Adult Protective Services
Child Protective Services
Facts and Figures
Child day care centers in Alabama legally operate in one of two ways: Licensed or
. All centers that require a license must be licensed by the Department of Human Resources and renewed every two years. The Department of Human Resources prescribes and enforces minimum standards for licensing approval. Consultation is provided to assist providers and parents. Every licensed center must be in compliance with licensing regulations as prescribed by the State Department of Human Resources.
The Child Care Services Division, Office of Child Care Licensing is responsible for the following functions:
Licensing day care/nighttime centers.
Visiting day care/nighttime centers to verify compliance with Minimum Standards for Day Care Centers and Nighttime Centers.
Maintaining information filed by churches choosing to be exempt from licensure.
Investigating licensing violation complaints and recommending adverse action for day care centers when non-compliance of standards warrant.
Offering consultation to prospective and existing day care/nighttime center providers.
Interpreting Minimum Standards for day care/nighttime centers and homes.
Licensing day care/nighttime homes in Jefferson County.
Application For A License to Operate a Day Care/Nighttime Center
Statewide Day Care Centers Directory
License Exempt Day Care Facilities
Information to be Submitted to the Department of Human Resources Before a Day Care Center is Licensed
Day Care Center License Requirements
Alabama Law, Code of Alabama 1975, Title 38, (Chapter 7, pages 105-116 of Minimum Standards Manual)
Minimum Standards for Day Care Centers and Nighttime Centers
Minimum Standards for Family Day Care Homes, Family Nighttime Homes, Group Day Care Homes and Group Nighttime Homes
Click here for contact
DHR Selected to Receive $41 Million Child Care Grant
Governor Robert Bentley on Thursday announced the Alabama Department of Human Resources, Child Care Services Division(DHR) has been selected to receive an Early Head Start – Child Care Partnership (EHSCCP) grant from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services totaling $8.3 million per year for five years.
Governor Bentley Announces New Online Training for Mandated Reporters of Child Abuse and Neglect
MONTGOMERY – Governor Robert Bentley on Wednesday announced a statewide effort to ensure all mandated reporters of child abuse and neglect receive the necessary training to better protect Alabama’s children. The Alabama Department of Human Resources (DHR) now has an online training course for persons mandated to report child abuse or neglect on its website. The online training is designed to instruct mandated reporters on important elements of the reporting process.
View all News
TANF Caseload Reduction Credit Report FY 2015
Intensive Residential Services for Children RFP Announcement
TANF State Plan Renewal
Digital Fingerprinting Services RFP Announcement
2014 Adult Day Care Services - North Alabama (2)
Transitional Living / Independent Living Announcement
View all Announcements
Statements & Policies
View this page in Spanish