports; corrective action plans; probationary status; restrictions or modifications of 

the provisions of the license/permit, suspension of a license/permit, and revocation of a 

license/permit. 

 

 Written notice of the corrective or adverse action shall be posted at each public entrance 

of the child care home. 

 

 None of these regulations are to be interpreted to allow a home to operate in violation 

of the minimum standards or out of compliance with the minimum standards. 

 

 

1. Deficiency Report 

 

 If an inspection, evaluation, or investigation indicates non-compliance with the minimum 

standards (deficiency), a deficiency report shall be prepared by the Department.  A 

deficiency report is prepared in conjunction with or subsequent to a visit to the home, or 

after investigation of a substantiated complaint regarding the home.  In any visit to the home 

in which deficiencies are observed or noted, the licensing representative shall complete a 

deficiency report, and discuss the deficiencies observed or noted with the licensee or facility 

representative.  A copy of the completed deficiency report shall be provided to the licensee 

or facility representative.  No deficiency report shall be completed in conjunction with a 

prelicensing visit. 

 

 

2. Corrective Action 

 

 a. If an inspection, evaluation, or investigation indicates continued or repeated non-

compliance with the minimum standards, or if areas of non-compliance indicated 

previously on a deficiency report are not corrected, a corrective action plan may 

be developed to allow the licensee to achieve compliance with the minimum 

standards while continuing to care for children.  The corrective action plan shall 

include:  a statement of each deficiency; a description of how the deficiency shall 

be corrected; the date by which corrections shall be completed; and the signature 

of the Department's representative and the licensee or facility representative. 

 b. During the corrective action period, the licensee shall correct each deficiency (area 

of noncompliance) and shall report the corrections to the Department.  The length of 

time the corrective action plan remains in effect shall be determined based on the 

nature of the areas of noncompliance.  If the licensee fails or refuses to comply with 
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the minimum standards and the terms of the corrective action plan, the Department 

may initiate adverse action such as probation or revocation of the license/permit. 

 c. Requests for changes to the provisions of the license such as increases in licensed 

capacity or changes in the ages of the children received for care shall not be 

granted during the corrective action period. 

 

 

3. Probationary Status 

 

 a. If an inspection, evaluation, or investigation indicates non-compliance with the 

minimum standards, or if conditions exist that could pose a hazard to the health and 

safety of the children in care, a period of probationary status may be instituted to 

allow the licensee to achieve compliance with the minimum standards while 

continuing to care for children.  At the beginning of the probationary period the 

licensee shall be provided with:  a statement of each deficiency; a description of 

how the deficiency shall be corrected; the date by which corrections shall be 

completed; and the signature of the Department's representative and the licensee or 

facility representative. 

 

 b. During the probationary period, the licensee shall correct each deficiency (area of 

noncompliance) and shall report the corrections to the Department.  The length of 

the period of probationary status shall be determined based on the nature of the areas 

of noncompliance.  The maximum period shall be six months.  At the end of the 

probationary period, the home’s license shall be returned to active status if the home 

is in compliance with the minimum standards.  If the licensee fails or refuses to 

comply with the minimum standards during the probationary period, the Department 

may initiate revocation of the license/permit. 

 

 c. Requests for changes to the provisions of the license such as increases in licensed 

capacity or changes in the ages of the children received for care shall not be 

granted during the period of probationary status. 

 

 

4. Restriction or Modification of the Provisions of the License/Permit 

 

 a. The right to restrict, limit, or suspend specific activities provided by the child 

day/night care home, such as but not limited to:  away-from-the-home activities; 

transportation of the children; swimming. 

 

 b. The right to restrict or limit the use of specific areas of the home, such as but not 

limited to:  outdoor play areas; bathrooms; rooms used by the children. 

 

 c. The right to reduce the licensed capacity of the home or to amend the ages of 

children to be served, due to restricted use of required space or bathroom facilities 

or lack of qualified caregivers. 
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5. Revocation of a License 

 (See Code of Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-8). 

 

 The Department may revoke or refuse to renew the license of the child care home or refuse 

to issue a full license to the holder of a six-month permit should the licensee: 

 

 a. Consistently fail to maintain standards prescribed and published by the Department; 

 

 b. Violate the provisions of the license issued; 

 

 c. Furnish or make any misleading or any false statements or reports to the 

Department; 

 

 d. Refuse to submit to the Department any reports or refuse to make available to the 

Department any records required by the Department in making an investigation of 

the child care facility for licensing purposes; provided, however, that the 

Department shall not revoke or refuse to renew a license in such case unless it has 

made written demand on the person, firm or corporation operating the facility 

requesting such report or reports and such person, firm or corporation fails or 

refuses to submit such records for a period of ten days. 

 

 e. Fail or refuse to submit to an investigation by the Department; 

 

 f. Fail or refuse to admit authorized representatives of the Department at any 

reasonable time for the purpose of investigation; 

 

 g. Fail to provide, maintain, equip and keep in safe and sanitary condition the premises 

established or used for child care as required under standards prescribed by the 

Department, or as otherwise required by any law, regulation or ordinance applicable 

to such facility; 

 

 h. Refuse to display its license or permit; 

 

 i. Fail to maintain financial resources adequate for the satisfactory care of children 

served in regard to upkeep of premises and provisions for personal care, medical 

services, clothing, learning experience and other essentials in the proper care, 

rearing and training of children;  

   

  or 

 

 j. Fail to adhere to all terms of the Family/Group Day Care/Nighttime Home 

Agreement required on the Application for a License. 
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6. Suspension of a License 

 In accordance with the Code of Alabama 1975, Sections 38-7-11 and 41-22-19(d), the 

Department has the authority to immediately suspend without notice the license/six-month 

permit if an inspection by the Department of a licensed child care facility discloses any 

condition, deficiency, dereliction, or abuse, which is, or could be, hazardous to the health, 

safety, or physical, moral, or mental well-being of the children in the care of the child care 

facility being inspected.  In this event, the child care facility shall not operate during the 

pendency of any proceeding for a fair hearing or judicial review, except under court order.  

The suspension may remain in effect for a period of not longer than 120 days and shall not 

be renewable.  The license shall not be suspended for the same or a substantially similar 

emergency within one calendar year from its first suspension unless the emergency could 

not have been reasonably foreseen during the initial 120 day period that such emergency 

would continue or would likely reoccur during the next nine months.  When such summary 

suspension is ordered, a formal suspension or revocation proceeding shall also be promptly 

instituted and acted upon. 

 

 

7. Penalty for Unlicensed Facilities 

 If the Department representative determines, through investigation, that any person, group 

of persons, or corporation is, or has been, operating a child care facility without a license, 

approval or six-month permit, the results of the investigation shall be reported to the 

Attorney General and to the appropriate District Attorney for prosecution  (See Code of 

Alabama 1975, Section 38-7-10, 38-7-16, and 38-7-17). 

 

 

8. Refusal to Permit Inspections 

 (Code of Alabama 1975, Section 13A-10-3.) 

 

 a. A person commits the crime of refusing to permit inspection of property that is 

owned, possessed or otherwise subject to his/her control if a public servant is legally 

authorized to inspect such property and an attempt is being made to exercise that 

authority and he/she: 

  (1) refuses to produce the property for a reasonable inspection; or 

  (2) refuses to permit a reasonable inspection. 

 

 b. For the purposes of this section, “legally authorized inspection” includes any lawful 

search, sampling, testing or other examination of property, in connection with the 

regulation of the defendant’s business or occupation, that is authorized by law. 

 

 c. Refusing to permit inspection is a Class C misdemeanor (fine of not more that 

$500.00 or imprisonment in county jail for not more than three months). 
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K. Hearings and Appeals 

 

 

1. Pre-revocation Hearings 

 

 a. If the Department makes the decision to revoke or refuse to renew the license, six-

month permit, or approval, a pre-revocation hearing shall be held in order to 

discuss the intended action and give the licensee/permit holder an opportunity to 

show why the action should not be taken.  Notice of the pre-revocation hearing 

and notice of action taken by the Department following the pre-revocation hearing 

shall be sent to the licensee/permit holder by certified mail unless waived.  The 

pre-revocation hearing shall be held in accordance with the Administrative Code, 

Chapter 660-1-5, a copy of which may be obtained from the Department on 

request.  The pre-revocation hearing does not alter the licensee/permit/approval 

holder’s right to a fair hearing. 

 

 b. If the Department finds that danger to the health, safety or welfare of the children 

requires emergency suspension of a license, six-month permit, or approval, the 

licensee/permit/approval holder shall be notified in writing of the reason(s) for the 

decision.  The Department may proceed without hearing or upon any abbreviated 

hearing it finds practicable to suspend the license, six-month permit, or approval.  

The suspension shall become effective immediately unless otherwise stated. In 

this event, the child care facility shall not operate during the pendency of any 

proceeding for a fair hearing or judicial review, except under court order.  The 

suspension may remain in effect for a period of not longer than 120 days and shall 

not be renewable.  The license/permit/approval shall not be suspended for the same 

or a substantially similar emergency within one calendar year from its first 

suspension unless the emergency could not have been reasonably foreseen during 

the initial 120 day period that such emergency would continue or would likely 

reoccur during the next nine months.  When such summary suspension is ordered, a 

formal suspension or revocation proceeding shall also be promptly instituted and 

acted upon. 

 

 c. No pre-denial hearing is required to be held prior to the denial of an initial 

application for a license. 

 

 

2. Request for a Fair Hearing 

 

 a. An aggrieved person may request a fair hearing in the following situations: 

  (1) If an application for an initial license is denied; 

  (2) If an application for a renewal of a license is denied; 

  (3) If any application for an initial license or renewal of a license is not acted 

upon with reasonable promptness, which is defined as sixty (60) days from 
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the date of the receipt by the Department of all information (including but 

not limited to:  required forms received; investigations and inspections 

completed) needed to make a decision to grant or deny the license or permit; 

 or 

  (4) If a license, six-month permit, or approval is revoked. 

 

 b. Notice of the opportunity to request a fair hearing shall be given by certified mail. 

 

 c. When a pre-revocation hearing has been held, a request for a fair hearing shall be 

filed within fourteen (14) calendar days of the notice of the revocation.  Any 

existing license or six-month permit shall remain in effect during the fourteen (14) 

day time period allowed for request of a fair hearing.  If a fair hearing is requested, 

the existing license, six-month permit, or approval shall remain in effect until and 

including thirty (30) days after the final decision on the request for a fair hearing. 

 

 d. If the Department finds that danger to the health, safety or welfare of the children 

requires emergency suspension of a license or six-month permit, the 

licensee/permit holder shall be notified in writing of the reasons for the decision.  

The existing license or six-month permit shall be suspended immediately or on 

the date specified in the notice of suspension. 

 

 e. In all other situations where a pre-action hearing has not been held, a request for a 

fair hearing shall be filed within sixty (60) calendar days of the action (or 

inaction) with which the aggrieved person is dissatisfied. 

 

 

3. Conduct of a Fair Hearing 

 

 a. When a pre-revocation hearing has been held, the fair hearing will be conducted on 

the record.  No additional evidence or testimony will be admitted unless it can be 

shown that it is material to the issues of the case and could not have been presented 

at the prior hearing with reasonable diligence or that the additional evidence was not 

allowed at the prior hearing due to unlawful procedures. 

 

 b. When a pre-action hearing has not been held, the fair hearing is to be conducted in 

accordance with the hearing procedures found in the Administrative Code, Chapter 

660-1-5, a copy of which may be obtained from the Department on request. 
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L. Equipment List 

 

 The licensee shall provide a variety of toys, games, and other play equipment appropriate to 

the ages of children specified on the license/permit and to the interests of the children.  The licensee 

shall provide at least two (2) items from each category for each age group for which the home is 

licensed or permitted.   

 

1. Equipment for Children Up to 2½ Years  

 

 a. Toys For Active/Outdoor Play 

  Small wheel toys 

  Push and pull toys 

  Boxes of assorted sizes 

  Swings with safety seat, infant swing 

  Sand or digging area, toys for digging, pouring, sifting 

  Large Balls 

 

 b. Quiet toys 

  Simple puzzles 

  Nesting and stacking toys 

  Soft dolls and clothes 

  Cars, trucks, trains 

  Large beads or spools to string 

  Picture books 

 

 c. Art materials 

  Paper 

  Non-toxic crayons 

  Non-toxic water color markers 

  Non-toxic play dough 

 

 d. Crib toys 

  Crib mobiles (for infants younger than 5 months) 

  Washable teething rings 

  Rattle toys 

  Squeeze toys 

  Soft cuddly toys 

  Busy boxes 

 

 e. Make-believe Play 

  Dolls, and clothes and blankets 

  Dress-up clothes 

  Homeliving area-pretend kitchen appliances may be made from boxes 

  Toys, dishes, pans, spoons, plastic containers with lids 
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  Toy telephone 

  Puppets 

 

 

2. Equipment for Children 2½ Years up to 6 Years 

 

 a. Toys for Active/Outdoor Play 

  Sand or digging area with items for digging, filling, sifting, and pouring 

  Climbing structure with soft surface underneath 

  Wheel toys 

  Balls 

  Buckets for water play, items for pouring, measuring, floating 

 

 b. Toys for Quiet Play 

  Puzzles 

  Beads or spools and string for stringing 

  Peg boards and pegs 

  Matching games such as lotto, picture dominoes and other simple games 

  Creative construction sets 

  Blocks 

  Small cars, trucks, boats, trains 

 

 c. Make Believe Play 

  Dolls, with clothes, blankets, storage area 

  Doll stroller 

  Doll bed or cradle 

  Dress-up clothes 

  Home living area-kitchen appliances may be purchased or made from cardboard 

boxes 

  Play dishes, plastic baby bottles, pots and pans, measuring spoons 

  Puppets 

  Sheet or bedspread for making a tent 

  Cardboard boxes in assorted sizes 

  Mirror 

  Toy telephone 

 

 d. Water Play 

  Dish pan 

  Sponges 

  Bubble mixture  

  Strainers 

  Funnels 

  Egg beaters 

  Small boats and other floating toys 
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 e. Art, Books, Music 

  Non-toxic art materials - large pencils and crayons, water color markers, paper, 

chalk, blunt-end scissors, paste, glue, playdough, paints (tempera or water color), 

long handled brushes, finger paints 

  A variety of age-appropriate books accessible to the children 

A device that plays a variety of age-appropriate music 

  Rhythm instruments 

 

 f. Nature and Science Materials 

  Collections of rocks, leaves, seeds, etc. 

  Aquarium with fish (must be covered) 

  Magnifying glass 

  Magnets 

  Measuring equipment 

 

3. Equipment for Children 6 Years and Older 

 

 a. Storage 

  Children shall have a separate area for storing their personal items and projects. 

 

 b. Art, Music, Books 

  Non-toxic art materials: a variety of kinds of paper, scissors, glue, crayons, 

markers, chalk, paints, clay, playdough, 

  Books and magazines appropriate to the ages of the children 

  A device that plays a variety of age-appropriate music.  

 

 c. Dramatic Play Props 

  Dress-up clothes 

  Dolls and dolls clothes 

  Costumes and masks 

 

 d. Toys for quiet time 

  Interlocking manipulative play sets 

  Jigsaw puzzles 

  Board games and playing cards 

 

 e. Equipment for Active/Outdoor Play 

  Balls 

  Bats 

  Tether ball 

  Croquet set 

  Badminton set 

  Horseshoes 

  Wheel toys 
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III.  APPENDICES 

A. Application for a license to operate a family/group day care/nighttime home 

 

DHR-CDC-712 

                      Revised 10/18 

 STATE OF ALABAMA 

 DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES 

 

 APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO OPERATE 

 A DAY CARE/NIGHTTIME HOME 

 

  First Application       Application for Renewal 

 

In accordance with Title 38, Chapter 7, Code of Alabama 1975, application is hereby made for a 

license to operate a: 

 

  Family Day Care/Nighttime Home    Group Day Care/Nighttime Home 

 

 

Name of Applicant: ___________________________________________________________ 
    First  Middle  Maiden  Last 
 

List all names you have been known by:  ___________________________________________ 

 

Applicant's Date of Birth: ______________________________________________________ 
    Month  Day  Year 
 

Social Security Number of Applicant:  ____________________________________________ 
(NOTE:  Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 

Address of Applicant:  _________________________________________________________ 
   Number and Street   City State Zip Code  County 
 

Telephone Number of Applicant:  _(_______)_______________________________________ 

 

Name of Home Day Care:_______________________________________________________ 

 

Name of Applicant's Spouse:_____________________________________________________ 
    First   Middle   Last 
 

List all names your spouse has been known by:  _____________________________________ 

 

Spouse's date of birth:  _________________________________________________________ 
    Month  Day  Year 



 

 

Effective Date November 30, 2018 

  

59 

Do you own or rent your home?  _________________________________________________ 

If you rent, attach a written statement from the owner of the home giving permission for you to 

operate a day care/nighttime home. 

 

Will you provide transportation for children in your care?  ____________________________ 

 

For what age children will you provide care? _______________________________________ 

 

What days of the week will you provide care? ______________________________________ 

 

What hours of the day will you provide care? _______________________________________ 

 

 

List addresses of all places you have lived in the past five years, if different from your present 

address: 

Number and Street City State Zip Code County 

     

     

     

 

 

List each person living in your home: 

Full Name Date of 

Birth 

Relationship 

to you 

Occupation/school 

attending/attended 

Social Security 

Number 

     

     

     

     

     

     

(NOTE:  Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 

 

REFERENCES: 
List at least three (3) persons you have known for at least two (2) years who are not related to you 

or any member of your household by blood, marriage, or adoption.  Information must be complete 

and accurate. 
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(1)  Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Last    First   Middle 

 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Street       City    

 

__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________ 

  State   Zip Code  Area Code Telephone Number 

 

 

(2)  Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Last    First   Middle 

 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Street       City    

 

__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________ 

  State   Zip Code  Area Code Telephone Number  

 

 

(3)  Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Last    First   Middle 

 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Street       City    

 

__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________ 

  State   Zip Code  Area Code Telephone Number 

 

 

Name of Substitute:  _________________________________________________________ 
   First  Middle  Maiden  Last 
 

Substitute's Date of Birth:  _____________________________________________________ 
    Month  Day  Year 
 

Social Security Number of Substitute:  ____________________________________________ 
(NOTE:  Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 

Address of Substitute:  ________________________________________________________ 
    (Number and Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) (County) 
 

Telephone Number of Substitute:  _(_______)______________________________________ 

 

 

Name of Assistant Caregiver, if application is for a group day care/nighttime home: 

 

___________________________________________________________________________ 
 First   Middle   Maiden  Last 
 

 

Assistant Caregiver's Date of Birth: ______________________________________________ 
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     Month  Day  Year 
 

Social Security Number of Assistant Caregiver:  _____________________________________ 
(NOTE:  Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 

Address of Assistant Caregiver:  _________________________________________________ 
    (Number and Street) (City) (State) (Zip Code) (County) 
 

Telephone Number of Assistant Caregiver:  _(_______)_______________________________ 

 

 

Name of Second Substitute, if application is for a group day care/nighttime home: 

 

____________________________________________________________________________ 
 First   Middle  Maiden   Last 
 

Second Substitute's Date of Birth:  ________________________________________________ 
    Month  Day  Year 
 

Social Security Number of Second Substitute:  ______________________________________ 
(NOTE:  Social Security Number is required by the Department's Administrative Rules for identification purposes.) 
 

Address of Second Substitute:  __________________________________________________ 
    (Number and Street)  (City) (State) (Zip Code) (County) 
 

Telephone Number of Second Substitute:  _(_______)________________________________ 

 

 

BACKGROUND INFORMATION: 
 

Child Care: 
Have you ever applied for or held any license or approval or been registered or certified to operate a child care facility 

of any kind in any county, state, or country? ________________ 

If yes, give details. 

_______________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________

______ 

 

Criminal History Background Information Checks: 
In accordance with Alabama law, (Act 2000-775, effective November 1, 2000, the criminal history background 

information check shall be completed on each applicant for a license, each licensee, each adult household member, 

substitute, caregiver, volunteer, and domestic worker, as well as any other person who has contact with the children or 

unsupervised access to the children shall be reviewed. 

 

Current Criminal Charges: 
Are there any current criminal charges against you or any member of your household?  ___________________ 

If yes, give details. 
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______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

_____________________________________________________________________ 

 

Clearance of State Central Registry on Child Abuse/Neglect: 
At the time of initial application, a completed REQUEST FOR CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY ON 

CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT shall be submitted by the applicant and each adult household member.  Required forms are 

available from the Department. 

The applicant shall obtain a completed REQUEST FOR CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY ON 

CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT for each caregiver, substitute, volunteer, domestic worker, and any other person who has 

contact with the children or unsupervised access to the children. 

 

EDUCATION AND TRAINING 
If this is your first application: 
Attach a copy of your high school diploma or General Education Diploma (G. E. D.) 

Written documentation of completion of required training in child care and development is required before licensure. 

 

 

AGREEMENT 
 I hereby agree that if I am issued a license/permit or renewal of a license to operate a 

family/group day care/nighttime home for children, I will: 
 A. Maintain standards prescribed and published by the Department; 

 B. Adhere to the provisions of the license or permit issued; 

 C. Not furnish or make any misleading or any false statements or reports to the Department; 

 D. Submit to the Department any reports or make available to the Department any records required by 

the Department in making an investigation for licensing purposes; 

 E. Submit to investigation by the Department; 

 F. Admit authorized representatives of the Department at any reasonable time for the purpose of 

investigation; 

 G. Provide, maintain, equip and keep in safe and sanitary condition the premises established or used 

for child care as required under standards prescribed by the Department, or otherwise required by 

any law, regulation or ordinance applicable to such facility; 

 H. Display the license or permit; and 

 I. Maintain financial resources adequate for the satisfactory care of children served in regard to 

upkeep of premises and provisions for personal care, medical services, clothing, learning 

experience and other essentials in the proper care, rearing and training of children. 

 

 ____________________________________/________ 

Signature of applicant   date 
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NOTICE OF PENALTY FOR FALSE STATEMENTS 
 
 In accordance with Title 38, Chapter 7, Section 16, Code of Alabama 1975, any person, group of persons, 

association or corporation who makes materially false statements in order to obtain a license or permit shall be guilty of 

a misdemeanor and shall be fined not less than $100.00 nor more than $1,000.00 or be imprisoned in the county jail not 

longer that one year, or both, and, in case of an association or corporation, imprisonment may be imposed upon its 

officers who knowingly participated in the violation.  Understanding the penalties for false statements, I attest that the 

statements in this application are true and correct, to the best of my knowledge and belief. 

 

 

NOTE:  The application for renewal of a license shall be submitted at least 30 calendar days 

prior to the expiration of the current license.   

 

 

By signing this form, I am affirming that the above statements I have made are true and 

factual to the best of my knowledge; and I am granting permission for all persons, 

organizations, or agencies listed above to be contacted for information regarding my 

background. 

 

  ___________________________________________________/____________ 

  Signature           Date 

 

 

___________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

Return the completed application form and any attachments to the _____________________ 

County Department of Human Resources at the address below: 

 

    __________________________________________ 

 

    __________________________________________ 

 

    __________________________________________ 

 

    __________________________________________ 
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C. Medical report for persons giving care to children 

DHR-CDC – 737 

 

MEDICAL REPORT FOR PERSONS GIVING CARE TO CHILDREN 

Name: Date of birth: 

Address: 

 

Position in child care facility: 

To the examining medical doctor, physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner: 

 This examination is needed to determine my physical ability to care for children, to 

perform services in a child care facility, or to have contact with the children.  I hereby 

authorize you to furnish a report of my examination to: 

 _______________________________________________________________________ 

 Name of child care facility or Department of Human Resources  

 

  ______________________________________________/__________________ 

Signature       Date 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

TESTS (to be completed if other verification is not attached): 

 Date and result of Intradermal Tuberculin Test (Mantoux):  ______________________ 

  (Required for initial examination only) 

 Date and result of chest x-ray if Mantoux was positive:  _________________________ 

 

HISTORY of any chronic disease or disability that may affect his/her ability to care for children or 

perform services in a child care facility:  Yes  ;  No  . 

 

PHYSICAL LIMITATIONS that may affect his/her ability to care for children or perform 

services in a child care facility:   Yes  ;  No  . 

If "YES", please explain:  ______________________________________________________ 

___________________________________________________________________________ 

 

In my opinion, the physical examination reveals that the above-named person is free of any 

infectious or contagious disease and is physically fit to care for children, to perform services in a 

child care facility or to have contact with the children. 

If not, please explain:  ________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

____________________________________________________________________/_______ 
Signature of medical doctor, physician's assistant, or certified nurse practitioner / Date 
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Child’s Medical Report 
(This form may be used for household members younger than 19 years of age) 

 
 

Child’s Name:  ___________________________ Date of Birth:  _________________ 

 

Name of Child’s Parent or Guardian:  _______________________________________ 

 

Address:  _______________________________ Telephone Number: ____________ 

 

 

In addition to a medical report or medical screening, a Certificate of Immunization 

(ADPH-F-IMM-50)  is required for each child two months to five years of age and for five 

year olds who are not enrolled in public or private school. 

 

 

History of Allergies:  _________________________________________________________ 

 

_______________________________________________________________________ 

 

_______________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

I examined this child on (date) _____________.  I find him/her to be in good physical 

condition and free of contagious and infectious diseases, except as noted below.  

 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

________________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

   __________________________________________________________ 

   Signature of Physician, Physician’s Assistant, Certified Nurse Practitioner 

 

   ______________________________________ 

     Date 
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D. Application form for staff 

DHR –CDC- 1947 

 

 APPLICATION FORM FOR STAFF 
(including caregivers, employees, teachers, substitutes, volunteers, cooks, bus drivers, domestic workers) 

 Date ____________________________ 

 Position __________________________ 

 

Name: 

 

 

 

_____________________________________________________________ 

Last                                 First            Middle                    Maiden (if applicable)  

Address: 

 

 

Street:______________________________________________________ 

City:_______________________________________________________ 

State:_______________________   Zip Code_______________________ 

Telephone Number:  (         ) Date of Birth: 

Driver's License Number: Expiration Date of Driver's license: 

 

EDUCATION: 

EDUCATION School/Institution Dates 

Attended 

Diploma/Degree/ 

Certificate 

Elementary    

High School     

College    

Graduate    

Other    

 

CHILD CARE TRAINING: 
List all courses, workshops, and conferences related to child development and early childhood education.  Attach 

additional pages if necessary.  Attach copies of certificates received. 

Title of course/ 

Workshop/conference 

Sponsor Location Date(s) Number of 

hours 
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EMPLOYMENT HISTORY: 
List in order beginning with your most recent employment.  Attach additional pages if necessary. 

 

Employer 

 

Employer's Address 

 

Position/Job 

Date(s) 

Worked 

Reason for 

leaving 

     

     

     

     

 

REFERENCES: 
List at least three persons who are not related to you by blood, marriage, or adoption. to be contacted as references.  

At least one must be a former employer.  Addresses must be complete and accurate. 

 

 
Name of Former Employer: _____________________________________________________________________ 

    Last    First   Middle 

 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Street       City    

 

__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________ 

  State   Zip Code  Area Code Telephone Number 

 

 

Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Last    First   Middle 

 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Street       City    

 

__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________ 

  State   Zip Code  Area Code Telephone Number  

 

 

Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Last    First   Middle 

 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________ 

  Street       City    

 

__________________________________________________________(_________)_____________________ 

  State   Zip Code  Area Code Telephone Number 

 

 

Criminal History Background Information Checks: 
In accordance with Alabama law, (Act 2000-775, effective November 1, 2000), the criminal history background 

information check shall be completed on each substitute, caregiver, volunteer, and domestic worker, as well as any other 

person who has contact with the children or unsupervised access to the children shall be reviewed. 
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Current Criminal Charges: 
Are there any current criminal charges against you?  __________________________ 

If yes, give details. 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Clearance of State Central Registry on Child Abuse/Neglect: 
A completed REQUEST FOR CLEARANCE OF STATE CENTRAL REGISTRY ON CHILD ABUSE/NEGLECT 

(DHR-DFC-1598) shall be obtained for each caregiver, substitute, volunteer, domestic worker, and any other person 

who has contact with the children or unsupervised access to the children. 

 

 

By signing this form, I am affirming that the above statements I have made are true and 

factual to the best of my knowledge; and I am granting permission for all persons, 

organizations, or agencies listed above to be contacted for information regarding my 

background. 

 

 

 _____________________________________________________________________ 

 Signature         Date 
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E. Reference form 

DHR-CDC-1948 

 REFERENCE FORM 

 Date:_______________ 

To:  _________________________________ 

 (Reference Contact) 

 

Address:  _________________________________________________________________ 

 (Street)  (City)   (State)  (Zip Code) 

 

 

 __________________________ has applied to work in a child care facility as a 
  (Name of applicant) 
_________________________.  He/she has given your name as a person to be contacted for 
  (Position) 
information regarding his/her character, suitability to work with children and previous or 

prospective job performance.  Please answer the following questions and provide any additional 

comments that could be helpful.  Your response will be kept confidential. 

 

1.  How long have you known this person?_____________________________________ 

 

2.  What is/was your relationship with this person? (friend, employer, pastor, neighbor, etc.) 

_________________________________________________________________________ 

 

3.  In your opinion, is this person:   Comments:____________________ 

 Dependable?  Yes    No   _____________________________ 

 Honest?  Yes    No   _____________________________ 

 Even-tempered? Yes    No . _____________________________ 

 

4.  To your knowledge, does this person:   Comments:______________ 

 Use drugs?   Yes    No   _______________________ 

 Drink excessively?  Yes    No   _______________________ 

 Use abusive language? Yes    No . _______________________ 

 

5.  If you are/were an employer of this person, describe the type of work the person does/did and 

the quality of the work he/she performed.  What was the reason for the person leaving your 

employment, if applicable? 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

 

6.  If you have young children, would you leave your own child/children in the care of this 

person?  Yes  No  If no, please explain. 
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__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

 

7.  To your knowledge, does this person have qualities, traits, or abilities that make him/her 

particularly suitable to care for children?  Yes  No   Please explain. 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

 

8.  Do you know of any reason why this person might not be suitable to care for children? 

 Yes  No   If yes, please explain. 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________ 

 

9.  If you have any additional comments about this person you feel would be useful when 

considering his/her application for employment in a child care facility, please state below. 

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________ 

 

 ____________________________________________________________________ 

 Signature    Date   Telephone number 

 

 

Please return this form to: 

 Name of person requesting information:  ___________________________________ 

 Name of day care/nighttime facility:  ______________________________________ 

 Address of facility: 

  Street:  _______________________________________________________ 

  City:  ________________________________________________________ 

  State:  ___________________________ Zip Code:__________________ 

 

 Telephone Number:  (_______)__________________________________ 

 

 

 

If you prefer not to provide a reference for this person, please sign here and return this form to 

the address above. 

  ___________________________________________________________ 

  Signature    Date 
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F. Verification that staff persons/caregivers have read the Minimum Standards 

 

 

VERIFICATION THAT STAFF PERSONS/CAREGIVERS HAVE READ THE 

MINIMUM STANDARDS 

 

Written and signed verification stating that staff persons have read the Minimum 

Standards, must be in each staff person's file in the home. 

 

 I have read the Minimum Standards for Family/Group Day Care and Nighttime  

 

Homes.  I understand that I must comply with these regulations while I am employed by  

 

________________________________________________.    Failure to do so could result in 
 (Name of licensee) 

 

immediate termination of employment. 

 

 

 

    _________________________________________________ 

    Signature of staff person/caregiver   Date 

 

 

    _________________________________________________ 

    Signature of Licensee     Date    
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G. Child's preadmission record 

DHR-CDC-739 

CHILD' S PREADMISSION RECORD 

 
This section is to be completed by the child's parent or guardian.  This form must be kept in the child's file in the 

Child Care Facility. 

Child’s Name: Name child is known by: 

 

Child’s birthdate: Child’s home address: 

 

Name(s) of parent(s)/guardian(s): 

 

Home telephone number:  (          ) 

Address of parent(s)/guardian(s): 

 

Mother’s employer: 

 

Father’s employer: 

Employer’s address: 

 

 

Employer’s address: 

Employer’s telephone number:  (         ) 

 

Employer’s telephone number:  (          ) 

List telephone numbers such as beeper, cellular phone, 

etc.   

Instructions regarding how parent/guardian may be reached 

in an emergency: 

 

 

 

Person(s)  to be contacted in an emergency if parent(s)/guardian(s) cannot be reached: 

Name Relationship to child Address Telephone number 

 

 

   

 

 

   

 

 

   

 

Name of child’s doctor: Address: Telephone number: 

(            ) 

Emergency Authorization: 
I give permission for the child care facility to obtain emergency medical treatment, including emergency 

transportation, for my child if I cannot be reached immediately.  I agree to be responsible for any emergency 

medical expenses incurred.  (If parent/guardian refuses to sign, instructions must be attached stating what 

procedure the facility is to follow in an emergency.) 

     ____________________________/ _______________ 

      Signature   Date 
 

Form not valid without signature of child’s parent/guardian 
Page one of two-form not valid without second page 
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Child’s Preadmission Record (continued) - page two of two - form not valid without first page 

 

Describe any special needs or instructions below: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Person(s) the child may be released to: 

Name Relationship to child Address Telephone number 

 

 

   

 

 

   

 

 

   

 

 

   

 

 

   

 

I understand that the Department of Human Resources does not inspect activities away 
from the child care facility.  The licensee of the child care facility assumes full 
responsibility for such activities. 

    ___________________________________/___________ 

     Signature of parent/guardian   Date 
 

I give permission for my child to participate in: 
     (Circle yes or no and sign each line) 

 

Activities away from the facility: 

 

yes 

 

no 
Signature of parent/guardian 

 

Date 

 

Transportation provided by the facility: 

 

yes 

 

no 
Signature of parent/guardian 

 

Date 

Swimming/wading activities provided by 

the facility: 

 

yes 

 

no 
Signature of parent/guardian 

 

Date 

 

Form not valid without signature of child’s parent/guardian in each space indicated above. 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

This section is to be completed by the facility's staff. 

 

Child’s first day of attendance: _________________ Child’s withdrawal date: _____________________ 

 

 

Additional information may be attached. 



 

 

Effective Date November 30, 2018 

  

74 

H. Authorization for administering medication 

DHR-CDC-1949 

AUTHORIZATION FOR ADMINISTERING MEDICATION/MEDICAL PROCEDURES 

Dear Parent/guardian, 
 Your written permission is required to administer medication or medical procedures to your child.  Any 

prescription drug or over-the-counter drug sent to the child care facility must be in its original container and must be 

clearly labeled with your child's name, the name of the drug, and directions for administering the drug.  A new 

authorization form is needed each week.  If it is absolutely necessary for your child to be given medication while at the 

child care facility, please complete the following information. 

 

Child's Name _________________________________________________________________ 

 

Prescription Number __________________________________________________________ 

 

Name of Medication ___________________________________________________________ 

 

Amount of medication to be given at each dosage ___________________________________ 

 

Instructions (how to give or apply, such as give by mouth, apply to skin, inhale, drops in eyes, etc.) 

_____________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Time of last dosage given at home ________________________________________________ 

 

Time(s) of dosage(s) to be given at the child care facility ______________________________ 

 

Please give my child the above-named medication at the time(s) and in the amount(s) indicated. 
 

 _________________________________________ 

 Signature of parent/guardian                      Date 

_______________________________________________________________________________ 

To be completed by licensee/staff/caregiver 

Date medication given Time medication given Signature of person giving medication 
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I.  Injury/illness report form 

DHR-CDC-1950 

 INJURY/ILLNESS REPORT FORM 

 Child Care Facilities (Homes/Centers) 
Any injury or illness requiring emergency medical treatment, of a child while in the care of the child care 

facility, must be reported to the Department of Human Resources within 24 hours after occurrence, followed 

by a written report within 5 days.  This report must be made by the licensee or the person responsible for the 

child.  A copy of the report must be kept in the child's file at the child care facility. 

Name of Licensee/Operator: 

 

Family Day Care/Nighttime Home     

Group Day Care/Nighttime Home     

Address of Child Care Facility: 

Street: _______________________________ 

 

City:  _________________ County:  _______ 

Child's Name: 

 

Child's Date of Birth: 

Date injury/illness occurred: Time injury/illness occurred: 

Name of Child's Parent/guardian: 

 

Time Parent/guardian was contacted: 

Describe the injury/illness, including type, severity, location:  (If reporting an injury, describe how it occurred) 

 

 

 

 

Give the name, address, and telephone number of the physician or emergency medical personnel contacted, the 

time and date contact was made, and the physician's comments and diagnosis regarding the injury/illness: 

 

 

 

Was the Department of Human Resources notified within 24 hours?  Yes         No   

Signature of Staff Person/Caregiver in Charge: 

 

Date: 

Signature of Licensee: 

 

Date: 
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J. Sign in/sign out form 

DHR-CDC-1951 

 SIGN IN/SIGN OUT FORM 

 Child Care Facilities (Homes/Centers) 

 
Each child must be signed in at each arrival and signed out at each departure.  Time of arrival and departure must be 

indicated on the form.  The signature of the parent, guardian, or other designated person is required.  Initials are not 

acceptable. 

 

Name of Licensee/Facility:  ____________________________  Date:  ____________________ 

 

 

Child's Name 

Time 

in 

 

Signature 

Time 

out 

 

Signature 
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K. Public notice form 

 

 

 

 PUBLIC NOTICE 

 

 

 A copy of the Minimum Standards for 

Family/Group Day Care Homes and Nighttime 

Homes-Regulations, and Procedures may be obtained 

by contacting the Department of Human Resources. 

 Address: Department of Human Resources 
                       Child Care Services Division 
                       50 Ripley Street 
                       Montgomery, AL  36130 
 

       Telephone number: 1-866-528-1694 
 

 

 Complaints regarding known or suspected violations 

of the Minimum Standards, may be reported to the 

Department of Human Resources at the address and 

telephone number above. 

 

 Information regarding substantiated licensing 

complaints and violations of the Minimum Standards 

may be obtained from the Department of Human 

Resources at the address and telephone number above. 
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L. Transportation checklists 

DHR-CDC-1952 

 FIELD TRIP TRANSPORTATION CHECKLIST 
This form is to be used when children are transported, including walking or transportation by vehicle, to and 

from the child care home on field trips or other activities away from the child care facility (home or center). 

INSTRUCTIONS 
Use a check {  } to show the child is present at each location.  A check {  } must be placed in the box for each child showing the child 

entered the vehicle at the facility or left the facility, arrived at the destination or left the vehicle at the destination, entered the vehicle at the 

destination or left the destination, and left the vehicle at facility upon return or returned to the home. 

Use the letter {A} in the appropriate box to show the child is absent. 

Use the comments section to explain any unusual situation, such as the parent picks the child up at the field trip location. 

The checklist must be completed at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist. 

The driver must check each seat in the vehicle at each location to verify that no child is left on the vehicle. 

A separate checklist must be used for each trip and for each vehicle. 

Destination: Date of trip: 

 

Driver’s name: Time of trip: 

From:                             To: 

Name(s) of staff/adult riders: Ages of children: 

 

Child's Name 

(first and last) 

Depart 

Facility 

Arrive at 

Destination 

Depart 

Destination 

Arrive at 

Facility 
Comments 

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

      

Signature: 

 

 

Signature: Driver’s signature: 

 

The checklist must be completed at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist.  The 

driver must check each seat in the vehicle at each location to verify that no child is left on the vehicle. 
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DHR-CDC-1953 

BEFORE/AFTER SCHOOL TRANSPORTATION CHECKLIST 
This form is to be used when children are transported from the child care facility to school or from school to the child care facility. 

INSTRUCTIONS 
Use a check {  } to show the child is present at each location.  A check {  } must be placed in the box for each child showing the child entered the vehicle at the child care facility and left the 

vehicle at the school, if child care facility to school transportation is provided.  A check {  } must be placed in the box for each child, showing the child entered the vehicle at the school and left the 

vehicle at the child care facility. 

Use the letter {A} in the appropriate box to show the child is absent. 

Use the comments section to explain any unusual situation, such as the parent picks the child up at school or the facility only transports the child in the afternoon. 

A separate checklist must be used for each vehicle. 

Destination (school): Date (week of): 

Driver’s name: Time of trip:    From:                                    To: 

Name (s) of caregivers/adult riders: Ages of children: 
   Monday   Tuesday   Wednesday    Thursday   Friday 

 

 

 

Child’s name 
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comments 
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comments 

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

Signature of Person 

completing checklist in a.m. 

a.m. signature a.m. signature a.m. signature a.m. signature a.m. signature 

Signature of Person 

completing checklist in p.m. 

p.m. signature p.m. signature p.m. signature p.m. signature p.m. signature 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

The checklist must be completed at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist.  The driver must check each seat in the vehicle at each location to verify that no child is left on the vehicle. 



 

 

Effective Date November 30, 2018 

  

80 

DHR-CDC-1954 

WEEKLY TRANSPORTATION CHECKLIST 

This form is to be used when children are transported from their home to the child care facility and from the child care facility to their home. 

INSTRUCTIONS 
Use a check {  } to show the child is present at each location.  A check {  } must be placed in the box for each child showing the child entered the vehicle at their home and left the vehicle at the 

child care facility, if transportation from home is provided.  A check {  } must be placed in the box for each child, showing the child entered the vehicle at the child care facility and left the vehicle at 

their home. 

Use the letter {A} in the appropriate box to show the child is absent. 

Use the comments section to explain any unusual situation, such as the parent picks the child up at the child care home, or the child care facility only transports the child in the afternoon. 

The checklist must be completed at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist. 

A separate checklist must be used for each vehicle. 

Destination (school): Date (week of): 

Driver’s name: Time of trip:    From:                                    To: 

Name (s) of caregivers/adult riders: Ages of children: 
   Monday   Tuesday   Wednesday   Thursday    Friday 

 

 

Child’s name 
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comments 

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

                          

Signature of Person 

completing checklist in a.m. 

a.m. signature a.m. signature a.m. signature a.m. signature a.m. signature 

Signature of Person 

completing checklist in p.m. 

p.m. signature p.m. signature p.m. signature p.m. signature p.m. signature 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s signature a.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

Driver’s Signature p.m. 

 

The checklist must be completed at each location and signed by the person completing the checklist.  The driver  must check each seat in the vehicle at each location to verify that no child is left on the vehicle. 
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